Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

christopher_gray

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 2:25 am

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostWed Jun 14, 2017 11:52 pm

Timecode burn in jumps horizontally while running depending on the font selected.
When the number reaches XX:11 the window becomes slightly smaller horizontally
and it jumps sideways. work around - use a font that does not jump.
Offline

johnbuckman

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 9:47 pm

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 1:52 pm

"Delete Empty Tracks" is deleting one of my Audio tracks that contains unlinked music media.
Offline

Greger Nilsen

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:11 pm
  • Location: Norway

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 3:37 pm

Windows 10, Beta 3

I experience that sometimes I get a single frame from a clip, coming in way to early.
Just a single frame, though.

This happens both when I am just importing media, and when in the other modes. So it shows up in export.

For instance, in the timeline of one of my projects, at timecode 01:00:02:17 I get the frame that is supposed to be at 01:00:06:11

And the same if I just try to preview a file in the source viewer in "Media mode", I get at 00:00:17:05 I get a frame that is supposed to be at 00:00:18:11

Edit: This was not a problem in 12.5.5
Offline

Greg Huson

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:34 pm
  • Location: Culver City, CA

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 5:56 pm

Versions of this have may have been mentioned, but haven't read the entire 9-page thread.

Just loaded 14b3 - when playing back a pre-existing grade from 12.5.5, saturation is through the roof. Is this a change in color science or something?

Mac 12 core cheese grater, 10.11.6, 2x GTX680.
GH
----------------------------------------------------
Greg Huson
Secret Headquarters, Inc
Post Production / Production
Culver City, CA
323 677 2092
www.SecretHQ.com
www.DigitalServiceStation.com
greg (at) SecretHQ.com
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3977
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 6:02 pm

@Greg: What color science mode are you using?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Greg Huson

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:34 pm
  • Location: Culver City, CA

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 6:14 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:@Greg: What color science mode are you using?


Uhh... I didn't really change anything when opened this 12.5 project

Source is DNG, camera raw is daylight / BMD / BMD Film. Timeline color space is 709 2.4

I like starting grades from 'log' look. Generally don't use LUTs in grading.

I do think each of these shots has an x-rite color match on the first or second node - source BMD 4.6 film, Target BMD 4.6 film, Target 709.

Turning down Saturation on a later node seems to bring me pretty close to the grade the way it was in 12.5.

Please advise!
GH
----------------------------------------------------
Greg Huson
Secret Headquarters, Inc
Post Production / Production
Culver City, CA
323 677 2092
www.SecretHQ.com
www.DigitalServiceStation.com
greg (at) SecretHQ.com
Offline

Kael Alden

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:12 pm
  • Location: LA

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 6:32 pm

- Moving any audio clip from one track to another, the clip is duplicated in the fairlight page appearing as 2 separate copies. Only the clip in the new position is selectable and editable. The original (ghost copy) is unable to be deleted or altered in any way. Both copies of the clip sound. The only fix is to quit and relaunch Resolve.

- Video playback is choppy for me. A single mp4 H.264 (1280x720) is glitchy with no effects applied (on a 2010 Mac Pro 8-core 2.66GHz with 48GB ram and a GTX 960 video card).

- Not a bug, but just a major annoyance... The scrolling in the Fairlight page does not function the same as in the other pages. Timeline navigation in this page is clunky in general.
Kael Alden
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3977
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 6:55 pm

@Greg: But, what color science mode is the project using?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Greg Huson

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:34 pm
  • Location: Culver City, CA

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 7:02 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:@Greg: But, what color science mode is the project using?


Huh. I've never changed that - you mean master project settings / timeline format / color science?
that's set to DaVinci YRGB
GH
----------------------------------------------------
Greg Huson
Secret Headquarters, Inc
Post Production / Production
Culver City, CA
323 677 2092
www.SecretHQ.com
www.DigitalServiceStation.com
greg (at) SecretHQ.com
Offline

Greg Huson

  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:34 pm
  • Location: Culver City, CA

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 8:32 pm

Greg Huson wrote:
each of these shots has an x-rite color match on the first or second node - source BMD 4.6 film, Target BMD 4.6 film, Target 709.



That appears to of been the issue. if I remove that match and replace it with a new one, the saturation is more accurate. Writing this one off to some version of operator error.
GH
----------------------------------------------------
Greg Huson
Secret Headquarters, Inc
Post Production / Production
Culver City, CA
323 677 2092
www.SecretHQ.com
www.DigitalServiceStation.com
greg (at) SecretHQ.com
Offline

Guillaume Klein

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2016 8:40 pm

Re: Resolve 14 Public Beta Bug List

PostThu Jun 15, 2017 10:32 pm

Hello
Using Resolve 14 beta 3 for the first time.
I loaded a random video I had laying around on my computer in a timeline.
Mp4 file with H264 video and stereo mp3 sound.

Bugs :
VU-meter customisation does not work. The default settings are used and no matter what high/low or offset setting, or display type I choose, the meters do not change.
Integrated loudess does not appear to be working, it just shows 0.

I'm also confused by the VU-meter behaviour.
The regular meters appear to follow the usual peak (sample peak, not true peak) + RMS configuration, but the advanced meters in the fairlight page appear to try to use the recent ITU and EBU loudness scheme (not an expert in the field, forgot, it's the momentary, short term, integrated thing), but the implementation is weird with a mix of full scale and relative scales, and lack of explanation.

I don't understand what the meters are supposed to measure exactly. Are the loudness meters are still work in progress ?
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Hartmut Kuhse, Leslie Wand and 14 guests