Page 12 of 12

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:51 pm
by waltervolpatto
In [view][zoom], add the option [zoom to selection] if anything is selected in the timeline

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:18 am
by waltervolpatto
first of all, the [scene detect] should work on clips that are already in the media pool
Also, if a clip is on a timeline, I should be able to select it and scene detect it.

[JKL] should work as usual in the timeline
[IO] for marking should aslo work. (it does not)

15b6

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:34 am
by Peter Fleming
Since this issue does not appear to have been addressed previously I think it is an important one.
Correct Davinci Resolves inability to apply interlacing to all effects, transitions and text generation, when “enable video field processing” is enabled.
This will allow DR to comply with the intended and technically correct output for broadcast TV.
Maybe I should put this in the general DR forum?

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:02 am
by chnvision
We need better Audio Sync options. Preferable in timeline sync.

I'd hate to compare but Premiere eliminated the need for third-party sync by doing it right on the timeline and physically moving the clips. The current method of sync in DR its too hidden, and not intuitive, If i am culling for example, that I select and have all the clips I need, I just need to select clips and then syIc, otherwise i need to go back to the bin, find the clips, sync and then hope that it worked correctly. I love everything aout DR 15 but this is the only thing having me going back to premiere to Sync audio then ack here to continue editing/coloring.

Thanks!

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 5:37 pm
by waltervolpatto
Clip, smart filter in color, add the option for "clip node sizing true/ false"

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 6:35 pm
by Dan Sherman
IMO, offline loudness normalizing is a feature that is long overdo. With 15 we now have the ability to offline peak normalize clips, but I don't know many people that do this anymore.

Resolve 15 looks to have all the underlying infrastructure in place, please just give us the ability to choose what algorithm we want to use to normalize clips. For most that I know, this would be an incredible time saver.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:56 pm
by franciscovaldez
In bus format... define what 5.1 and 7.1 stand for vs 5.1 film and 7.1 film.

For example 5.1 film (L, R, C, LFE, Ls, Rs)

I've seen some confusion to what each one stands for.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 4:39 pm
by wutongdegugeyouxiang
Hindi can't be read normally in fusion.
Add support for Hindi.
In the editing panel, reading Hindi sometimes also has a character error.

Add support for making simple overlay effects in the edit panel. I received this rendering error when doing overlay effects. The alpha of the composite fragment disappears.
https://gyazo.com/2f49374c7fe459ee47efe6a34a2a1b6e

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:25 pm
by Marcus Lindstrom
Better resolution in Lightbox. Why does those thumbnails have to be so.. pixely?

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 7:36 pm
by Marcus Lindstrom
Option to get Resolve to automatically delete unused render cache. Should be in the software already!


Marcus

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2018 8:31 pm
by Marcus Lindstrom
Option to make "Next/Prev Node" select the next node in the graph structure, not next node in their numerical order!

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:44 pm
by Duke Sweden
This is a pretty long thread so I don't know if this has been mentioned yet, haven't seen it in 4 pages worth of posts, but...

I would like it if you could add Versions to the menu bar or even the source window, so that I don't have to open the clips bar, which takes away real estate from the source window, in order to switch versions. As it is, it also blocks a lot of the source window so it's hard to make A-B comparisons between the two grading versions. I hope I've made myself clear.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 2:13 pm
by wutongdegugeyouxiang
In the edit panel. Add can import material, the start time code of the material can start from 0.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:50 pm
by Reynaud Venter
franciscovaldez wrote:In bus format... define what 5.1 and 7.1 stand for vs 5.1 film and 7.1 film.

For example 5.1 film (L, R, C, LFE, Ls, Rs)

I've seen some confusion to what each one stands for.
The Fairlight Buss Formats follow the following channel order:

5.1 (SMPTE/ITU):
L, R, C, LFE, Ls, Rs

5.1 Film (Dolby / ITU 775-1 “European” standard):
L, C, R, Ls, Rs, LFE

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 11:03 pm
by franciscovaldez
Reynaud Venter wrote:
franciscovaldez wrote:In bus format... define what 5.1 and 7.1 stand for vs 5.1 film and 7.1 film.

For example 5.1 film (L, R, C, LFE, Ls, Rs)

I've seen some confusion to what each one stands for.
The Fairlight Buss Formats follow the following channel order:

5.1 (SMPTE/ITU):
L, R, C, LFE, Ls, Rs

5.1 Film (Dolby / ITU 775-1 “European” standard):
L, C, R, Ls, Rs, LFE


Well, I did a test DCP not long ago with 5.1 Film and the output was L, R, C, LFE, Ls, Rs...

That's the same order I had it my timelines. Could it be that this is ignored on export?

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 12:11 am
by Seth Goldin
Keyboard shortcuts for group management:
  • Add into Current Group
  • Add into a New Group
  • Remove from Group

Use case: It would be great to fly through the whole timeline, looking for one scene in particular, and quickly just pop it into the current group via keyboard shortcut.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:01 am
by Reynaud Venter
franciscovaldez wrote:That's the same order I had it my timelines. Could it be that this is ignored on export?
Topic for a different thread, but Render follows Buss format, not Timeline order
(unless a Linked Group has been established).

It’s a quick and straightforward test to set up and confirm the channel order followed by the
5.1 (SMPTE) and 5.1 Film Busses.

No issues with mixed deliverables and channel order on my installs.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:25 am
by Nathan Morgan
Seth Goldin wrote:Keyboard shortcuts for group management:
  • Add into Current Group
  • Add into a New Group
  • Remove from Group

Use case: It would be great to fly through the whole timeline, looking for one scene in particular, and quickly just pop it into the current group via keyboard shortcut.
+1 Yes!!! This would be so helpful. Would love to see this implemented!

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:43 pm
by Greg Parris
Hey Folks!

I apologise if this has been requested before (This is quite the massive thread), but can we get the ability to add hotkeys for switching between tabbed timelines?

Eg: Command + ` to move through tabbed timelines, and looping back to the first opened tab at the end?

It really slows me down to when I'm copy/pasting clips between timelines (Which I do, All. The. Time :D )

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2018 8:36 pm
by Frank V. Farrell
Ability to stop at the boot of 15, from looking for a console.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:06 am
by Singularity
Please add the ability to remap the del key, or add a toggle to allow it to be used as a normal delete instead of ripple delete.

List after my first few days after switching from Premiere

PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2018 5:16 pm
by markpalmos
Hello all,

After 12 years on Premiere, I jumped ship this week... and am really impressed with Resolve and the energy behind the development team; not only in volume of changes and fixes, but also in the choices made.

Here are 21 things I would love to see in Resolve: (EDITED)

1. Editing directly from the bin without needing the mouse. When you navigate to a clip the bin using the keyboard and you press Space bar or JKL, I'd want that clip to play immediately on the Source viewer rather than having to load it to the source viewer first. It would make possible compiling a sequence directly from the bin without using the mouse to try to scrub to find IO points or having to go between SV and bin constantly. Using the mouse to scrub to find IO points can be crude and innefectual if the clip is much longer than 10 seconds, as it becomes impossible to find accurate IO points for a two second cutaway when the playhead is jumping many seconds with each nudge. Related to this issue:

2. scrub picons in bin, if the bin clip is long, scrubbing to find IO points is much too crude. It would be good to have a delimiter like CTRL or ALT which will 5x or 10x slow scrubbing.

3. Inspector needs keyframe easing for position - it's next to impossible to accurately match the rate of scaling, for example, if you are zooming from full screen to a picture in picture (this is a popular one it seems)

4. Dynamic help in the keyboard shortcuts panel - sometimes one needs an explanation of what commands are, for example (this is another feature request, ableit small!) The command "overwrite ripple" ordinarily would make no sense, as an Overwrite in some ways is the opposite of a Ripple, I think this feature should be renamed "replace ripple".

5. A clean and easy way to save an Inspector Transform/Crop/Dynamic Zoom etc as a preset which can be easily applied to another clip and in another project at a later stage.

[6. Edit Point Type - command works fine though must be set to Edit, not Global in keyboard mapping.]

7. improve file compatibility, cannot import .ts files and not .bmp for example.

8. Keyboard shortcut to toggle Auto Select for all tracks.

9. FIXED b.7 !!! match frame should match with whichever timeline clip is selected OR the highest clip that is visible...

10. When you delete or ripple cut a selection on timeline, the CTI should be at the cut point, not in the middle of nowhere. This is particularly disruptive when you are working with another editor's work and are not so familiar with it, and if you are cutting and pasting sections, you can eaily loose where you are as the cursor is left "stranded" afer you cut.

11. Indicator to show which PARTS of a clip have already been used in the current time line. IMO I don't think the way Premiere handles this is very good, ie a list on a pull down menu. It would be much more helpful when scrubbing through your cutaway clips, you'd instantly and constantly know if that particular FRAME has been used before. Perhaps a coloured dot on the image in the source viewer to indicate it's prior use, and maybe if you click on that dot you get a pull down of the instances in that sequence and clicking on the instance takes you there.

12. keyboard command to mark IO points at head and tail of a group of selected clips. This would save a lot of steps navigating to the out point of the last clip and pressing Out, navigating to the head of the first clip and pressing In is much slower than marquee selecting a bunch of clips and pressing a single key.

[13. Four point edit exists]

14. keyboard shortcut to bring up keyboard shortcut panel.

15. ability to use Resolve's interface while the keyboard shortcut panel is visible, so you can try it out to see if it works as you thought without having to open and close dozens of times as you customise the commands.

16. I love the way match frame works, if timeline is active, matchframe finds source, if source viewer is selected match is found in the sequence. Please add this kind of intuitive keyboard shortcuts to things like repeated pressing of T (or whatever is assigned) to toggle edit modes, or Shift-J or Shift-L to gradually increase/decrease as you repeatedly press the J or L.

17. Ripple Cut should end with the cursor being at the cut point. At present it is left at the same place on the timeline which is rather useless as it could be dozens of clips beyond the point you edited... so you'd be in the middle of nowhere, no reason to be there!

18. Shift and Alt scroll mouse wheel is in use to good effect, please add CTRL-scroll to horizontally scroll the timeline.

19. with long clips in the source viewer, you cannot see IO points as different points... there should be a way to zoom in ? maybe shift or CTRL-scroll in the source viewer?

20. More than one keyboard command possible with one command. For example, I use ; to lift (delete) and # to extract (ripple delete) but it would be great if I could keep the Delete and Backspace keys to do the same thing as I often press them out of habit too.

21. Delete key to delete a transition you have selected on a timeline. Currently you have to RH mouse click to remove it, it seems.


Thanks BM, great job!
Mark.

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 6:00 am
by Peter Chamberlain
markpalmos wrote:Hello all,

After 12 years on Premiere, I jumped ship this week... and am really impressed with Resolve and the energy behind the development team; not only in volume of changes and fixes, but also in the choices made.

Here are 21 things I would love to see in Resolve:

Thanks BM, great job!
Mark.



thanks Mark, good feedback, clear, concise, numbered!

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 6:51 am
by Hector Berrebi
markpalmos wrote:Hello all,

After 12 years on Premiere, I jumped ship this week... and am really impressed with Resolve and the energy behind the development team; not only in volume of changes and fixes, but also in the choices made.

Here are 21 things I would love to see in Resolve:


Mostly good list.. seems like you miss a lot of things in Premiere, and that you may appreciate some features in FCPX.

Few corrections to your list :)

6. U - toggles trim modes and Alt + U switches trim from audio to video to both
7. Really? ts and bmp? what about .rm .mkv and .wmv...? ;)
12. X does that. Alt+X deletes both marks
13. Shift + F11 is F2F
14. Cmd/Ctrl + , pops up prefs at last page you used them..

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:04 am
by Patrick Taylor
Marcus Lindstrom wrote:Option to make "Next/Prev Node" select the next node in the graph structure, not next node in their numerical order!


Agree!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:44 pm
by Iliya Gitlin
wav split render
example - project has 5.1 audio, but you can't render 6 mono wav, render only all channels in one wav files. Wave has limit 2gb!

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:17 pm
by markpalmos
Hector Berrebi wrote:Few corrections to your list :)
6. U - toggles trim modes and Alt + U switches trim from audio to video to both
7. Really? ts and bmp? what about .rm .mkv and .wmv...? ;)
12. X does that. Alt+X deletes both marks
13. Shift + F11 is F2F
14. Cmd/Ctrl + , pops up prefs at last page you used them..


Hi Hector,
Thanks for the feedback.
A few comments backatcha :)
I have opted to have the Premiere Pro style keyboard layout (which did not work well, so I manually changed as many as I could)

6/ Weird? I have that command set for U but it does not work if the command is set for "Global". It will DOES work if it is set for "Edit". I would have thougth Global was just that, everything including Edit mode. Odd. Perhaps a bug report coming up.

7/ Lordy, it seems there are many formats it does not import, these are two I had that failed to import, oh, and .webm too.

12/ ah great, thanks. I was searching for something that contained In or Out or Select, Mark Clip sounded like a command to create a marker... tx, but the second part of the feature request does not exist. An ability to IO mark a group of selected clips with that same command. That would be great too if you want to cut and paste a section of an edit, there would be no need to move to the in point, press In, move to the out point of the last clip, press Out, then cut and paste. With this you just quickly select the section and press one key to IO mark it.

13/ oops, I had even customised that command, brain freeze.

14/ yeah, but not after restarting the app or rebooting.

Cheers,
Mark.

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:51 pm
by Hector Berrebi
markpalmos wrote:6/ Weird? I have that command set for U but it does not work if the command is set for "Global". It will DOES work if it is set for "Edit". I would have thougth Global was just that, everything including Edit mode. Odd. Perhaps a bug report coming up.

7/ Lordy, it seems there are many formats it does not import, these are two I had that failed to import, oh, and .webm too.




about migrating shortcuts and full keyboards..
I teach and train teams on NLEs (Avid, FCP, Resolve and PP) for many years, I strongly believe that when switching tools, and at least in the learning period, its better to try and learn the new tool's shortcuts before migrating your old ones. in many tools, there are features mapped to keys without being present in menus, others construct a certain inner logic that you may miss otherwise.
Once you get the default you can start customizing it (where you'll discover Resolve still has quite a bit of limitations)

6. the point of having a dedicated trim mode is to prevent user errors, glitches and such on complex timelines.. where having an Everything tool can be a nightmare
its nice that features only work in certain modes.

7. It was a joke.. ;) a pro application doesn't have to support every format on the planet

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2018 10:18 pm
by markpalmos
Hector Berrebi wrote:its better to try and learn the new tool's shortcuts before migrating your old ones. in many tools, there are features mapped to keys without being present in menus, others construct a certain inner logic that you may miss otherwise.

7. a pro application doesn't have to support every format on the planet


Hi
Yeah, I sort of agree, though I really dislike F9-F12 being used for very important editing functions... too far over, much prefer the lower keyboard positioning premiere has at the , and . keys. Also I already have a premiere keyboard, so don't want to buy another for no good reason. Also there's rex...

gary-larson-old-dog-new-tricks.png
gary-larson-old-dog-new-tricks.png (74.25 KiB) Viewed 1703 times

WRT formats, obviously it's a pain to transcode, the less I have to do it the better for me and my clients.
Tx
Mark.

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:19 pm
by Jim Simon
markpalmos wrote:I really dislike F9-F12 being used for very important editing functions... too far over, much prefer the lower keyboard positioning premiere has at the , and . keys.


Definitely. You go one row up from JKL to set In and Out points, and one row down to Insert or Overwrite. MUCH more logical.

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:21 pm
by Jim Simon
Hector Berrebi wrote:having an Everything tool can be a nightmare


I am not fond of the Avid method, with only one 'tool'. I find both PP and Resolve's multiple tools more efficient.

Re: List after my first few days after switching from Premie

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 3:25 pm
by Jim Simon
markpalmos wrote:10. When you delete or ripple cut a selection on timeline, the CTI should be at the cut point, not in the middle of nowhere.


Premiere Pro does this. It's a better way.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2018 4:39 pm
by markpalmos
Jim Simon wrote:
markpalmos wrote:10. When you delete or ripple cut a selection on timeline, the CTI should be at the cut point, not in the middle of nowhere.


Premiere Pro does this. It's a better way.
It didn't always do that, beta testers like myself requested that for years till it was done.. Way better.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 1:05 am
by Tom Early
Suhaib Siddiqi wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:
Suhaib Siddiqi wrote:I came from Sony Vegas. When scanning audio through Preview Playback, hitting stop button returns the cursor to the point from where it started. This is very helpful when trying to find a point to cut in the audio. In Resolve, hitting the Stop button keep the cursor where it is. This causes an extra time to find the exact point where I want to cut. I would like it to be implemented in Resolve.

Unless someone has a suggestion for an already existing feature similar to it.

Also deleting the clip from the Media pool should delete it from the Timeline too. If I delete it from the Media pool, I want it to be gone. I do not see a reason to leave an off-line media on the timeline!!

Thanks.


In finishing, i find very useful to keep the references in the timeline where a clip was if i delete it. I would not like a change in behavior, but you might have a option when press delete:

Delete from media
Delete from media pool and from all timelines


I understand everyone has his own likes and dislikes. For me, deleting the media from the pool means I want it gone from the Timeline too. Of course, the remaining clips on the timeline should stay where they were positioned.

I agree an option in the Preferences will be good. That way, people can configure the way they want.


For me, Premiere deleting clips from the timeline when deleted from bins is one of its most infuriating features. If this is ever incorporated into Resolve and wasn't optional... :evil: :evil: :evil:

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 2:10 am
by pprokhor
The feature that I really miss from Premiere Pro:

Audio + Video sync right on the timeline. Putting video tracks on top of audio tracks → right click → Sync Based on Timecode (or Waveform) → Boom, the clips just shift where they will be synchronized :)

Would make it so much easier to sync two camera angles (I know about Multicam feature) and have both clips on separate layers. Also, if your audio clips aren't Linked with video clips — that Sync of the Timeline feature will be so helpful.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 5:07 am
by Alex Potemkin
Please, please, separate "output sizing" and "sizibg for video monitoring". It's the mess!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 9:58 am
by Jean Rivoire
I would like to keep Inspector window when I delete a subtitle.
Currently if I delete a subtitle, the Inspector panel disappear.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:32 pm
by Jim Simon
pprokhor wrote:Audio + Video sync right on the timeline. Putting video tracks on top of audio tracks → right click → Sync Based on Timecode (or Waveform) → Boom, the clips just shift where they will be synchronized


That would be a nice addition to the Edit page.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:16 pm
by Seth Goldin
We should probably lock this topic, since the full release of 15.0 is out... We can proceed on the thread for 16: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=71757

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2018 10:23 pm
by Mark Grgurev
waltervolpatto wrote:Also, if a clip is on a timeline, I should be able to select it and scene detect it.


Honestly, I hate this idea. I'd much prefer that scene detect have an option to place all the clips in-order on a new timeline. If made within the timeline, then you lose that clip if you delete it from the timeline.

Re: DAVINCI 15 | Big feature request list.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:07 am
by waltervolpatto
Mark Grgurev wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:Also, if a clip is on a timeline, I should be able to select it and scene detect it.


Honestly, I hate this idea. I'd much prefer that scene detect have an option to place all the clips in-order on a new timeline. If made within the timeline, then you lose that clip if you delete it from the timeline.


The issue for me is when you get a [edl] to cut the timeline, and after that you find out that a whole piece was lifted from another source and it need to be cut: you cannot re cut the whole thing, so I resort to cut it by hand.