blank file

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Guy Azene

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:25 am

blank file

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 10:03 pm

when I go to the "deliver" section and render in QuickTime format
everything goes smooth
but!
after I get the file
first of all, it's heavy (2-10 GB)! and the file is blank(i can only hear the sound, the video is burnt)
and this the best try I had
now it doesn't even open in, by something about the coding(!?!)
what should I do???
thanks
guy
Offline
User avatar

Kelly Reese

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:39 am
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: blank file

PostThu Apr 20, 2017 11:25 pm

Do you have the necessary codec installed for playback? Does then rendered file play back when loaded back into Resolve?
Offline

Andy Woo

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: blank file

PostFri Apr 21, 2017 12:45 am

Something similar happened to me before, but the other way around, I have video but no sound, then I copied the file to my mobile phone, and wala, played back nicely, so it has to be the codec.
Offline

Guy Azene

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 11:25 am

Re: blank file

PostFri Apr 21, 2017 5:14 am

Kelly Reese wrote:Do you have the necessary codec installed for playback? Does then rendered file play back when loaded back into Resolve?

can you please help me with that
I really don't know what are talking about
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3212
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: blank file

PostFri Apr 21, 2017 12:34 pm

Kelly Reese wrote:Do you have the necessary codec installed for playback? Does then rendered file play back when loaded back into Resolve?


With the exception of Cineform license, there are no user installed codecs that work with Resolve. They are supplied with the Resolve installer or are not there at all.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Kelly Reese

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:39 am
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: blank file

PostFri Apr 21, 2017 7:21 pm

Guy Azene wrote:
Kelly Reese wrote:Do you have the necessary codec installed for playback? Does then rendered file play back when loaded back into Resolve?

can you please help me with that
I really don't know what are talking about

Just wondering if it's a case of a render playing fine in Resolve, but not in QuickTime player due to a lack of installed codecs for QuickTime.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David E King, Google Feedfetcher, Paul Forgy and 15 guests