NewbieQ:Matching preview for Color and Export

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Miguel Curto

NewbieQ:Matching preview for Color and Export

PostFri Jan 13, 2017 8:02 pm

I'm quite new to this so please bear with me for a minute.

I'm not unfamiliar with color management, I do post-production on stills, but I cant seem to grasp behind the concept or shortcoming of Resolve matching viewer and export.
I do know this Color Management thing is quite new to Resolve (and so am I) but I've read and tweaked and still cant find what I'm doing wrong.

I only started using Resolve to edit and grade my action camera footage (mostly because its free and also because I rather do it all in the same aplication) so my footage istn that great to begin with (Xiaomi Yi 4k), still I get in viewr weird highlights that I cant understand If I'm tweaking settings (color,luminosity,etc..)behind reasonable extend that footage cant handle, but once exported ( to YT: H264 ,1080p, auto levels) they look ok, so how can I trust the Color Page Preview?

I disabled Cache,optimized media,Proxy Off, tried all the options for Color Sience but no change.
Using color management, with input,timeline and output to Rec 709 Gamma 2.2

Apart color diference (that need to adress as well) what I mean is the top left corner on this SSs:

Resolve Color Viewer:

VLC (exported with YT 1080p presets):

What am I missing?
Ty in advance.

waltervolpatto

• Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: NewbieQ:Matching preview for Color and Export

PostSat Jan 14, 2017 7:10 am

do you have the "highlight" function on?
W10-19043.1645- Supermicro MB C9X299-PGF - RAM 128GB CPU i9-10980XE 16c 4.3GHz (Oc) Water cooled
Decklink Studio 4K (12.3)
Resolve 18.5.1 / fusion studio 18
GPU 3090ti drivers 512.59 studio

Miguel Curto

PostSat Jan 14, 2017 12:53 pm

Thanks for the reply.