DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

jammin

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremiah Miller

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 4:43 pm

Sulo Kokki wrote:Sounds to me like Resolve lacks the rights to write to the assigned path, or something else is holding it up.

By default, Resolve sets everything to /opt/resolve, including the disk database. Check the file paths and, preferably, set them to point somewhere else. You might want to copy that db aside, too.


I have looked at /opt/resolve... most of the directories in there are 0777, the files 0666. Also tested writing/touching files here and there... no obvious write permission issues that I can find. Do you know where Resolve builds optimized media by default?

Looking in project settings under "working folders", the cache files location is "CacheClip". Not sure where that is (or if relevant), but clicking browse brings up my resolve media directory (in my homedir)... implying that it is there? I definitely don't have permission issues there.

Looking In preferences under "media storage", the only location I have there is that same resolve media directory. There is a checkbox for "Direct I/O" that is empty... don't know what that means in this context yet.
Offline

Sulo Kokki

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:39 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 10:21 pm

Look into the manual. It has some ẃell-written passages on the media storage and optimized media that'll really help you along :)

The media storage is the first mounted file path, and it's where optimized media is created. We use a separate SSD, because it allows quick and easy access to the opt media.

You should relocate the Media Storage and the db on the grounds that it's unwise to keep them on your boot drive. After creating a new db, you can copy/paste or even drag n' drop your projects from one db to another. BMD approves backups.

Relocate the media storage and try again. If Cineform still freezes, restart Resolve and try a few other codecs. If the problem persists, you'll find the crash logs under /opt/resolve. What is Resolve doing when it freezes?
Linux Mint 19 | DaVinci Resolve 15.1 | Desktop Video 10.9.3 | OSX 10.11.6
Offline

jammin

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:44 pm
  • Real Name: Jeremiah Miller

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 4:37 am

Sulo Kokki wrote:Look into the manual. It has some ẃell-written passages on the media storage and optimized media that'll really help you along :)

The media storage is the first mounted file path, and it's where optimized media is created. We use a separate SSD, because it allows quick and easy access to the opt media.


OK, thank you... read up a bit more, most I caught on earlier (admittedly skimmy) read. But the bit on CacheClip and hidden folders I had not. Looked in those, the permissions were fine, but I started to suspect the problem was a clash between the apparently autogenerated project/folder names in those and the current installation. Because... I had brought that folder over from my previous machine. Obivously room for trouble there, so I backed everything out. Did an uninstall/purge, wiped out /opt/resolve, and so on. Which I'd already done, but this time I also got rid of everything except my actual media/clips from my main media storage directory. In particular, CacheClip and .gallery.

Then installed and put everything back, without that cruft, building it's database fresh, etc. And voila... that worked. Generates optimized media like a charm now.

You should relocate the Media Storage and the db on the grounds that it's unwise to keep them on your boot drive.


Any particular to Resolve reason, or just in the time-honored system management sense? (With various traditional reasons behind it... separating OS & data, separating sets of simultaneously busily spinning disks, among them.)

I'll probably leave that first one where it is in my home dir, as it is on my fastest disk (Samsung 970 NVMe SSD)... makes sense as a cache location in my mind. I'll have other locations on other drives. I'm OK with the db where it is for now for the same reason, I'm pretty conscientious maintaining /opt, /usr/local, and /home separately from the rest of the OS.

Thank you for your help!
Offline

rentanet

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:01 am
  • Real Name: Mark Constable

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 6:28 am

HiDPI again. I have installed 15.1.2.008 and it is up an running but on my 4K laptop screen it is completely and utterly unusable for me. I've googled and searched this forum for awhile but I can't determine if there is a GUI config option or command line flag, or an env var, that might enable HiDPI scaling?

OS is Kubuntu 19.04 with Kubuntu-CI/stable packages (Plasma 5.14.3), nvidia 390 on a GTX 1070 + Intel.
Offline

Sulo Kokki

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:39 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 7:21 pm

Glad that helped.
jammin wrote:Any particular to Resolve reason, or just in the time-honored system management sense? (With various traditional reasons behind it... separating OS & data, separating sets of simultaneously busily spinning disks, among them.)
It's a bit both. For one, it's generally considered proper to keep session files away from /opt, sure. The other bit is that optimized media can clog up the boot drive. Our Mint runs on about 20Gb partition, so do the math. Btw, the same can happen on a Mac, as I once noticed... :lol:
Linux Mint 19 | DaVinci Resolve 15.1 | Desktop Video 10.9.3 | OSX 10.11.6
Online

torger

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Anders Torger

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostTue Nov 13, 2018 7:27 pm

Hello, hobbyist videographer here. Trying to get Resolve 15.1.2 to Run on Linux Debian with GTX 1050Ti card. I used Daniel Tufvesson's MakeResolveDeb successfully and the resulting deb installed cleanly. At startup after quick setup I get to see "Checking for Control Surface" for 5 seconds or so, and then crash, from ResolveDebug.txt

Code: Select all
[0x7f4029ddf700] | DtManager            | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,345 | Dt Worker Thread Started
[0x7f406aa71c40] | DbCommon2            | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,345 | Loading dblist file: /opt/resolve/configs/.dblist
[0x7f40245d6700] | IP                   | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,345 | No GPUMapping parameter found for LsManager 3.
[0x7f40245d6700] | IP                   | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,346 | Resolve will generate a default mapping.
[0x7f40245d6700] | IP                   | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,346 | Using NVIDIA driver '390.87'
[0x7f40245d6700] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,346 | Let There Be CUDA Light!
[0x7f40235d4700] | GPUManager           | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,346 | Initializing GPU board 0 with context thread 0
[0x7f406aa71c40] | IO                   | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,468 | Using DNxHR library v2.3.5.43r
[0x7f406aa71c40] | DVIP                 | INFO  | 2018-11-13 20:23:43,955 | DVIP Version : 2.0.0, Revision = 77485 (Release)


Some required information is missing for email crash report, the crash archive will not be updated


==========[CRASH DUMP]==========
Please send this to support:

#TIME Tue Nov 13 20:23:44 2018 - Uptime 00:00:02 (hh:mm:ss)
#PROGRAM_NAME DaVinci Resolve v15.1.2.008 (Linux/Clang)

../bin/resolve() [0x40e8789]
../bin/resolve() [0x40e7d0b]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x128e0) [0x7f40712918e0]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x9cd36) [0x7f406f406d36]
/opt/resolve/libs/libFairlightPage.so(_ZN6SDebugC1EPKcS1_ibbNS_8CategoryENS_8LoadWhenEb+0x39) [0x7f3ffdc7a499]
/opt/resolve/libs/libFairlightPage.so(+0xbe6ff1) [0x7f3ffdf28ff1]
/opt/resolve/libs/libFairlightPage.so(+0xf80de6) [0x7f3ffe2c2de6]
Signal Number = 11

================================


Searching for this crash in this forum I see a few others having the same crash in that libFairlightPage.so function at startup, but I've found no reply on how to solve it. Any ideas?

Edit: tried 14.3.1 version, get the exact same error with that.
Offline

Sulo Kokki

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:39 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 12:40 pm

What CPU are you on, AMD or Intel? Some users have reported disabling internal graphics helped. Tried that yet?

There was a fix for what could be the same issue in the 15.1.2 release for Win/Mac. Still to see the affected Linux users confirming they got it, too.

If you need a working Linux Resolve now, you could try v12.5.6.
Linux Mint 19 | DaVinci Resolve 15.1 | Desktop Video 10.9.3 | OSX 10.11.6
Offline

Dieter Scheel

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:15 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 2:54 pm

Just updated to Studio 15.2 - it is still crashing with most Fusion titles as repprted long ago. So, no fix for that. Still the same log entries I posted long ago.

Can anyone confirm this?
Resolve Studio 15.2, LinuxMint 19, 32GB RAM, i7-6700K, GTX1060Ti 6GB (410.73), Intensity Pro, 1.5TB SSD
Online

torger

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Anders Torger

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 7:31 pm

Sulo Kokki wrote:What CPU are you on, AMD or Intel? Some users have reported disabling internal graphics helped. Tried that yet?

There was a fix for what could be the same issue in the 15.1.2 release for Win/Mac. Still to see the affected Linux users confirming they got it, too.

If you need a working Linux Resolve now, you could try v12.5.6.


I'm using a Intel Xeon E5-2640, which lacks graphics. I think I've done the appropriate things with all the drivers and so on, and in the log the CUDA seems to be detected.

I tried the newest v15.2 today and got the exact same error.

Then I installed v12.5.6 as you suggested, and indeed that starts and shows the GUI, so it seems to work (haven't played around with it much yet though). I can have great use of version 12 for sure, but it would be nice with the latest since then I get sound :-), so it would be nice to be able to run that too...

Anyway, thanks for the help!
Offline

Sulo Kokki

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 11:39 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 1:31 am

:lol:

Sorry, I forgot to mention. v15b1 gave us System Audio. The preceding Linux versions only give audio out via BMD I/O (Mini Monitor, Intensity, etc). Also, do remember that in the pre-15 versions, you'll need to use US keyboard layout to save your grades properly (lofty coding, I know...).

Also, I wonder if it's the Xeon that's giving you a hard time. That's a dicey proposition, because some users have working Xeon configs. Only with Resolve, some versions and parts are more equal than others.

As you scroll down these posts, you'll notice people, suddenly, having issues with AMD and Xeon, after a point release.

Vassilis Kontodimas wrote:Please keep in mind that I was able to make the beta version run on Manjaro (an Arch derivative), but the final version isn't going far, with an AMD.
cet_1977 wrote:Just recently bought a dongle to use the studio-version, but ended up with not being able to start it up at all in Linux. I'm using Antergos (Arch, basically).

My hardware is dual Xeon E5-2683v3, 32Gb of RDimm Ram, and two 980Ti's.
Compilerbau wrote:i tried every Version of DaVinci from 14.0 to 14.3 and it seems that this problem does not exist with the Versions 14.0 and 14.0.1. All Versions from 14.1 and higher do have this problem in my case! With 14.0 and 14.01 the software starts without any problem!


What you could now do is give v14.01 a go. It won't give you sound, but you'll experience the revamped playback engine 8-)
Last edited by Sulo Kokki on Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
Linux Mint 19 | DaVinci Resolve 15.1 | Desktop Video 10.9.3 | OSX 10.11.6
Offline

Boris Kovalev

  • Posts: 50
  • Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 1:39 am

As of 15.2 AMD phenom CPUs (maybe also other non SSE4 enabled CPUs) gets this message:

Nov 14 22:15:27 resolver kernel: [ 1075.542832] traps: resolve[6204] trap invalid opcode ip:7f9ad6d8f518 sp:7ffff8f44670 error:0 in fusionscript.so[7f9ad6ba9000+3a5000]

So last resolve builds are for newer CPU models only
Online

torger

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 6:44 pm
  • Real Name: Anders Torger

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 7:31 am

Thanks. My Xeon is indeed a bit old, but it does have sse4.2 so it's not stone age (just yet). I'll see if I can figure out if some missing instructions could be the problem, and I shall also test 14.0.1 and report back.

An idea for a feature in the software would be to actually detect the CPU and complain if it's too old instead of just crashing mystically. A log entry into the ResolveDebug.txt would be enough. Just a thought :-)

(To have optional optimized code running when CPU instructions are available is the standard procedure in software development, you then support both simpler and more advanced/new CPU architectures, but I have come to realize that Resolve comes from a culture where software is sold together with hardware so supporting a wider range of hardware and/or OS versions is probably not on the map.)
Offline

raaaaa

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:25 am
  • Real Name: Antonio Romano

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 8:34 am

The package on AUR is flagged out of date: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/davinci-resolve/
How can i install it on Arch?
Offline

liammartens

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:28 am
  • Real Name: Liam Martens

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 10:32 am

Anyone ideas on this one?
I'm running PopOS 18.04 LTS on a Dell XPS 15 9560. Resolve version is 15.2

I already tried clearing /opt/resolve/config but this does not solve the issue

Code: Select all
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c005, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c006, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= c007, Mode= 13, Level=  1, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
ActCCMessage Already in Table: Code= 2282, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= 8, Option= 0
PnlMsgActionStringAdapter Already in Table: Code= 615e, Mode=  0, Level=  0, CmdKey= -1, Option= 0
log4cxx: No appender could be found for logger (UI).
log4cxx: Please initialize the log4cxx system properly.
QSocketNotifier: Can only be used with threads started with QThread
New connection received.
Connection is closed.
15.2 (#033) Linux/Clang
Main thread starts: 73F94000
resolve: AppConfig.cpp:171: void AppConfig::LoadAllSiteInfo(): Assertion `m_SiteEnabledIdx > 0' failed.


==========[CRASH DUMP]==========
Please send this to support:

#TIME Thu Nov 15 11:24:17 2018 - Uptime 00:00:00 (hh:mm:ss)
#PROGRAM_NAME DaVinci Resolve v15.2.0.033 (Linux/Clang)

/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x46675d9]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18b6a83]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x12890) [0x7f907de6d890]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(gsignal+0xc7) [0x7f907be8ee97]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(abort+0x141) [0x7f907be90801]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x3039a) [0x7f907be8039a]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x30412) [0x7f907be80412]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a4190]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a2966]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a2238]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1d5ac21]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1d5a9ef]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18b588e]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x189dce4]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe7) [0x7f907be71b97]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x189cb3d]
Signal Number = 6

================================
resolve: AppConfig.cpp:171: void AppConfig::LoadAllSiteInfo(): Assertion `m_SiteEnabledIdx > 0' failed.


==========[CRASH DUMP]==========
Please send this to support:

#TIME Thu Nov 15 11:24:17 2018 - Uptime 00:00:00 (hh:mm:ss)
#PROGRAM_NAME DaVinci Resolve v15.2.0.033 (Linux/Clang)

/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x46675d9]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18b6a83]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x12890) [0x7f907de6d890]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(gsignal+0xc7) [0x7f907be8ee97]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(abort+0x141) [0x7f907be90801]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x3039a) [0x7f907be8039a]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x30412) [0x7f907be80412]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a4190]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a2966]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a2238]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18d6dbd]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18b6cce]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0x12890) [0x7f907de6d890]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(gsignal+0xc7) [0x7f907be8ee97]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(abort+0x141) [0x7f907be90801]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x3039a) [0x7f907be8039a]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(+0x30412) [0x7f907be80412]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a4190]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a2966]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18a2238]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1d5ac21]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x1d5a9ef]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x18b588e]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x189dce4]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xe7) [0x7f907be71b97]
/opt/resolve/bin/resolve() [0x189cb3d]
Signal Number = 6

================================
Aborted (core dumped)
Offline
User avatar

Marc Gasser

  • Posts: 70
  • Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:14 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 12:53 pm

@Dieter Scheel: Fusion titles work without crash here.

- Fusion tab: Resolve still crashing when merging a background node.
- Still no support for compressed audio files.

using Studio version with usb dongle.
Xubuntu 16.04, 2x Intel Xeon Six Core, Nvidia GeForce 1070 8GB, Nvidia 396 proprietary driver, 96 Gb Ram.

https://www.pocketvj.com
Offline

Dieter Scheel

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:15 am

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 1:17 pm

@Marc

Thank you. I now set a missing symbolic link to the Cuda lib - now it works without crashing. Resolve is using hard-coded links to the Cuda library and won't find the libcuda.so on modern Multiarch Linux distributions.
Resolve Studio 15.2, LinuxMint 19, 32GB RAM, i7-6700K, GTX1060Ti 6GB (410.73), Intensity Pro, 1.5TB SSD
Offline

jmyhanssen

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 4:51 pm
  • Real Name: Jan Magne Hanssen

Re: DaVinci Resolve on Linux - Install issues

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 7:21 pm

torger wrote:Hello, hobbyist videographer here. Trying to get Resolve 15.1.2 to Run on Linux Debian with GTX 1050Ti card. I used Daniel Tufvesson's MakeResolveDeb successfully and the resulting deb installed cleanly. At startup after quick setup I get to see "Checking for Control Surface" for 5 seconds or so, and then crash


-------

I have found that I need to first use the resolve deb creator, install the .deb, then I have to install Resolve again with the original .sh installer, then it works. I don't know why this works or if it will work for you but it might be worth a try.
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Adrian Niwa, Carsten Sellberg, Google Feedfetcher, Marek Vanourek, Milan Michalik, torger and 15 guests