Non-Resolve Still Import

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Non-Resolve Still Import

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 4:25 am

If I import stills that were not taken in resolve, resolve will get stuck on whichever still i play first, only switching if i select a resolve still. A work around is to bring stills in as media and capture resolve stills and then delete the media. Is this a known issue?

Mac Resolve Studio, Beta 1-9 has had this issue.
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 382
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 8:33 am

not sure, I can't understand what you're on about. Please provide a more complete explanation including system specs
MBP2016, MacOS 10.13.4, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Lite 15.0.0B.030
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostSat Sep 02, 2017 4:43 pm

What I am on about:

Imagine a client comes to a session and provides 50 references stills from various movies and TV shows. Some are google images, some are screen grabs, etc. This is standard procedure for many of my clients.

Wouldn't be great if I could pull these into Resolve and play them as reference stills from the Still Gallery side-by-side with the client's footage? Well, turns out this has always been a feature that I have used for years! As I have tried out each beta on 3 systems, I have noticed that it has remained unaddressed. Perhaps most people don't use stills or use the still gallery as a place for references.

Here are the steps to duplicate the problem:

Step 1: Download some stills from anywhere online. I use film-grab.com. These are grabs from films.
Step 2: Import more than one still (jpg, png, any supported format) into the stills gallery page of Resolve.
Step 3: Play Still on any of the imported stills, works.
Step 4: Attempt to play a different imported still, fail. You will only be able to play the first still that played. Restarting Resolve will clear this issue until you play another still and it will get stuck on the first still played again. This only applies to stills that were not created with resolve. I don't know why, format, naming doesn't seem to change this behavior.

What does work:

Step 1: Import stills to the Still Gallery that were exported from Resolve (grabbed from footage in resolve, exported from gallery, imported to same or different project's still gallery)
Step 2: Play Still on any imported still, works
Step 3: Play another still, works.

I appreciate the request for system specs. I did not include them as I use 3 different mac stations in our offices and when I've done res14 tests on them, all present this issue. It applies to a 2014 iMac, a new Mac Pro (8core, D700), and a tower MacPro (12core, gtx1080). All run sierra.
Offline

Danny Duchesneau

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:22 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostSun Sep 03, 2017 10:43 pm

Experiencing the same problem.
Danny Duchesneau
Coloriste / Étalonneur
www.dannyduchesneau.com
prod@dannyduchesneau.com
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 731
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 1:02 am

Just tested this issue for you.

Every image I tried worked perfectly EXCEPT the ones I downloaded from the film-grab.com website.
I converted the film-grab.com images to PNG and JPG using both Mac OSX Preview and Photoshop.
These converted files also had the issue you are describing.
I then took new Mac OSX screen grabs of the images and they worked perfectly.

I suspect there is something odd about those particular images as I could not replicate the issue with any other image file that I tried, and I tried every format that Resolve supports!
Resolve 14.2
Mac OSX 10.13.2
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline

Tom Early

  • Posts: 382
  • Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 11:01 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 10:16 am

Peter Cave wrote:Just tested this issue for you.

Every image I tried worked perfectly EXCEPT the ones I downloaded from the film-grab.com website.
I converted the film-grab.com images to PNG and JPG using both Mac OSX Preview and Photoshop.
These converted files also had the issue you are describing.
I then took new Mac OSX screen grabs of the images and they worked perfectly.

I suspect there is something odd about those particular images as I could not replicate the issue with any other image file that I tried, and I tried every format that Resolve supports!


Well I was able to replicate it with desktop screengrabs on my laptop, never been to that website.
MBP2016, MacOS 10.13.4, 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3,
Radeon Pro 460 4096 MB, Resolve Lite 15.0.0B.030
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 11:18 pm

Peter Cave wrote:Every image I tried worked perfectly EXCEPT the ones I downloaded from the film-grab.com website.
I converted the film-grab.com images to PNG and JPG using both Mac OSX Preview and Photoshop.
These converted files also had the issue you are describing.
I then took new Mac OSX screen grabs of the images and they worked perfectly.

I suspect there is something odd about those particular images as I could not replicate the issue with any other image file that I tried, and I tried every format that Resolve supports!


Well i've been using that site for a few years now and those stills function fine in Resolve 12.5. There probably is something throwing Res14 about those. I will try to replicate with other stills again when i have a chance. In my experience its been screengrabs, film-grab, and some google images that have had this issue. I too tried converting through batches in PS to "fix" the files, but it seems to persist even through a conversion.

My current work-around is to import the stills as footage and grab stills in resolve, then delete the stills from the media pool. Its not elegant and takes extra time, but this might be my new workflow if Res14 launches with that caveat.
Offline

Danny Duchesneau

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:22 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Quebec

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 11:47 pm

Problem occurs with Stills made from timeline in 14b6.
Danny Duchesneau
Coloriste / Étalonneur
www.dannyduchesneau.com
prod@dannyduchesneau.com
Offline

Paul Willis

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostWed Sep 06, 2017 3:50 pm

Same for me, had this issue for a long time. I posted here but it seemed no one else had the same issue/understood what I was talking about :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=63315&p=358228&hilit=sticky#p358228
MacOS 10.13.3
i7 8700K 3.7Ghz
32GB RAM
GTX 1080ti 11GB
Resolve Studio 14.3
Offline

Paul Willis

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 4:47 pm

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostThu Sep 07, 2017 9:49 am

Running the full Resolve 14 release now (woo!)... this issue still persists though.
MacOS 10.13.3
i7 8700K 3.7Ghz
32GB RAM
GTX 1080ti 11GB
Resolve Studio 14.3
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostFri Sep 15, 2017 5:26 pm

I am still experiencing this issue on the full release of Resolve and in addition I now have stills that go black in playback and thumbnails after every auto save. I made a separate thread for that.

So far no acknowledgement from BM on either issue.
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostThu Oct 19, 2017 5:23 pm

This issue persists in Res 14.0.1. Some stills taken from windows screengrabs, Mac screen grabs, certain google images, "lock" in the playback so that you cannot switch to playback on another similar still. Switching to a gallery of stills taken in resolve will jog it back into working temporarily.
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostThu Oct 19, 2017 8:07 pm

Just tired batching some stills through Photoshop to see if they exhibit the same issue and they do. First still played from gallery will lock and no other still will be playable. This is a very frustrating problem when clients give me references they want to see compared in the suite.
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Shtern

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am
  • Location: Ukraine, Kyiv

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostTue Nov 07, 2017 11:23 am

14.0.1 Studio version – same problem. None of the external stills are working except the first one played. Annoying as hell :evil:
MacPro 5,1 (custom 12 cores 2x3.06 Xeon 5675), 56Gb RAM
GeForce GTX 980Ti / 6Gb.
macOS Sierra 10.12.6, NVidia drivers 378.05.05.25f04, CUDA 9.0.197.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Shtern

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am
  • Location: Ukraine, Kyiv

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostMon Nov 20, 2017 12:58 pm

14.1 – situation is the same :evil:
MacPro 5,1 (custom 12 cores 2x3.06 Xeon 5675), 56Gb RAM
GeForce GTX 980Ti / 6Gb.
macOS Sierra 10.12.6, NVidia drivers 378.05.05.25f04, CUDA 9.0.197.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostWed Dec 20, 2017 1:51 am

In Resolve Studio 14.2, this issue persists. Ignored by developers :(
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostWed Dec 20, 2017 6:44 am

I can play/wipe imported still .jpg files all day long, including ones from film-grab.com. No issue here.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 891
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostWed Dec 20, 2017 9:54 am

I admit I hardly import stills without throwing them in the photoshop machine prior to Resolve, thus I cannot help.
But if you have PS, open > file > export for the web > png 24 would solve any problem + deal ok with potential alpha channel + make a lossless file...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap, Resolve 14 Studio
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostTue Jan 09, 2018 9:35 pm

PeterMoretti wrote:I can play/wipe imported still .jpg files all day long, including ones from film-grab.com. No issue here.


Thats because the windows version doesn't have this bug.
Offline

Ryan McNeal

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostTue Jan 09, 2018 9:37 pm

Sam Steti wrote:I admit I hardly import stills without throwing them in the photoshop machine prior to Resolve, thus I cannot help.
But if you have PS, open > file > export for the web > png 24 would solve any problem + deal ok with potential alpha channel + make a lossless file...


Most of my sessions are supervised, othewise I would do this too. Maybe if I get an assistant that could be part of our workflow, for now the workaround remains to import as footage, grab new stills, delete stills footage, and play the freshly grabbed Resolve-blessed stills.
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Shtern

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am
  • Location: Ukraine, Kyiv

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostFri Jan 19, 2018 4:15 pm

For f*ck sake, fix this!!! Looked like idiot today, when got a bunch of refs from DOP and couldn't play them. That's f*cking ridiculous that no one gives a rat's ass about fixing an obvious bug. :evil: :evil: :evil:
MacPro 5,1 (custom 12 cores 2x3.06 Xeon 5675), 56Gb RAM
GeForce GTX 980Ti / 6Gb.
macOS Sierra 10.12.6, NVidia drivers 378.05.05.25f04, CUDA 9.0.197.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5767
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostFri Jan 19, 2018 11:36 pm

Andrew Shtern wrote:For f*ck sake, fix this!!! Looked like idiot today, when got a bunch of refs from DOP and couldn't play them. That's f*cking ridiculous that no one gives a rat's ass about fixing an obvious bug. :evil: :evil: :evil:



chill, really.

yes is a bug, but insulting the community will not score points.
If you know that you will going to look like an idiot (because the bug is there) make a macro in XNview/Photoshop/Whatever that look at a folder and covert automatically anything you throw there in a jpeg and import that.
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 891
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostSat Jan 20, 2018 10:27 am

Wow wow wow :evil:
Cool down Andrew... I gave you a solution earlier in the thread, and as Walter told you, you may make an automatic quick step by making a script or a droplet : throw any pic, still on it before ingesting.
It will also get rid of interlacement or any non desired profile and result in a lossless alpha ready picture.
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap, Resolve 14 Studio
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Shtern

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am
  • Location: Ukraine, Kyiv

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 8:29 am

Sam Steti wrote:Wow wow wow :evil:
Cool down Andrew... I gave you a solution earlier in the thread, and as Walter told you, you may make an automatic quick step by making a script or a droplet : throw any pic, still on it before ingesting.
It will also get rid of interlacement or any non desired profile and result in a lossless alpha ready picture.


No, I won't cool down. I don't have to (and don't want to) buy an Adobe Photoshop only to work around BM's sh*t. Also, I've tried to open and re-save jpegs from my last session on our designer's pc, in several different ways, and it won't help, the stills don't work.
Resolve is not some freeware app from sourceforge, it's a professional (sic) application, sold for money. The fact that not a single response was made in this thread by someone from BM's staff is speaking for itself – they either do not want to acknowledge this bug, or do not know how to fix it, or simply don't give a sh*t.
This function was working before, now it's not. They should be looking for solution, not me.
Meanwhile the bug still present in 14.2.1 :evil: :evil: :evil:
MacPro 5,1 (custom 12 cores 2x3.06 Xeon 5675), 56Gb RAM
GeForce GTX 980Ti / 6Gb.
macOS Sierra 10.12.6, NVidia drivers 378.05.05.25f04, CUDA 9.0.197.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5767
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 2:49 pm

Xnview is free....
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 891
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 6:10 pm

Tons of utilities capable of batch exporting png24 files, interlaced or not, alpha channel or not, srgb conversion etc etc...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap, Resolve 14 Studio
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 731
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostWed Jan 31, 2018 3:19 am

Andrew Shtern wrote:
Sam Steti wrote:Wow wow wow :evil:
Cool down Andrew... I gave you a solution earlier in the thread, and as Walter told you, you may make an automatic quick step by making a script or a droplet : throw any pic, still on it before ingesting.
It will also get rid of interlacement or any non desired profile and result in a lossless alpha ready picture.


No, I won't cool down. I don't have to (and don't want to) buy an Adobe Photoshop only to work around BM's sh*t. Also, I've tried to open and re-save jpegs from my last session on our designer's pc, in several different ways, and it won't help, the stills don't work.
Resolve is not some freeware app from sourceforge, it's a professional (sic) application, sold for money. The fact that not a single response was made in this thread by someone from BM's staff is speaking for itself – they either do not want to acknowledge this bug, or do not know how to fix it, or simply don't give a sh*t.
This function was working before, now it's not. They should be looking for solution, not me.
Meanwhile the bug still present in 14.2.1 :evil: :evil: :evil:


Well, yes, it is your choice to not cool down just as it is our choice to ignore you if you don't provide enough info for us to help. Maybe put your system spec in your signature?
Perhaps read this post first? viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54509
You should put in a bug report with BM with full system specs, as not everyone is experiencing this issue.
Resolve 14.2
Mac OSX 10.13.2
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Shtern

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am
  • Location: Ukraine, Kyiv

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostThu Feb 01, 2018 1:47 pm

Peter Cave wrote:Well, yes, it is your choice to not cool down just as it is our choice to ignore you if you don't provide enough info for us to help. Maybe put your system spec in your signature?
Perhaps read this post first? viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54509
You should put in a bug report with BM with full system specs, as not everyone is experiencing this issue.

I've had a previous experience of dealing with BM support. Wasted a lot of time doing different tests and wiggling the settings, only to get zero response at the end. Apparently they're ignoring problems they can't fix.
MacPro 5,1 (custom 12 cores 2x3.06 Xeon 5675), 56Gb RAM
GeForce GTX 980Ti / 6Gb.
macOS Sierra 10.12.6, NVidia drivers 378.05.05.25f04, CUDA 9.0.197.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014
Offline
User avatar

Andrew Shtern

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am
  • Location: Ukraine, Kyiv

Re: Non-Resolve Still Import

PostWed Feb 07, 2018 11:22 am

Resolve 14.3 – situation still the same :lol: :lol: :lol:
MacPro 5,1 (custom 12 cores 2x3.06 Xeon 5675), 56Gb RAM
GeForce GTX 980Ti / 6Gb.
macOS Sierra 10.12.6, NVidia drivers 378.05.05.25f04, CUDA 9.0.197.
DaVinci Resolve Studio 14.3.0.014

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David J McCormick, Milan Michalik and 44 guests