DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Chris North

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 9:15 am

Hello there,

If I add a Data Burn (under workspace) and select "source timecode" or "source filename", they don't update anymore when the playhead moves to the next clip. Although they will update on scrub or export, having a correct update during playback from the timeline would be very useful to me.

chris
Offline

Chris North

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2015 2:27 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 9:53 am

Hey Blackmagic,

A few nice things to have IMHO:

- Useage. In AVID, you can highlight a sequence, select media relatives, and see all the used footage within that sequence. Currently, DaVinci is like Premiere in having a fairly useless USEAGE field with an abstract number in it.
- Selections. The ability to invert a selection within a bin. Ties in with the above too.
- Premiere recently added the ability to extend existing subclip handles. Perhaps DaVinci could incorporate this OR even better improve the integration of Duration Markers which could accomplish the same thing more elegantly.
- Related to this, the ability to see marked clips in thumbnail view.
- Clip Color should be reflected in the BIN as well as the timeline.
- The ability to Zoom in on the source monitors scrub bar for when dealing with long clips.
- Better integration of EXTERNAL MATTE in the color page so that overlays/mattes/lens effects/flares etc can be used. Currently it requires "Add as matte for the color page" in the media pool and the fiddly use of an alpha matte.

chris
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5498
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 10:32 pm

When a piece come as long format and you use an edl to cut it, you cannot anymore do temporal noise reduction because it grabs the frame before and after the cut that is s completely different scene.

A button in the temporal NR that allow to extend the calculation on tails (like now) or stop within the boundaries of the cuts.
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

Marc Salvatore

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:21 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 1:21 am

Coming from Sony Vegas I've never understood why none of the other editing programs include the mouse wheel zoom fluidity that Vegas does. It always feels so clunky to me trying to move around the timeline in Premiere, Resolve etc.

IN VEGAS:

Roll the mouse wheel forward to zoom in / backward to zoom out (Response is much more fluid then Resolve when using alt/wheel)

Hold the shift key and roll mouse wheel to navigate the timeline left or right (This is very useful for timeline navigation)

Hold the ctrl key and roll mouse wheel to navigate up and down when multiple clips are stacked.
Last edited by Marc Salvatore on Sun Dec 10, 2017 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostSat Dec 09, 2017 12:19 pm

Marc Salvatore wrote:Coming from Sony Vegas I've never understood why none of the other editing programs include the mouse wheel zoom fluidity that Vegas does. It always feels so clunky to me trying to move around the timeline in Premiere, Resolve etc.

IN VEGAS:

Roll the mouse wheel forward to zoom in / backward to zoom out (Works much more fluid then Resolve alt/wheel)

Hold the shift key and roll mouse wheel to navigate the timeline left or right (very useful)

Hold the ctrl key and roll mouse wheel to navigate up and down when multiple clips are stacked.


I second this. The default Resolve behavior with the mouse scroll wheel (scrolling the tracks up and down) is not the most common use in editing which is zooming in and out of the timeline for which pressing alt/option is required. There's an argument that long time users are already habituated to the default and asking them to change would cause an uproar. Fine. Then give us an option to set the default behavior in User/Preferences. The everyone would be happy. I also love the Premiere Pro use of the scroll wheel in the track header to set the track height.
David
Resolve Studio 14.1.1
Windows 10 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k Desktop Video 10.9.7
Intel i9 7960x @ 4.4GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
2 EVGA 1080ti Cards
Offline

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1089
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostSat Dec 09, 2017 6:46 pm

I really wish: new option (dream?)
delivery tab => audio only WAV (No (without) video)
When we ask for One track per channel: whatever the number of audio channels (a 5.1 + a 7.1 + x monos), whatever the number of bus format: MAIN or SUB => we get an audio file (* .WAV) by source channel. (a little when you ask for individual clip + audio only but better) :?
Merci.
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.2.0.012 | Fusion Studio 9.0.1
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 125
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostSat Dec 09, 2017 10:42 pm

It would be nice to have the GUI controls switch labels when a node is selected that is in a color space different than YRGB. The interface currently stays as YRGB, but if, for instance, a LAB node is selected, it’d be great to have R switch to L, G switch to A. B would be the same I suppose. Perhaps since the Y control doesn’t do anything in LAB, it could be grayed out. Ditto for YUV and HSL.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5498
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 4:07 am

In delivery page, the ability to recall either:
A luut
a dctl
Or a color space transformation
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

Andreas Schwarz

  • Posts: 201
  • Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 12:57 pm

custom colors lost

PostWed Dec 13, 2017 10:09 am

Custom colors (generator, solid color) are not saved with the project. That should be different, because it takes time, to recreate them (or to create a workaround)!
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5498
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 1:38 pm

color - groups - Rename

instead of present the generic [group #], present the current group name so we don't have to retype from scratch

Create smart filters:
1) if I select 10 random clips, i want to create a smart filter called [random] that has those 10 clips.
2) smart filters in color time proprieties, there should be a [shapes] option (to select all the clips that have shapes)
3) smart filters: an option for any shot that is/is not grouped
4) smart filters, if a shot has/does not have LUT/dctl

in general, smart filter should be more granular...
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

José Santos

  • Posts: 22
  • Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:46 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 1:59 pm

BUGS AND FEATURES!

GENERAL
• Color cast/temperature difference between the edit/fairlight page viewer and the color page viewer. Noticed when switching between the pages
(In general color management of the viewers is a mess. I found out through testing that (on a mac) even when the option is turned off in Resolve's settings, the icc profile in use has an effect on the viewer. So depending on the icc selected in preferences it’s already doing something! And when ticking the "use mac display color profiles for viewer" box on it seems that it doubles the icc profile's effect. I mentioned this you guys over a year ago even before you unveiled the new panels, that promote the use of the viewer with a dedicated viewer button. You didn’t care... If you promote the use of the viewer for grading you should at least improve the color management.)

• Opening and saving projects takes so long, maybe there are ways to improve the speed? The same applies when switching between pages. On a 20min short with 50 audio changing between pages takes a while. Also when switching to the color page the loading of the memories and stills takes forever.

• Progress bars when backing up or importing a project (progess bars everywhere would be the best!) I never know it it crashed or it's just taking long.

MEDIA MANAGEMENT/EXPORTING TO OTHER PLATFORMS:

• Due to the way resolve links video and audio, the audio files get treated as video files when exporting a fcpxxml resulting in several video layers. Please change the linking feature so that when you link audio with video audio keeps the same name in the timeline, an actual link instead of appending the audio files to the video files.

• The ability of media managing audio only is missing, I’d like to be able to transcode sound only in the media page under the file>media management option. Or transcode a merged video and sound clip to audio only.

• I would like the ability to manage optimized media, so that for example when I have a dedicated ssd for caching on one system but need to move the project to another system I don’t need to generate optimised media. (it would be great if the same applied to cache and stills).

• Please make the stills folder visible on the Mac.

EDITING:

• The snap strength of the edit page is to strong, when rippling with snapping on it’s very hard not to fall on an edit point or on the default ripple length (I know that it can be customised).

• When creating audio fade handles in the edit page that fade does not appear in the fairlight page unless adjusts the curve of said in the edit page, only then will the fade appear in the edit page.

• When working with linked selection turned off in the edit page I cannot ripple the edit point of overlaying clips at the same time even after having selected said clips. The selection should overwrite the unlinked option. I have to enter into trim edit mode to be able to trim two overlaying clips simultaneously when having linked selection turned off. This is a problem if I don't want to ripple trim but only trim and the edit points are touching other edit points.

COLOR:

•The colorspace transform ofx is by default cached when having smart caching on, could that be disabled?

•Control response on the tracker is horrible, when I’m tracking and I tell resolve to stop the track it takes ages and keeps tracking well beyond the point I asked it to stop the track.

FAIRLIGHT:

•When creating audio fade handles in the edit page that fade does not appear in the fairlight page unless adjusts the curve of said in the edit page, only then will the fade appear in the edit page.

•No possibility of changing audio clip speed in fairlight page.

• No possibility to add crossfade simply by dragging an audio clip over another in the fairlight page.

• No possibility of stepping frame by frame in the fairlight page at all. The use of the left and right arrow keys to jump between markers makes no sense at all.

• No possibility of working with linked clips in the fairlight page. If I want to ripple the edit points on 3 overlaying audio clips at the same time I have to jump into the edit page. Makes no sense.

• No ability to commit/print an effect applied to a clip on the fairlight page.

• No ability to "zoom in and out" on the waveform. Basically just making the waveform bigger or smaller without changing the volume or the track height.

EXPORT:

• NO LEVELS nor FADES when exporting an AAF or an XML or and FCPXML. Same for applies for the protools export preset in the delivery page. This is a huge miss. I call it a bug not a feature request.

• Possible bug in export for protools through deliver page: Subframe editing is not supported by protools and might get mistranslated in the AAF resulting in random clip positioning. Also might be speed changes applied to audio clips, didn't test.

• When exporting a FCPXML 1.6 and importing it into FCPX the clips do not appear in the FCPX media pool. The same applies to FCPX 1.5 and 1,4 but when using fcpx 1.3 xml it is not an issue.

• In the export page using the audio only option and selecting individual clips I cannot set the in point where there is no video. I cannot select an individual audio clip that has no video above it. If I try to set the in point where there is no video it the in point jumps to the start.

• When exporting individual clips and selecting custom name I always exports the clips with unique filenames even when that checkbox is turned off

CONTROL PANEL:

• When pressing the viewer button on the micro panel to leave full screen the base mem button, caching is lost, it also happens with pressing bypass on and off.

• I would like the ability to define the senitivity of the saturation/hue/contrast/pivot/etc.. knobs on the control panels.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5498
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 5:29 pm

I know that ofx are excluded/ ignored when making a lut, but an exception must be made when the color space transform is used:

Include the color space transform ofx in the computation used to make a LUT from a shot.
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline
User avatar

Patrick Taylor

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:18 pm

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 5:32 pm

Please, Finally, allow us to scroll our LUT drop down list. Or better yet, add a LUT viewer. Yes, I have LUT Gallery, but it’s buggy as hell, unsupported, and generally a bad solution.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrey Nikolaev, Bing [Bot] and 20 guests