How to record audio with resolve 14?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Oli Koos

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:29 am

How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostTue Apr 25, 2017 8:43 am

Hello,

I am wondering how to record audio with resolve 14. On the fairlight page, hitting the record button does nothing for me.

P.s. a pitty that BM has not integraded basic audio filters like "reverb" "denoiser" e.t.a., was that never part of the fairlight software package ?

thx
Offline

Maciej Antosiewicz

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 1:19 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostWed Apr 26, 2017 1:21 pm

I have the same problem

I also have problem with audio keyframes, when im adding them manually only last one is working
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostWed Apr 26, 2017 8:59 pm

any of you guys figure out how to get audio recording working?
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostSat Apr 29, 2017 10:39 pm

Bump

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
Offline

Scott Carmichael

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:49 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 1:44 pm

Yeah, I would like to know how to do this as well
Offline

Andrew Devis

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:18 am
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 3:03 pm

Scott Carmichael wrote:Yeah, I would like to know how to do this as well


I suspect that as this is a beta that recording isn't enabled as yet - although I was pleased to see that is wasn't just me being unable to record anything! I would also suspect that we will see additional FX for audio in the final version - probably more with the studio version as they do with the colour fx etc. But who can say for sure?

From what I can see, there is still quite a lot of work needed to be done to get Fairlight working as it should - but it's a good start.
A
Offline

Daniele Bemportato

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:23 am

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 4:11 pm

In order to enable audio recording you need to patch audio inputs to destination tracks.
Then you will be able to select the recording track by selecting the R button on the track sidebar.
Offline

Andrew Devis

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:18 am
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 4:16 pm

Daniele Bemportato wrote:In order to enable audio recording you need to patch audio inputs to destination tracks.
Then you will be able to select the recording track by selecting the R button on the track sidebar.


That sounds great - thanks ... could you walk us through it?
Offline

Daniele Bemportato

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:23 am

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 4:27 pm

- Select Fairlight Page
- Open Fairlight Menu
- Click on "Patch Input/Output"
- Select Audio inputs on the left side
- Select Destination in the right side
- Click Patch button

In case your destination track is Stereo you need to select both audio channels in the right panel.
You can assign the same audio input to both destination channels if needed.
Now you should be able to select recording track by clicking the R button on track sidebar.

Then click Record button to start.
Offline

Andrew Devis

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:18 am
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 4:34 pm

Thank you - that is really helpful, I am now almost there! I have the R and the red recording - but as yet I can't get it to pick up my mic ... but it's really good to be making progress so far. A
Offline

Andrew Devis

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:18 am
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 05, 2017 4:47 pm

Daniele Bemportato wrote:- Select Fairlight Page
- Open Fairlight Menu
- Click on "Patch Input/Output"
- Select Audio inputs on the left side
- Select Destination in the right side
- Click Patch button

In case your destination track is Stereo you need to select both audio channels in the right panel.
You can assign the same audio input to both destination channels if needed.
Now you should be able to select recording track by clicking the R button on track sidebar.

Then click Record button to start.


Sorry to be a pain, but I'm looking at the input options for audio 1 and I can't seem to work out how to make resolve/fairlight pick up my audio input device (quad capture with a mic input running at 48K). I hear it through my speakers but I can't get it working in Fairlight - any suggestions? Thanks. A
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostSun May 07, 2017 6:24 am

i tried what was suggested. still does not work for me. maybe somebody that has this working can put together a video and share it?
Offline

jussi rovanpera

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:25 pm
  • Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostSun May 07, 2017 11:14 am

Same here, I can get Resolve to record, but no audio is coming in.

I can define an input to a channel, but how to configure the input?

I'm on Windows 10, with no separate audio hardware.
Offline

jussi rovanpera

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:25 pm
  • Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostMon May 08, 2017 8:30 am

Paul Saccone commented that recording does not work yet.
Offline

Andrew Devis

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:18 am
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostMon May 08, 2017 9:53 am

I've had another play with recording and found that once you have some kind of audio in your project you can then record from your own device! I set the project up with a timeline with no audio hoping to record audio and it simply wouldn't pick it up. Then, I added just a few seconds of audio from a file and put my play-head at the end of that audio file and it picked up my mono mic and recorded it as patched! However, there was no monitoring of the signal level while recording.

So, it did pick up my old Roland Quad-Capture with a mono mic and recorded it just fine - you just need some audio in the project first and have channels properly patched!!

Hope this helps
A
Edit: Tried this again and found it very hit and miss. Sometimes I can't get it to work at all on new projects and needed to load an old project with audio when then worked (most of the time). Also, once - it recorded without the R being activated! just hit the big O and it recorded, but now I'm back to needing the R activated! This is quite frustrating.

Edit 2: FYI files saved to Resolve Cache>Capture as .wav for me
Offline

ChrisRiddell

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 8:11 am

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostSun May 14, 2017 10:03 am

Daniele Bemportato wrote:- Select Fairlight Page
- Open Fairlight Menu
- Click on "Patch Input/Output"
- Select Audio inputs on the left side
- Select Destination in the right side
- Click Patch button

In case your destination track is Stereo you need to select both audio channels in the right panel.
You can assign the same audio input to both destination channels if needed.
Now you should be able to select recording track by clicking the R button on track sidebar.

Then click Record button to start.


Following this I was unable to get it to work.

To be able to check the R button in the sidebar I had to change the audio track to mono then patch in input.

Patching ether input 1 or 2 to the audio track, clicking record there was no audio been recorded tried using a USB mic and a 3.5mm Mic connected to the PC.
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostWed May 17, 2017 4:41 pm

Seems to me that:
a. only sources with valid inputs set can be set to record (R button lights red) - which makes sense
b. only sources available in patching are mono

therefore only mono tracks can be set up for recording

also I can get timeline to indicate that it is recording, with a clip on timeline post recording completed, but I cannot get any input to that track (have tried aux busses & sub mixes & osc - no input on this laptop)
Home:
R14.0.0b.023
OSX 10.11.6
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostFri May 19, 2017 10:17 am

Its broken. That appears to be the general consensus.

Is there a updated beta version available or is blackmagic planning on skipping the updates every few days and just releasing the full stable version with everything working? weekly updates would be nice until the full stable release is available.
Offline

Hakim Craddock

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: How to record audio with resolve 14?

PostMon May 22, 2017 10:16 pm

still doesnt work in beta 2

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests