Disable Ripple Delete?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

MrPinkNinja

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2017 2:00 pm

Disable Ripple Delete?

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 3:57 pm

Hey guys,

First off sorry if there is already a post about this topic. I'm not quite sure the best way to word what I am looking for that wouldn't be super long. When I am editing a project I delete clips from the timeline occasionally (shocking I know). When I delete the clips, it moves all clips that follow that one up more. That would be fine if I could choose when it does it, but it does it all the time, and when it does that it pulls clips from all levels forward which overwrite other clips that I have on the timeline. Any way that I can keep it from doing this? Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

LouisSomers

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:10 pm

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostTue Oct 17, 2017 10:49 pm

It can be prevented by using the backspace key instead of the delete key, but I also always forget and often notice the error too late... It is a lot of work to fix all that follows again. This kind of forces me to make more shorter timelines, and makes it difficult to do some fancy transitions.

I'd love to have an extra editing mode that disables any ripple edit altogether.
Offline

NickPrice

  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:03 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Oct 18, 2017 9:28 am

As well as using the backspace instead of the delete, there are a couple of other things you have to keep in mind. If you don't have 'Linked Selection' on it can move things on different tracks, and keep some things in place. Also if you the 'tracks selectors' unchecked it wont affect those tracks so things can also go out of sync that way. It seems very complicated but once you get used to it, it becomes quite simple. Avid has worked this way for ever.

I use it all the time with in/out points to remove gaps, chop things out, and generally organise my timelines.

cheers
Nick
Offline

Marcus Goller

  • Posts: 45
  • Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 9:41 pm

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Oct 18, 2017 8:17 pm

You might want to try the "position lock" feature, which keeps the clips in its place, but still allows trimming or deletion of clips
--
OS: Windows 10
CPU: i7-4771
RAM: 16GB
GPU: Nvidia GTX 960
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 7:54 pm

I have found this to be very annoying coming from Premiere.
I think I have found a way to disable it using AutoHotKey (https://autohotkey.com/) on Windows.

I created a little script :

Code: Select all
MsgBox Delete key is disabled in Resolve
Del::
if WinActive("ahk_exe Resolve.exe")
    MsgBox Resolve running!
Else
   Send, {Del}
return


What this does is:
1) Pop up a message box to tell me the script is running, "Delete key is disabled in Resolve"
2) When ever the delete key is pressed it checks to see if a resolve window is active. If so it puts up a messagebox to tell me I'm in Resolve, "Resolve running!" and then DOES NOT send the delete command to resolve.
3) If I'm not in a Resolve window (but it can be running) send the delete key to the window i.e. behave as normally.

The script can be placed in your Startup folder to run on boot. The first message box is to tell me that the script has started ok and is looking out for the delete key.

(The message boxes could be removed - but I like the reminders)

As always - use at your own risk
I hope this helps
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 8:24 pm

Nick, while I'm down with using Backspace, that's VERY COOL. Thanks for sharing!

BTW, I realize the intention of this thread is to get away from Ripple Delete, but if anyone wants to use stay Backspace centric, Shift Backspace is another Ripple Delete command.
Resolve 14.1.1 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 388.31 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.7. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 637
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 4:56 am

You can also remap the keyboard to suit your working method.
Resolve 14
Mac OSX 10.11.6
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 2:57 pm

Peter Cave wrote:You can also remap the keyboard to suit your working method.



But not the Delete key :cry:
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 2:58 pm

PeterMoretti wrote:Nick, while I'm down with using Backspace, that's VERY COOL. Thanks for sharing!

BTW, I realize the intention of this thread is to get away from Ripple Delete, but if anyone wants to use stay Backspace centric, Shift Backspace is another Ripple Delete command.



Thank you Peter ;)
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 999
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 3:22 pm

The AHK script above could, with small changes, remap "del" to "backspace", so there wouldn't be any wasted keystrokes or relearning. Or it could remap only one keyboard "del" key to backspace, so that the ripple delete function remained with the other "del" key on, say, the numeric pad.

Seems to me current design is actually an asset -- it offers either a ripple or "lift" delete without changing between trim and standard mode. But each to his own...
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5494
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 4:10 pm

I will recommend to learn the new keystrokes, if you really are switching software, you will progressively get the new muscle memory.
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 637
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 2:44 am

Nick Ruddle wrote:
Peter Cave wrote:You can also remap the keyboard to suit your working method.



But not the Delete key :cry:


Interesting.... I can map the delete key, no problem.
Resolve 14
Mac OSX 10.11.6
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline

John Paines

  • Posts: 999
  • Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 4:04 pm

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 3:12 am

Peter Cave wrote:Interesting.... I can map the delete key, no problem.


Keyboard behavior in Resolve seems to be different on Windows. Cursor key (next/previous clip) focus is a constant problem -- it often remains in the wrong panel, even while other shortcuts work correctly in the current panel -- and some keys, like DEL, apparently can't be remapped inside Resolve. This sort of thing doesn't appear to happen on Mac. It goes back to at least v12.
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 11:36 am

Peter Cave wrote:
Nick Ruddle wrote:
Peter Cave wrote:You can also remap the keyboard to suit your working method.



But not the Delete key :cry:


Interesting.... I can map the delete key, no problem.


Maybe just a windows thing then?
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 11:38 am

waltervolpatto wrote:I will recommend to learn the new keystrokes, if you really are switching software, you will progressively get the new muscle memory.


Some client work has to be done in Premiere - so I use both.
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 11:38 am

John Paines wrote:The AHK script above could, with small changes, remap "del" to "backspace", so there wouldn't be any wasted keystrokes or relearning. Or it could remap only one keyboard "del" key to backspace, so that the ripple delete function remained with the other "del" key on, say, the numeric pad.

Seems to me current design is actually an asset -- it offers either a ripple or "lift" delete without changing between trim and standard mode. But each to his own...

:)
Offline

Nick Ruddle

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 10:28 am

Re: Disable Ripple Delete?

PostThu Dec 07, 2017 11:40 am

John Paines wrote:
Peter Cave wrote:Interesting.... I can map the delete key, no problem.


Keyboard behavior in Resolve seems to be different on Windows. Cursor key (next/previous clip) focus is a constant problem -- it often remains in the wrong panel, even while other shortcuts work correctly in the current panel -- and some keys, like DEL, apparently can't be remapped inside Resolve. This sort of thing doesn't appear to happen on Mac. It goes back to at least v12.


:D

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Hector Corcin and 25 guests