Exporting .cube LUT file destination

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Torey Lenart

Exporting .cube LUT file destination

PostFri Jul 14, 2017 3:22 am

Hey Everyone!
So I've got a quick question for yall. I'm new to DaVinci 12.5 version and it's a bit different from the 8.0 version I've used in the past. In the past, I've been able to export .cube Lut files to any destination of my choosing whether it be the desktop, or a SSD drive folder or whatever it may have been. In my new version, I've found it will only allow me to save the exported .cube file to the LUT folder DaVinci created in its web of subfolders. Is there a setting, or a menu or something I can do to save these created .cube files to my desktop or a LUT folder I've created? I'm able to direct the destination for my stills with the LUTS applied to the folders I want, but not the .cube file.

I work as a loader on a show and my DP makes the Luts and I just export them and put them on SSD drives for his Odysseys. It would be a lot quicker and easier for me to be able to just save them to my desktop and transfer over instead of going into a search a find each time.

Thanks so much guys!!!!
Torey

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

Re: Exporting .cube LUT file destination

PostFri Jul 14, 2017 7:08 pm

LUT generation has some changes since Resolve 8.

You can now generate LUTs from the Color page by right clicking the clip thumbnail and selecting Generate 3D LUT (and there are a couple of options). This will make a LUT based on any primary grades you've made in the clip. Unlike the old V8 LUT create method, you don't have to apply the grade to the trim_lut0.dpx frame. Just right click and generate the LUT.

If you use this method, you get a Finder interface, and can save the LUT anywhere you want.