Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mike Mas

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:50 pm

Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 1:37 am

Hey guys- I searched but can't find an answer but how doe you increase the length of a still. Would seem logical to either type it in or drag the clip out but neither work.

Thanks
www.rotory.com
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 10693
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 4:18 pm

Would a right click and selecting Clip Attributes get you what you want? I know I used a lot of stills in a project I did while testing Resolve 14 beta5, but I am back on Resolve 12.5.6 so can't inspect what I did. I do think I just dragged them by placing the cursor inside the box at the right so the control with the single arrow appeared to extend the clip to the right.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Mike Mas

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:50 pm

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 6:20 pm

Regretfully, I don't see an option and you cannot drag the clip to expand it either. Here's an image of the RC.

Thanks Mike
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 2.20.57 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 2.20.57 PM.png (280.79 KiB) Viewed 6759 times
Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 2.17.52 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 2.17.52 PM.png (412.47 KiB) Viewed 6759 times
www.rotory.com
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1207
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 7:18 pm

On Resolve 14 I can drop an image (png) into the timeline, and then click the edge to drag it to the desired length.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

Adam Brown

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:29 pm

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 11:13 pm

In 14 you can drag the still along the timeline.

But is there anyway to key in the time of the clip with keys? I would much rather key in a time than have to physically drag a clip, especially if working with a laptop trackpad.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5682
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostTue Aug 29, 2017 12:21 am

You could type in the timecode of the frame on which you want the still to stop, then click on the right edge of the still and drag and snap the edge to the playhead. That works for me.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Bryan Mullins

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:36 am

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostTue Aug 29, 2017 1:04 am

There's also the default duration in project settings that you can set....
Offline

Mike Mas

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2017 8:50 pm

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostTue Aug 29, 2017 1:32 am

Thanks for the reply's - Would be quick - expessially on images or effects and just type in the duration.

Regards
www.rotory.com
Offline

smokemonk

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:33 pm
  • Real Name: Anthony Wood

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostTue Jun 25, 2019 6:37 pm

Be sure to import your still images INDIVIDUALLY. If you import as a group, Resolve sees them as a footage clip like AE. Once you import them, one at a time, you can drag or set the clip length in the attributes box.
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 2451
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostTue Jun 25, 2019 7:55 pm

Mike Mas wrote:you cannot drag the clip to expand it


You normally can, so maybe try and discover why you can't and solve that.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Uli Plank and 41 guests