database is upgradable??

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Paul Rothchild

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Location: Battle Creek, MI

database is upgradable??

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:29 am

I just upgraded to the latest Public Beta and am totally lost. I took a screen shot of the screen I received. I don't know how to connect to any of my databases. Have I lost my files forever? Can I go back to the last beta of Resolve? Please help. I'm at a total loss.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (50.3 KiB) Viewed 4835 times
Resolve: 14.0.0b.051
OS/Build: Win10/15063.483
Processor: IntelCore i7-6700 CPU @3.40GHz 3.41GHz
RAM: 32GB
GPU: GeForce GTX 745
System Type: 64-bit OS, x64 processor
Memory: Drobo 5C w/ 2-HGST 8TB Deskstar 7200rpm SATA III 3.5" Internal NAS HDD
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 918
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: database is upgradable??

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 6:06 am

Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 3050
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: database is upgradable??

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 12:37 pm

You haven't lost anything, but your projects are not accessible to the latest beta because they're in an older db format.

You could fix this without uninstalling the beta, by creating new databases in 14 beta and using the OS to move project folders around, but the safest thing for you is to uninstall the beta, re-install your last working version, backup all the databases, then export all current projects from any or all of them to .drp files.

When you install the beta again, you probably won't be asked if you want to upgrade the local database. In any event, you have more than one database. So you want to create new disk-based databases in the beta. When you've done that, you can import the .drp files you just exported from the earlier version.

Retain all your backups, so that if the beta doesn't work out, you can revert to the earlier working version of Resolve.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5587
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: database is upgradable??

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 5:58 pm

You don't need to install an older version to backup the databases.

Just back them up from 14b6 before upgrading.

After they've been backed up, then upgrade them.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Paul Rothchild

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 6:00 pm
  • Location: Battle Creek, MI

Re: database is upgradable??

PostThu Aug 03, 2017 11:33 pm

I was able to upgrade the databases.
Resolve: 14.0.0b.051
OS/Build: Win10/15063.483
Processor: IntelCore i7-6700 CPU @3.40GHz 3.41GHz
RAM: 32GB
GPU: GeForce GTX 745
System Type: 64-bit OS, x64 processor
Memory: Drobo 5C w/ 2-HGST 8TB Deskstar 7200rpm SATA III 3.5" Internal NAS HDD
Offline
User avatar

Bruce.Williams

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:22 pm

Re: database is upgradable??

PostSat Aug 19, 2017 4:33 pm

I'm a new user, and paid for the Studio version (12.5). I worked all day yesterday on a project, then upgraded this morning only to find out that the newer Beta release doesn't see or recognize the 12.5 project files. I looked everywhere on ALL my hard drives, and I can't even find the project files.... what gives?????

Several people have talked about 'backing up' the project files, but I admit defeat.... without finding them, how can I possibly back them up? If there is a backup function somewhere, where is it? How do I access it? How do I restore the project files once I have upgraded to 14?
Bruce Williams Photography

www.facebook.com/BruceWilliamsPhotography
brucewilliams.zenfolio.com

Win 10 64 bit
ASUS MB: X99A with Intel i7 CPU, 3.3 GHz
32 GB RAM, 2 X 1TB + 2 X 500GB SSD
NVIDIA GTX 1080 with 8GB of RAM - 440.97
DaVinci Resolve 16.1.1
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5587
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: database is upgradable??

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 10:23 pm

The 12.5. version you started in, was that from the Apple App Store?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DennisEye, jsantacroce, Michael_Andreas, Mike Warren, MSN [Bot] and 63 guests