DCP Bit depth and formats

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

ilyamarcus

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 1:29 pm

Hey,

I have been working for TV (manly commercials) for many years, needless to say that I did not encounter a request for a DCP very oftenly, even when we had an ad screening in a movie theater they would usually ask for a ProRes422HQ having that they dont use the same projector for the ads.

Lately I have been shooting my own films (as a DOP) and happily enough they are getting many theatrical requests.
Having that in my studio I don't have a projector or a DCP server I usually ask a bigger facility to make the DCP. In Israel I can say that its is really the "Wild west" when it comes to formats.

My questions is:
1. Should DCP's be created only from 12bit DPX or is 10bit enough info to go through the XYZ conversion?
2. Would a Prores4444 file be better than a 10bit DPX? considering the film was mastered on a calibrated Rec709 display.

Dermot Shane

Re: DCP Bit depth and formats

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 1:44 pm

i make a DCDM from my master timeline directly in Resolve, creaitng a jpeg2000 XYZ sequence that is used without further conversions to maek a DCP by copying the files into a DCP folder structure and adding an XML

by doing this i control the color management, and i have elimnated that weak link

ilyamarcus

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 4:24 pm

I agree that this would be best.
But some companies are insisting on doing the conversion in-house, having that said i'm getting the feeling they are asking me for 10bit DPX because its lighter, and I would like to know what is the standard protocol.
Same with Prores, I usually get asked for it if they have less time or any other problem.

Dermot Shane

PostWed Jul 05, 2017 5:13 pm

i do not give them a choice, they have to take my DCDM, it saes them time and trouble, takes responcibality away from them for color managent