Media Offline Error on local storage

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Frank Bauer

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:10 pm

Media Offline Error on local storage

PostThu Jan 12, 2017 3:29 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm quite new to video editing, so this question might be stupid, but I couldn't find a fitting answer using google.

I tried DaVinci Resolve yesterday for the first time to edit a video. First I added the media (from my local harddrive) to my new project. After that I tried playing around in the editor, but it didn't take long for my timeline to show "media offline". When I tried to play that part, the sound is still there, just the video is missing (black screen). The sound plays choppy sometimes, but that could be due to my old rig (i5 2500k). Not only does it show up as "media offline" in the timeline, but also in the "Media"-Tab.

The video plays without error from VLC. It's a screen-recording I created with OpenBroadcasterSoftware, which uses x264 for encoding as far as I know. I tried a few different files, most of them recorded with OBS, not all of them displayed this error.

Could it be a problem with the codec? Or maybe the file size (some are 10GB+)? How can I track down the reason for that error?

Thanks for any help I can get.

The funny thing is, I switched to DaVinci because with Hitfilm that file had no sound...
PC (from 2011)
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Rev. 3
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (memory was cheap in 2011)
GPU: Asus Radeon HD 6950 DirectCU II
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB
Samsung Evo 850 1TB (new)
OS: Windows 10
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 3952
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostFri Jan 13, 2017 3:47 am

H.264 is often a poor choice for post, since it's intended as a final delivery format. Convert it to DNxHD (for Windows) or ProRes (for Mac), and the performance should be a lot better.
Offline

Frank Bauer

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:10 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostFri Jan 13, 2017 8:20 am

Ok, I get that, but could that be the reason for the "media offline" error?

I tried to compare two files, created by the same version of OBS, but using different settings. One was recorded in constant bitrate, the other with variable bitrate. According to "Media Info" that's the only difference (besides length and file size). The one with VBR shows the "media offline" error, the other doesn't.

As I said before, I'm new to this, so this might be a rookie mistake, but has DaVinci trouble with VBR encoded files?

Can I use DaVince to convert a file to DNxHD?
PC (from 2011)
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Rev. 3
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (memory was cheap in 2011)
GPU: Asus Radeon HD 6950 DirectCU II
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB
Samsung Evo 850 1TB (new)
OS: Windows 10
Offline
User avatar

Andreas Söderberg

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:37 am
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostTue Jan 24, 2017 9:29 am

Same problem for me. Opened an old project (resolve 11 i think) with xavc files and about a third is offline even though resolve can find them and they dont seem corrupt since they play in vlc and resolve still plays the sound from them.
Tried to reimport them without any luck. Is this a 12.5 bug?
Mac Pro (late 2013)
3 GHz 8-Core Inter Xeon E5
64GB 1866 MHz DDR3 ECC
Dual AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB
OS X Yosemite 10.10.5
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 169
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostTue Jan 24, 2017 12:17 pm

It sounds like you have files which have an incompatability with Resolve. For an H264 file 10gb is pretty large. There are also different flavours of H264. For instance, AVCHD and MPEG 4. Audio not importing with the video clip means that the audio codec is not supported in Resolve. This usually applies to AVCHD files that use the ACC audio codec. Choppy audio or picture replay is caused by the decoding that H264 requires in Resolve. Only real solution is to transcode to Pro Res or DNxHD.
Having said all that I edit AVCHD and MPEG 4 in Resolve, and export to MPEG4. I have had choppy playback when scrubbing, but I have had no problems with grading, so not a deal breaker. Also, no problem with the variable bitrate footage that my Canon G40 produces. I now always use MPEG 4 1080 50p at 35Mbps.
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve 14.2 free.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 12.8.2, Wavelab
Offline

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1081
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostTue Jan 24, 2017 12:42 pm

Or ,interesting to read: Tutorials compilation for technical questions and quick tips =>
XAVC / XAVC-S / AVCHD / H.264 and DaVinci Resolve.
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.1.1.005 | Fusion Studio 9.0.1
Offline
User avatar

Andreas Söderberg

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:37 am
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Jan 25, 2017 9:34 am

Problem for me is that xavc used to work so i have finished a project a while ago that i now need to make changes to. Some of the files have this strange behaveiour where only some of them show up offline in video only. Audio plays fine and they are correctly linked and present on the drive. I can play them on other video softwares.
How do i make them go online so i can re-render this project?
Tried to empty all caches and deleted all optimized media. Can't transcode them since they are offline.
Mac Pro (late 2013)
3 GHz 8-Core Inter Xeon E5
64GB 1866 MHz DDR3 ECC
Dual AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB
OS X Yosemite 10.10.5
Offline

David Clarke

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 10:44 am

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Jan 25, 2017 10:19 am

I have used OBS files in Resolve for a few projects but have sometimes had this "offline" error when I have updated Resolve mid-project. For example, I was doing a project in 12.5 and updated to 12.5.1 and suddenly all clips were offline and I could not make them on-line again. I did not have the problem without updating Resolve.

You can convert the files outside of Resolve to something else and then try to re-link the timeline to the new media but they only way I have found to do this is the type of media has changed (from an MP4 to a MOV for example) is to select each clip on the timeline individually and "force conform with selected clip the bin" to get them to use the new MOV file. Doing one at a time is boring but worked.

The bottom line is that Resolve is not very good with H.264 based clips. The files you have should be H.264 video and AAC audio. Resolve does not like AC3 audio or MP4 clips with WAV audio at all.
Offline

Peter Cordes

  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:04 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Jan 25, 2017 10:57 am

Hi,

I've had the same problem.
Independent from the format/codec the clips are.

I solved the problem.
I switched "Autosave" off and the "media-offline" problem never came back.

Thanks
Peter
Offline
User avatar

Andreas Söderberg

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2016 8:37 am
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostThu Jan 26, 2017 8:05 am

Not sure what helped but i turned off auto save and saved it to a new project and that fixed it. Could render the full timeline without converting any files.
Mac Pro (late 2013)
3 GHz 8-Core Inter Xeon E5
64GB 1866 MHz DDR3 ECC
Dual AMD FirePro D700 6144 MB
OS X Yosemite 10.10.5
Offline

Frank Bauer

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:10 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostSat Feb 11, 2017 11:20 pm

After I didn't get another reply for a few days, I tried to find a decent and preferably free converter for my files. Surprisingly there is not a lot of software that can convert from x264 to DNxHD. I found a rather cheap software from Brorsoft, but the page didn't look that professional and I found a different page, where the, seemingly, same software was sold from a different company (EaseFab). So I looked further.

After some time I found a "free" solution, which works fine. The page doesn't look very professional either for a "Professional Media Converter", but they offer a trial version of their product, which comes with certain limitations. If anyone is interested, here's the link: hdcinematics.com

With the uncompressed file I never had this error again. But I tried disabling auto save as suggested, and it works for me too. But it seems really weird, maybe a developer can take a look at that problem. Here's my steps to reproduce:

1. Start new project
2. Add media that causes offline error
3. Go to edit to force offline error
4. Save project
5. Check auto save => is already off
6. Turn auto save on
7. Turn auto save off
8. Save as new project
9. Media offline error gone

After I start DaVinci again, the first project still shows that media error, but the second doesn't. So it doesn't seem to be auto save that makes a difference, but saving as a new project.
PC (from 2011)
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Rev. 3
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 16GB (memory was cheap in 2011)
GPU: Asus Radeon HD 6950 DirectCU II
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green 2TB
Samsung Evo 850 1TB (new)
OS: Windows 10
Offline

Evan Juras

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:17 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Feb 22, 2017 6:51 am

Just want to second that I'm experiencing the same problem and was able to make it work in a new project by disabling autosave using the steps described in Frank Bauer's post.

I'm using Davinci Resolve v 12.5.4.019 on Windows 7, and using my local hard drive for my database and meadia storage.
Offline

Bob Snelgrove

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostSat Mar 04, 2017 4:23 pm

None of this worked for me.

bob
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 198
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostSun Mar 12, 2017 6:39 pm

I also encountered a problem with Media Offline using H.264 with a 10bit 422 source and no audio.

Code: Select all
Complete name                            : D:\Projects\xxx.mp4
Format                                   : MPEG-4
Format profile                           : JVT
Codec ID                                 : avc1 (isom/avc1)
File size                                : 2.71 MiB
Duration                                 : 6s 673ms
Overall bit rate                         : 3 409 Kbps
Encoded date                             : UTC 2017-03-12 18:26:45
Tagged date                              : UTC 2017-03-12 18:26:45

Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : AVC
Format/Info                              : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                           : High 4:2:2@L3.1
Format settings, CABAC                   : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames                : 4 frames
Codec ID                                 : avc1
Codec ID/Info                            : Advanced Video Coding
Duration                                 : 6s 673ms
Bit rate                                 : 3 402 Kbps
Maximum bit rate                         : 3 920 Kbps
Width                                    : 720 pixels
Height                                   : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 3:2
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 59.940 (60000/1001) fps
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:2
Bit depth                                : 10 bits
Scan type                                : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.164
Stream size                              : 2.71 MiB (100%)
Writing library                          : x264 core 133 r2334 a3ac64b
Encoding settings                        : cabac=1 / ref=3 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=hex / subme=7 / psy=1 / psy_rd=1.00:0.00 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / fast_pskip=1 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=18 / lookahead_threads=3 / sliced_threads=0 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / interlaced=0 / bluray_compat=0 / constrained_intra=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=2 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=1 / weightb=1 / open_gop=0 / weightp=2 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40 / intra_refresh=0 / rc_lookahead=40 / rc=crf / mbtree=1 / crf=16.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=81 / qpstep=4 / ip_ratio=1.40 / aq=1:1.00
Encoded date                             : UTC 2017-03-12 18:26:45
Tagged date                              : UTC 2017-03-12 18:27:07
Offline

Dudley Warner

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:49 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostSat Mar 18, 2017 3:58 pm

I have experienced the same issue. I have turned off autosave, and the problem persists. It did seem to happen after I set up a bin and moved clips into it. I would appreciate any help in resolving this.
Offline

Kevin Sturm

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 5:51 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Apr 05, 2017 5:58 pm

I have this happening to me with the first clip I put on the timeline and sometimes it happens part way through the edit, all clips just suddenly show media offline (the audio still works though). I can fix it by going to file > save project as and just opening that copy of the project but having to do this multiple times during editing gets really annoying really quickly.
Offline

Jake Melon

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:33 pm
  • Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Apr 19, 2017 1:36 pm

Same issue here, it happens randomly on some projects and not on others. The only solution is saving the "corrupt" project, quitting Resolve and reloading the newly created one, otherwise you cannot view or edit the old timeline.

As far as location of my media; same place as always and it is a local disk. Nothing has changed.

Jake
1994: Amiga 3000, WarpEngine 68040 @ 40mhz, 32mb RAM, 660mb HD, DCTV, VLAB, MovieShop, Lightwave

2017: Thinkstation C30, 2 x Intel E5-2667 @ 2.90 ghz, 64gb RAM, AMD Radeon Pro WX 7100 8gb, m2 Samsung SSD 960 Pro 1TB, DaVinci Resolve 12.5 Studio
Offline

China Tosinthiti

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 9:05 am

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 5:37 pm

I'm very new to video editing. I used MSI Afterburner to capture gameplay to edit.
I also have the "Media Offline" problem. After I imported the files into the media pool, the red "Media Offline" notification blinks during playback.
I tried render the videos, the "Media Offline" was on the rendered video too!
I do not understand the situation and not sure where to start.

I'm going to try some solutions by converting the videos to AVI (which is the format I've worked with in other programs but long before) before importing to Resolve see if that helps a bit.
I will try the autosave solution

Settings for video with Media offline problem
Captured by: MSI Afterburner
Video format: MJPG compression
Container format: AVI
Quality: 80% quality
Frame size 16:9 1080p and also 720p
Framerate: 60 fps
Total video bitrate: 29,xxx kbps
Audio bitrate: 1,411 kbps
Audio sample rate: 44 kHz
Overall file size was about 10-15 GB for 50-70 minute-long videos

Computer specs
CPU: Core i3 4170 @3.70 GHz
Motherboard: MSI H81M-P33
RAM: DDR3, 8 GB @1600 MHz
VGA: Zotac nVidia GeForce GTX1050ti
VRAM: DDR 5, 4 GB
HDD: Seagate 1.0 TB
Monitor: Samsung SA550 27"
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition
DaVinci Resolve version 12.5.5.026
CPU: Core i3 4170 @3.70 GHz
Motherboard: MSI H81M-P33
RAM: DDR3, 8 GB @1600 MHz
VGA: Zotac nVidia GeForce GTX1050ti
VRAM: DDR 5, 4 GB
HDD: Seagate 1.0 TB
Monitor: Samsung SA550 27"
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition
DaVinci Resolve version 12.5.5.026
Offline

Jake Melon

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2017 1:33 pm
  • Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostMon Apr 24, 2017 12:42 pm

Although there is a workaround for this (as described above) the constant need for saving and re-loading of projects is getting a bit annoying.

Anyone from BMD aware of this issue? What is causing media offline errors when the media has not been moved anywhere and what is the solution for this defect?

thanks
jake

p.s. the 2nd workaround seems to be a better solution, I found it in another post here which says: ...go to the Media page, highlight all the clips, right-click to bring up the Relink menu, then force a relink to the directory with all those clips.
1994: Amiga 3000, WarpEngine 68040 @ 40mhz, 32mb RAM, 660mb HD, DCTV, VLAB, MovieShop, Lightwave

2017: Thinkstation C30, 2 x Intel E5-2667 @ 2.90 ghz, 64gb RAM, AMD Radeon Pro WX 7100 8gb, m2 Samsung SSD 960 Pro 1TB, DaVinci Resolve 12.5 Studio
Offline

Peter Bosman

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 12:37 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostWed Aug 30, 2017 9:52 am

I had the same problem, another forum gave the solution: delete render cache. After that it worked fine.
Offline

Joey Stephenson

  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:52 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 12:56 pm

I'm also experiencing this problem on the newest beta release of v14. This is also with h264 CBR footage from OBS. I'll try relinking clips to transcoded footage and see if that helps.
Offline

darin_allen_newberry

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostThu Sep 07, 2017 7:48 pm

I want to be able to transcode H.264 720p video to DNxHD 220 for editing within Resolve Studio 14, and not continue using EyeFrame 1.8.1 to create Apple ProRes 4444 files. I want the benefits of Resolve's optimized transcoding. I am creating full-YUV range color .mov files from OBS Studio, connected to a Web Presenter, and want that deeper color during editing for the best possible color correction, thus I have used ProRes 4444 so far. I realize that transcoding option is present in Resolve but after doing it today with the final Studio 14 version, I still see no video thumbnails but only Media Offline, even after relinking my source clip. What is the fix for this?
Offline

Mariusz Sieńko

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostSun Oct 22, 2017 6:14 pm

Hi,
I also have the problem after I upgraded my Da Vinci from 12 to 14. suddenly all h264 files baceme Medie Offlines. Tried "auto save" thing, but it didn't work out for me. my OS i Windows 7.

still no solution? :(

Mariusz
Offline

Henry Scullion

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:10 pm

Re: Media Offline Error on local storage

PostMon Dec 04, 2017 2:21 am

This 'Media Offline' problem has disappeared in my Resolve on Windows 10.

Also, my AVCHD MTS files had no sound when I imported them to Resolve up to a month or two ago. That now seems to be fixed as well.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ClarkSeverson, filmguyuk, Larry Li, Vit Reiter, waltervolpatto, Wim Van Schie and 26 guests