Page 1 of 1

Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:37 am
by Mike Mas
Hey guys- I searched but can't find an answer but how doe you increase the length of a still. Would seem logical to either type it in or drag the clip out but neither work.

Thanks

Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 4:18 pm
by rick.lang
Would a right click and selecting Clip Attributes get you what you want? I know I used a lot of stills in a project I did while testing Resolve 14 beta5, but I am back on Resolve 12.5.6 so can't inspect what I did. I do think I just dragged them by placing the cursor inside the box at the right so the control with the single arrow appeared to extend the clip to the right.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 6:20 pm
by Mike Mas
Regretfully, I don't see an option and you cannot drag the clip to expand it either. Here's an image of the RC.

Thanks Mike

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:18 pm
by Jack Fairley
On Resolve 14 I can drop an image (png) into the timeline, and then click the edge to drag it to the desired length.

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:13 pm
by Adam Brown
In 14 you can drag the still along the timeline.

But is there anyway to key in the time of the clip with keys? I would much rather key in a time than have to physically drag a clip, especially if working with a laptop trackpad.

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:21 am
by Marc Wielage
You could type in the timecode of the frame on which you want the still to stop, then click on the right edge of the still and drag and snap the edge to the playhead. That works for me.

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:04 am
by Bryan Mullins
There's also the default duration in project settings that you can set....

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:32 am
by Mike Mas
Thanks for the reply's - Would be quick - expessially on images or effects and just type in the duration.

Regards

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 6:37 pm
by smokemonk
Be sure to import your still images INDIVIDUALLY. If you import as a group, Resolve sees them as a footage clip like AE. Once you import them, one at a time, you can drag or set the clip length in the attributes box.

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Tue Jun 25, 2019 7:55 pm
by Jim Simon
Mike Mas wrote:you cannot drag the clip to expand it


You normally can, so maybe try and discover why you can't and solve that.

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:21 am
by Mark Tavares
smokemonk wrote:Be sure to import your still images INDIVIDUALLY. If you import as a group, Resolve sees them as a footage clip like AE. Once you import them, one at a time, you can drag or set the clip length in the attributes box.



Cheers!! - Quick google search and this actually worked for me - toodle pip!

Re: Increasing the length of a still on the timeline

PostPosted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 4:56 am
by Ashley Thomas
I ran into an issue where I was dragging-dropping ~300 jpegs into the project. Then I'd create a timeline with all 300 jpegs. Most clips on new timeline were the expected 5 seconds, but some were only a single frame and could not be resized at all.

I exported the project to xml to have a peek, sure enough the images having issues were being treated differently.

I found this thread first... but I didn't want to drag-and-drop ~300 photos individually. :o ... :) I then ran across the following thread which had the answer...

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=31809

...Resolve can treat sequentially numbered image files as clips... to avoid that, instead of importing them directly to the project bin, you can import them to the project via the Media Page after selecting the "Show Individual Frames" option in the Media Page (see manual page 300).

(Note, I never have used the media page to date, I typically just drag/drop or menu option import directly to the project. So I'm not aware of some of these nuances.)

After choosing "..." and "Show Individual Frames" in Media Page, I select all photos and drag them to the desired project bin. That apparently imports them the way I'd expect. This differs from other apps I've used that don't have implicit interpretation of sequentially numbered files.

After that way of importing, if I create a timeline with all 300 imported jpegs, each one is 5 seconds, and all can be resized as expected. I was simply unaware of this Resolve nuance so was importing them incorrectly... but it was non-obvious to me until encountering the above mentioned thread.

Just wanted to pass this on in case anyone ran across this thread as I had.

Thanks,
Ashley