Will this imac run Resolve?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ronan Buckley

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:54 pm

Will this imac run Resolve?

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 2:20 pm

Hi Everyone,

1st time trying to run Resolve on OSX. I'm looking for a real simple workflow to convert DNxHD files made on a windows machine to ProRes files on the mac. All files are 1080 25PsF, 25p or 50i, in theory I don't even need to play the files back on the system.

iMac 21.5 Mid2010
10.12.4
3.06 GHz Intel Core i3
4 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
ATI Radeon HD 4670 256 MB

The master DNxHD files are created on a windows Avid system but I need to create ProRes deliveries for some broadcasters. All I'd be doing on Resolve is importing the DNxHD files and adding various audio stems for certain broadcasters.

I've tried Roeslove 11Lite, 12, 12.5 and 12.5 from the app store. At the moment it doesn't seem to decode any clip, DNxHD, ProRes or H.264 :/

Any help greatly appreciated :)
Attachments
Screenshot 2017-09-01 15.14.09.png
Screenshot 2017-09-01 15.14.09.png (650.47 KiB) Viewed 604 times
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5649
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Will this imac run Resolve?

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 8:46 pm

You Mac is below Resolve even lowest needs.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4868
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Will this imac run Resolve?

PostSat Sep 02, 2017 12:47 am

But it should work with ffmpeg.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Ronan Buckley

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:54 pm

Re: Will this imac run Resolve?

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 10:20 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:You Mac is below Resolve even lowest needs.


Thanks! At least I know now, it will save me time with more testing :)
Offline

Ronan Buckley

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:54 pm

Re: Will this imac run Resolve?

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 10:22 am

Uli Plank wrote:But it should work with ffmpeg.


Thanks, experimenting with FFmpeg & GUI's now...

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: John Meyer, musodata, Nick Papps, sdeals and 71 guests