Feature Request - Normalise Audio

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1384
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostMon Jul 17, 2017 5:11 pm

OK, I have uninstalled all vst3 plugins, total cleanup. Disabled every plushin and then removed in the preference panel any directory in audio. I recall that I am under W10. The pictures speak for themselves.

I made a comeback from the 12.5.6. I have the curve editor at the timeline.

So for me under W10, from the first version of the V14, the curve editor of the timeline no longer existed. I specify that each time I left the project created under V12.5.6 (import .DRP). Each time I left untitled project and the results were the same: no curve editor at the timeline but only at the clip level. For each version, I tested the ripple cut (CTRL + SHIFT + 'X') and it worked.

First consequence, except to be under MAC or LINUX (that I have not tested): no curve editor at the level of the timeline with the V14b1,2,3,4 and 5.
Second consequence: you can not blame Melda for anything.
Third consequence: I continue to do with Melda whatever you think and Davinci Resolve + VST3 seems to me reliable (at least with serious plugins)

v12_5_6.jpg
v12_5_6.jpg (97.6 KiB) Viewed 654 times


v12_5_6_import_V14B1.jpg
v12_5_6_import_V14B1.jpg (78.83 KiB) Viewed 654 times


v12_5_6_import_V14B2.jpg
v12_5_6_import_V14B2.jpg (89.38 KiB) Viewed 654 times
Last edited by Jean Claude on Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.9.12
(I forgot about W7 Ultimate for over 4 years.) Sorry
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1384
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostMon Jul 17, 2017 5:11 pm

next

v12_5_6_import_V14B3.jpg
v12_5_6_import_V14B3.jpg (77.14 KiB) Viewed 654 times


v12_5_6_import_V14B4.jpg
v12_5_6_import_V14B4.jpg (80.16 KiB) Viewed 654 times


v12_5_6_import_V14B5.jpg
v12_5_6_import_V14B5.jpg (78.12 KiB) Viewed 654 times
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.9.12
(I forgot about W7 Ultimate for over 4 years.) Sorry
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7938
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostMon Jul 17, 2017 7:18 pm

Thanks for all your effort.

I've also found 14 beta5 to be the problem by testing without plugins on a new external boot drive and still having the same problems whereas Resolve 12.5.6 is fine (what a relief).

I'm going to put 12.5.6 back on my iMac system drive, but I'm not going to use the plugin until we know it works in Resolve 14 final release since I do plan to migrate to 14 by the end of August due to client workload.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Daz Wood

  • Posts: 55
  • Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 2:59 pm

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostMon Jul 17, 2017 7:42 pm

I also have no curve editor in DaVinci Resolve.
Thank you

Daz
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7938
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostMon Jul 17, 2017 8:18 pm

I did verify what Jean Claude shows regarding the plugins. They work fine on my external boot drive with Resolve 12.5.6 without corrupting the Audio Track Curves control.

When Resolve 14 final is released, now I have an external boot drive so I can test it out with the plugins before upgrading my main iMac system. That's really what I should have done in the first place.
Lessons learned:
A - test beta versions on an independent system;
B - don't risk client work on a beta version.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostMon Jul 17, 2017 8:25 pm

rick.lang wrote:Lessons learned:
A - test beta versions on an independent system;
B - don't risk client work on a beta version.


As a software developer, I'd recommend you test everything on a separate system if your lively hood depends on it. Additionally if you can swing it, you want the seconds system to be a similar to your main system as possible.
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostTue Apr 10, 2018 9:14 pm

I see that (Peak) Audio Normalization has now been implemented in DR15 and is available in both the Edit and Fairlight pages. When multiple clips are selected it gives the option of normalizing the peak amplitudes independently (like 'Normalize All Peaks To' in Premiere Pro) or 'relatively' (like 'Normalize Max Peak to').

Image

Is this what folks were hoping for?

Personally, having been convinced that 'Loudness Normalization' (LUFS) is the better way to go (using Auphonic pretty much exclusively now - thanks Dan), I'm not sure I will find this that useful now.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostTue Apr 10, 2018 9:38 pm

Bryan Worsley wrote:Personally, having been convinced that 'Loudness Normalization' (LUFS) is the better way to go (using Auphonic pretty much exclusively now - thanks Dan), I'm not sure I will find this that useful now.
Peak Normalisation serves a different purpose to Programme Loudness.
Resolve Studio 15b1 | Merging HAPI + VAD Premium 2.0.33517
[*] MacPro 2x Quad 2.26GHz Xeon | 14GB RAM | OS X.11.6 (15G20015)
NVIDIA Quadro K620 (346.03.15f13/CUDA 8.0.83) | IntensityPro 4K (10.9.11)
[*] MBP Quad 2.3GHz | 16GB RAM | OS X.12.6 (16G1314)
Offline

Paul Draper

  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 12:21 am

Robert James wrote:I would be very careful using Melda products in Resolve. I worked with Melda with Resolve 12.5 trying to sort out some problems and to say they were less than impressed with Resolve's VST handling is an understatement.

IMO Resolve has never handled complex VST's very well, and even though 14 VST system was said to be improved it still has so many problems.

100% agree. One tip to the original poster:
Melda (like UAD and others) installs a bizillion plug-ins & is arguable just how many are central to the work, and in particular, with an NLE. Resolve also does not show plug-in sub-folders or other categorisation like other DAWs & so this is a pain too, with one giant list.

What I do is make a separate dir for VST /NLEs and only locate a very short list of those particular VSTs I want to use in Resolve (even shorter now with the new DR15 audio FX). Then change Resolve prefs, remove other VST dirs and point only to the dedicated VST/NLE dir. eg: Program Files /Steinberg /VSTPlugins NLE

This only really applies to VST2s; in the case of VST3 plugs, they're installed under Common (Win) & Resolve will pick them up as well. So lose or keep those as required. All of which equally applies to de-bugging poor plugins /blacklisting with ProTools & the rest.
Dell T7910, Win10 x64 Pro, 64GB, Dual Xeon E5-2687Wv4, Thunderbolt 2, Samsung SSDs. Nvidia 1080Ti, LG 34UM95 & BenQ SW2700PT, DeckLink Mini Monitor 4k. RME UFX+, UAD-2 PCIe, Presonus FaderPort 16. Resolve Studio, Premier CC, Nuendo, Pro Tools.
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 12:43 am

Reynaud Venter wrote:Peak Normalisation serves a different purpose to Programme Loudness.


I appreciate that - that's why I was asking if the normalization tool that has been implemented is what was envisaged by those who supported this feature request. In terms of the original request, I would say it is:

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=61183#p349531
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3633
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostWed Apr 11, 2018 3:11 am

You will find it in the v15 feature list.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Bryan Worsley

  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:26 am
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Feature Request - Normalise Audio

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 2:20 am

I did mention that:

Bryan Worsley wrote:I see that (Peak) Audio Normalization has now been implemented in DR15 and is available in both the Edit and Fairlight pages
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DsMonkey, roger.magnusson and 16 guests