Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Russ Blaise

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:59 pm

Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jun 06, 2017 1:36 pm

What is the best way to setup where all the media and DR files sit? I have a 1TB Samsung 850 SSD drive and want to use that for all my DR work. Can the media files, DR Cache, DR Data, etc sit on the same drive? or is it better to break them up to different drives?

Note: my boot drive sits on a Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB which is on a PCI card.

Thanks,

-Russ
Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6-Core (2012), High Sierra‎, 48GB RAM, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB & 500GB, CalDigit VR, Radeon RX 580 8192 MB, Intensity Pro 4k, Resolve Studio.
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jun 06, 2017 9:59 pm

For what it's worth. This works well for me.. I have a Win 10 PC. I use a samsong m.2 drive foas my OS boot and for my Resolve app location. I use a pair of samsung SSD'S in a RAID0 configuration for my resolve cache drive location. I use three spinning Toshiba 7200 rpm HDDs SATA3 for my source video storage. And another 2 drive RAID0 USB3 external G-RAID device to render out to. This PC works well enough for editing and grading Resolve 12.5.5 without the need for creating optimized media. I am working with GH4 compressed UHD4 and gopro video. It works wonderfully with my PRORES Shogun or DNXHR files. 64 GB of RAM and a pair of 1080GTX1080TI SC2 cards as well. In my configuration the OS and the App, the source video, the Resolce cache location, and the render destination are all different drives.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
Win10 64 pro I7 6core X99 mboard 64 GB
M.2 sys drive. 2x SSDs Raid0 cache.
3x 7200 HHDs raid0 storage
Two EVGA1080 TI video cards
Decklink MiniMonitor 4K BENQ WS271
Resolve 15.3 studio
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jun 07, 2017 6:59 am

the cache files are only ever stored below the first entry of the storage locations list in preferences. that location must always be present. This is a large limitation as you cannot take a single project and it's cache with you on a laptop easily without also taking the cache of all other projects with you (without a long session if copying and reconfiguring each time you undock the laptop and loose connection to external drives).
Offline
User avatar

Russ Blaise

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jun 07, 2017 2:58 pm

MarcusWolschon wrote:the cache files are only ever stored below the first entry of the storage locations list in preferences. that location must always be present.
I'm not sure what that means :?:

Also thanks, Mike for your reply :)
Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6-Core (2012), High Sierra‎, 48GB RAM, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB & 500GB, CalDigit VR, Radeon RX 580 8192 MB, Intensity Pro 4k, Resolve Studio.
Offline

MarcusWolschon

  • Posts: 616
  • Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 6:59 pm

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jun 07, 2017 5:58 pm

Russ Blaise wrote:
MarcusWolschon wrote:the cache files are only ever stored below the first entry of the storage locations list in preferences. that location must always be present.
I'm not sure what that means :?:

Also thanks, Mike for your reply :)


http://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/D ... Manual.pdf

Page 115
"All optimized media is written to the same directory as the Cache files are written, which
defaults to the first scratch disk listed in the Preference dialog’s Media Storage panel. The
location of Cache and Optimized files is also selectable via the “Cache files location” setting in
the General Options panel of the Project Settings."

Page 120
"The Cache files location defaults to the first volume you add to the Scratch Disks list of the
Media Storage panel of the Resolve Preferences."
Offline
User avatar

Russ Blaise

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jun 07, 2017 6:16 pm

Hi Marcus, Now that made sense. Thank you for finding that info in the manual for me. I have it all setup now :)
Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6-Core (2012), High Sierra‎, 48GB RAM, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB & 500GB, CalDigit VR, Radeon RX 580 8192 MB, Intensity Pro 4k, Resolve Studio.
Offline

bifericeras

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:11 pm
  • Real Name: Andreas Rathgeber

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 4:56 pm

MarcusWolschon wrote:the cache files are only ever stored below the first entry of the storage locations list in preferences. that location must always be present. This is a large limitation as you cannot take a single project and it's cache with you on a laptop easily without also taking the cache of all other projects with you (without a long session if copying and reconfiguring each time you undock the laptop and loose connection to external drives).


Well you can. Can't you? In menue "DaVinci Resolve --> Preferences" you define under "Media Storage" diffferent Mounts per Project. Then when you create your project you individually to a project assign in the "Project Settings --> Master Settings --> Working Folder" your "Cache files location" and "Gallery stills location" to a path you defined under "Preferences".

That should work to be able to take that to another host.
Offline

bifericeras

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:11 pm
  • Real Name: Andreas Rathgeber

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 4:59 pm

But generally I find this thread interesting.

I am on Windows 10 Workstation.
And thus I can create a volume on a SSD and present that volume in a directory. This means even the directory is on a HDD the content of that directory would go onto my SSD.

Someone tried this setup before?
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 5:56 pm

bifericeras wrote:But generally I find this thread interesting.

I am on Windows 10 Workstation.
And thus I can create a volume on a SSD and present that volume in a directory. This means even the directory is on a HDD the content of that directory would go onto my SSD.

Someone tried this setup before?

I don’t use this for Resolve, but I used to use it for a backup scheme at the job I was previously at. I set up 6 folders on my main server (Monday-Friday & Weekend) that would mount 7 separate portable usb drives to each folder. I had 2 weekend drives that would alternately receive a full backup each weekend with the other 5 weekday drives doing differential backups. Worked nicely with everything scripted. All that had to be done is swap the weekend drives on Monday and the weekday drives each day. “So easy, a caveman could do it.” I was able to restore everything several times after several ransomware attacks (which destroyed everything on our network mapped drives), but that’s another story.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
The latest Resolve (Standard)
Offline

bifericeras

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:11 pm
  • Real Name: Andreas Rathgeber

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 9:26 pm

I mainly do this for performance purposes - I had a spare 512GB 950 Pro Nvme laying around. Not for the above idea to transport it to another device.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6728
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostTue Jan 22, 2019 10:28 pm

As mentioned, the cache can be redirected to a different drive and per project.

You might want large and fast drives for your media playback, a RAID is recommended because can satisfy both.

Personally i have a SAS enclosure with spinning disks 8x8tb in redundant configuration, it give me space, speed and security
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.022
nvidia: 430.39
Offline

Hector Corcin

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:38 pm

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 1:13 am

waltervolpatto wrote:As mentioned, the cache can be redirected to a different drive and per project.


How do you change cache to another drive per project?
I tried to change cache for some projects but they revert back to the default location, the drive and path configured in first Media Storage Locations in Preferences/Media Storage
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6728
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 3:37 am

Hector Corcin wrote:
waltervolpatto wrote:As mentioned, the cache can be redirected to a different drive and per project.


How do you change cache to another drive per project?
I tried to change cache for some projects but they revert back to the default location, the drive and path configured in first Media Storage Locations in Preferences/Media Storage



Yiou have to make the setting you use for that project specific, one of the tabs (general iirc) has the path.

Every time you open that project, just recall the setting and you're good.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.022
nvidia: 430.39
Offline

Hector Corcin

  • Posts: 102
  • Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 8:38 pm

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 9:29 am

waltervolpatto wrote:Every time you open that project, just recall the setting and you're good.


exactly... what I was trying to say... I can change the setting, but next time I open the project it will be changed to the storage location again and I have to change the setting again? This way of changing the cache location per project doesn't seem to be a supported feature if I need to change it every time I open the project..
Offline

bifericeras

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 9:11 pm
  • Real Name: Andreas Rathgeber

Re: Best way to setup where all the media & DR files sit?

PostWed Jan 23, 2019 9:58 am

waltervolpatto wrote:As mentioned, the cache can be redirected to a different drive and per project.

You might want large and fast drives for your media playback, a RAID is recommended because can satisfy both.

Personally i have a SAS enclosure with spinning disks 8x8tb in redundant configuration, it give me space, speed and security


Yes for media I think RAID is the best way to go. Fast and a good answer to be on the safe side on HDD failure. For cache I only need fast. The safety isn't my highest priority. Therefore my idea to place a SSD to the base cache files location and gallery stills location. In worst case it would be required to rebuild the cache. Only thing is, the backup shouldn't go there. This again is good on the RAID.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Jack Fairley and 21 guests