Fairlight and ASIO

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Nicola Puddu

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 9:26 am
  • Location: Olgiate Olona, Italy

Fairlight and ASIO

PostFri May 19, 2017 9:50 am

Hello everyone,

I'm currently testing DR14 b2 on my Windows 10 pc and I'm really satisfied with the new features of the software, moreover, Fairlight is an interesting add-on.
I understand the business of BM of offering Fairlight for free and getting money by selling their control surfaces, but for an enthusiast video/audio editor like me a future ASIO support would be great and much appreciated.

Fingers crossed, happy editing.
Nicola Puddu - Olgiate Olona, Italy
Offline

Marcus Goller

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:41 pm

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostSat May 20, 2017 10:59 am

By choosing "use system audio" (if I am not mistaken) and setting your Windows default audio to your ASIO device, Resolve will also make use of it.
--
OS: Windows 10
CPU: i7-4771
RAM: 16GB
GPU: Nvidia GTX 960
Offline

Jason Tackaberry

  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:34 am

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostSat May 20, 2017 4:52 pm

Supporting ASIO would mean actually using the ASIO API for low latency audio. IMO supporting ASIO is a prerequisite for any Windows DAW.

But more importantly, it implies being able to map ASIO outputs in the patch bay. Right now in the patch UI for audio outputs I just see a generic Monitor 1-L/Monitor 1-R. I'd like to be able to see all the ASIO outputs like I can in other DAWs.
Offline

Paul Draper

  • Posts: 42
  • Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostSat May 20, 2017 6:53 pm

Jason Tackaberry wrote:Supporting ASIO would mean actually using the ASIO API for low latency audio. IMO supporting ASIO is a prerequisite for any Windows DAW.

But more importantly, it implies being able to map ASIO outputs in the patch bay. Right now in the patch UI for audio outputs I just see a generic Monitor 1-L/Monitor 1-R. I'd like to be able to see all the ASIO outputs like I can in other DAWs.


Yep, totally agree. Is a de facto standard for all DAWs. Related: interested to see what use Resolve 14 makes of the as-yet-to-be-detailed 'Rewire' section of the manual.
Offline

KenSullivan

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 1:58 am

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostSun May 21, 2017 2:57 pm

And I also agree in asking for ASIO support in Resolve.
Offline

Andy Mees

  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:48 am

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostWed May 24, 2017 1:25 am

Jason Tackaberry wrote:Supporting ASIO would mean actually using the ASIO API for low latency audio. IMO supporting ASIO is a prerequisite for any Windows DAW.

But more importantly, it implies being able to map ASIO outputs in the patch bay. Right now in the patch UI for audio outputs I just see a generic Monitor 1-L/Monitor 1-R. I'd like to be able to see all the ASIO outputs like I can in other DAWs.



From install notes for the current DR14 beta ... may be pertinent to the perceived issue :
• Support for output audio channel assignment is not currently available
Offline

Ben Chase

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:30 am

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostThu Nov 09, 2017 8:33 am

I also vote for ASIO please
Offline

Manuel Geissinger

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:54 pm

Re: Fairlight and ASIO

PostSun Nov 12, 2017 6:59 pm

Yep, I was also hoping for ASIO support at least in the Studio Version. I got quite expensive Audio Hardware here (RME), but using only a few VST Plugins in Resolve on 2 Tracks leads to severe dropouts -> unusable for, going back to Presonus Studio One for mastering audiotracks for the time being.

I really really hope that ASIO will be supported in a future update, Fairlight looks great for the job.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brian Carter, Google Feedfetcher and 17 guests