How to change the timeline framerate after editing is done

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Eddy Juillerat

  • Posts: 150
  • Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2015 9:58 am
  • Location: Switzerland

Re: How to change the timeline framerate after editing is do

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 7:58 am

I just tried this and it works for me:
I have shot a documentary feature with 3 cams, all at 25 fps. I made the mistake to edit in a 24fps timeline. 1 h 27, only 2 video tracks, a simple edit but with hundreds of clips.

1> Select all my clips in my timeline
2> Make it a compound clip (it shouls appear in the master bin)
3> Create a new timeline, this time 25 fps
4> Bring the compound clip from the bin to the timeline

And it plays 25 fps, render 25 fps, no lag, no jitter. Jeeze, it saves my day.
I spend the night finishing the first edit to show it today afternoon and after 24 hrs of work, this mistake almost killed me.
Saved by the bell.
Cameras: [BMPCC4K - Panasonic Lumix lenses] - [BMCC 2,5K EF - Sigma EX lenses]
System: Windows 10 pro 64 bits SSD - 5.1 - Resolve 16.0
Asus board X99-s - Intel Core i7-5960x 3 GHz - RAM 32 GB - Nvidia Quadro K4000
CUDA 3.0
Offline
User avatar

MichaelDrowley

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:24 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • Real Name: Michael Drowley

Re: How to change the timeline framerate after editing is do

PostMon Nov 18, 2019 4:21 am

The scenario presented for some unknown reason for me, so it is a Resolve glitch/bug and you MUST double check before you import any clips into media pool. Crazy to think it ingested when I did not even have 1 24p clip imported into my pool and default is 25p.

Here was how it presented for me; I ingested 50p (BMPCC6K) and 30p (MAVIC2) clips, then conformed all to 25p. Then started timeline with said 25 fps clip/s, told the prompt to match clip frame rate to timeline frame rate (I think unless I am interpreting this prompt wrongly), then finished my edit and low and behold she was stuck in 24p timeline with a 25p playback and only just picked it up last minute as it was dropping frames in the final rendered master.

This needs to be fixed by BMD, it's a big bug...

How I fixed, exported XML and text edited 24s to 25s in the top few times the XML mentioned it. Started new project, set the Timeline frame rate to 25p, imported XML back and it recognised the change in the text file to 25p then it came in clean with some dropped frames at front and end of clips that I had to tweak. Working on bringing across colour grade from original edit now. Honestly... almost ready to high tail it back to Adobe PPCC crash city...
Video Creator and YouTuber
http://www.youtube.com/c/MichaelDrowley
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot], Shrinivas Ramani and 177 guests