Transform w/ keyframes or use tracker?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Palamède de Charlus

Transform w/ keyframes or use tracker?

PostMon Jul 24, 2017 7:23 pm

I hope this question has not been discussed extensively or is silly in the first place. But I'm a complete noob when it comes to video editing (background in music) and am facing the following problem.

I have some UHD gimbal footage with some rather nasty jerks in it. Basically the footage is fine and stable (stabilising is not the issue), but every once in a while the motors apparently made up their own mind and slightly jerk left or right. Now since this will end up as 1080p there's plenty of space to give away to reframe, but the reframing would have to be dynamically so to speak. Is that an actual concept, dynamic reframing?

Now the obvious solution for somebody like me who doesn't know what he's doing would be to use transform position and zoom with lots of keyframes. First bummer (and a quick search shows I'm not the first to notice) is that the bezier curves for the position can not be edited in the timeline. But regardless, getting this right so the result looks natural sounds like a nightmare and lots of tedious work with the tools available in Resolve, but it should be doable.

Then I thought perhaps Resolve's tracker could be used for this purpose, but I have no idea where to start.

Perhaps the whole endeavour is completely absurd, I certainly couldn't really find any real information on what I would call dynamic reframing. But as I mention, I come from an audio background and if the position and size of the frame could be moved in time and controlled by something like what in a DAW would be automation lanes, it really shouldn't be too hard to accomplish.

Any hints or am I approaching this completely wrong?

Uli Plank

Re: Transform w/ keyframes or use tracker?

PostTue Jul 25, 2017 5:25 am