Duplicate frames

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am

Duplicate frames

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 5:14 am

hi
I am working on a project that relies on a lot of old family movies. 8mm probably going back to the 1930s. It has been given to me as .vob's from a DVD. the original film is no longer accessible. The guys that did the transfer to DVD probably told them they would never need it again because now it's 720x576 didgital you will never get better . . . . yeah right!
so...
The transfer has pull down that I cant fathom and neither can any pull down removing software that I have tried. I have previously used a script from aescripts called (inventively enough) duplicateframeremover.jsx or something like that. It used AE time remapping to get rid of any duplicated frames that I used back in CS6 or earlier on old film from 1914 that was likely 16 or 18 FPS but I cant get that to run anymore....W10?

Any advice?
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Offline

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1084
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Duplicate frames

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 8:25 am

Hi,

Is it possible to have an extract of a few seconds to test?
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.1.1.005 | Fusion Studio 9.0.1
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am

Re: Duplicate frames

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 9:13 am

Thanks for the response....how?
Dropbox? Maybe even email, it's only SD.
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Offline

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1084
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Duplicate frames

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 9:17 am

Hi,

Yes dropbox: very good. You can post me the link in PM if you wish.
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.1.1.005 | Fusion Studio 9.0.1
Offline
User avatar

Roen Davis

  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 2:06 am

Re: Duplicate frames

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 9:22 am

Ok, but the producer wont let me send the whole .vob. It's family movies and it's big and I can't easily re-encode to .vob so, H.264? Or what? I can send 5-10 seconds.

Cheers
to the deaf person the dancer appears mad
Offline

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1084
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Duplicate frames

PostSat Aug 12, 2017 9:24 am

Yes 10 seconds: that's fine. Ideally an extract from the .vob if possible.

Otherwise an H264 but it will be less effective.
Windows 10 PRO X64 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.1.1.005 | Fusion Studio 9.0.1

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Niels Vestergaard, Romualdas Budriunas and 21 guests