Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker Name

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Justin Stephenson

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:54 pm

Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker Name

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 1:37 pm

When making a marker, the cursor starts in the description field rather than the marker name field. When logging clips, this means I have to click on the marker name field first, which adds an unnecessary click.

The implementation of twirldowns, the add marker and continue functionality, and duration markers is excellent and super useful. When logging a ton of footage, the name field is the most important field as it is the field that appears when twirling down on a clip in the media pool. Having to click to select the Marker Name field slows things down a bunch.
Justin Stephenson
Moving Image Designer
http://justinstephenson.com
---------
Resolve Studio 14, W10 Pro, 8C i7@4Ghz, 64GB Ram, GTX1080, Decklink 4K Pro -> FSI AM250, Teranex Mini -> BENQ SW271, Micro Panel, Scopebox.
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 916
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker N

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 10:06 pm

+++1111

Also, the fields in the marker dialogbox should be tabable, i.e. Tab moves you next field and Shift Tab moves you to the previous field.

Actually every dialogbox should have tabable behavior. Another one that doesn't is the New Timeline dialogbox.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Justin Stephenson

  • Posts: 148
  • Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:54 pm

Re: Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker N

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 10:09 pm

Nice, Peter. +1 on the tabable fields.

I am at the end of a loooong day logging footage and I am clicked out!
Justin Stephenson
Moving Image Designer
http://justinstephenson.com
---------
Resolve Studio 14, W10 Pro, 8C i7@4Ghz, 64GB Ram, GTX1080, Decklink 4K Pro -> FSI AM250, Teranex Mini -> BENQ SW271, Micro Panel, Scopebox.
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 916
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker N

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 11:02 pm

I TOTALLY feel your pain!! :(
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Michael Parfit

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:58 am

Re: Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker N

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 3:59 am

I strongly agree. The marker names are useless unless you can edit them easily, quickly. The dramatic improvements in usefulness of the markers is diminished if you can't start by naming the markers then tab to the description field.

Of course it's all moot if they don't fix the marker search process, which is now broken for me at least. I assume they will. The progress in the beta sequence is striking.

6-core MacPro late 2013, D 700s, 32GB memory.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 858
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker N

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 8:01 pm

I just want to bring this thread back up and add my name to the list.

Markers should open with the Name field selected by default, not the Notes.

Additionally, the current marker name should already be 'selected' (highlighted) so we can begin typing the desired name immediately.

Here's the process now.

1. Ctrl+M to add and open the marker.
2. Select Name field
3. Highlight current name.
4. Start typing desired name.

Here's what it should be.

1. CTRL+M to add and open marker.
2. Start typing desired name.

We should not have to touch the mouse, backspace, delete or arrow keys keys to get this done.
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 916
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Markers open with Description Field rather than Marker N

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 1:27 am

PeterMoretti wrote:I TOTALLY feel your pain!! :(

And I still do!!
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 31 guests