Cinematic plugins...

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Justin Jackson

Cinematic plugins...

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 6:59 pm

Hi all,

In a previous post I am looking to do some slow down and tracking work. I am also looking at turning my DNxHR footage into more filmic/cinematic like film. I am using a 4K Sony AX53, HDMI output in to an Atomos Ninja Inferno, DNxHR SQ (but would use HQ or HQX if it made sense to.. just the output from AX53 is 8bit 4:2:2 so wasnt sure if it was worth the larger space usage for HQ/HQX).

I have seen the FilmConvert plugin, and wondering if its pretty good at doing filmic like grades.. as I am not a grading artist by any means. I can certainly play around with knobs, and seen some tutorials on getting that film quality.. but I would much prefer the easy route if it works well enough.

As well, interested in Twxitor.. is it worth the $350 price tag to get buttery smooth slow motion and fast motion? Or is the retime capabilities of Resolve good enough for most cases? I do try to record at 24p to get closer to the cinematic look, though shooting sports videos is not ideal at 24p.

Thank you.
Custom DIY AMD1950x 16-core/32-thread, liquid cooled, 64GB 3600Mhz RAM, 950Pro-512GB NVMe os/apps, 2x500GB 850 Evo RAID 0 SATA3, Zotac 1070 8GB video, USB 3.1Gen2 RAID0 2x4TB, 2x2TB Crucial MX500 SSD SATA3.

Daniel Bănică

Re: Cinematic plugins...

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 8:43 pm

There's nothing like cinematic look by automatic plugin. Practise and you'll find out what suits you the best. For the beginning do some primary corrections to your footage and then apply the build film look 3D Lut within DR. Make the final adjustments and you'll see good results. After that go step forward and make your own grading and see what better results you may achieve.

Uli Plank

PostTue Aug 22, 2017 12:39 am