Why are Resolve system specs so high?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Adam Brown

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:29 pm

Why are Resolve system specs so high?

PostSun Sep 03, 2017 7:17 pm

People talk about the high system specs needed for Resolve, however do you think this is exaggerated? Personally I think Resolve is one of the quickest video editors I have used, especially when it comes to rendering. In my experience Resolve runs so much quicker than Adobe Premiere. As an experiment I have just tested resolve on a 10 year old gaming system, and it runs pretty well. I was even able to edit 4k video. This is the system I tested it on:

Intel Xeon X5470 quad core overclocked to 4GHZ
16gb DDR2 RAM
1TB SSD
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 770 (4GB memory)

Editing was okay in windows, but the performance in Linux is really impressive.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1169
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Why are Resolve system specs so high?

PostSun Sep 03, 2017 9:26 pm

Adam Brown wrote:People talk about the high system specs needed for Resolve, however do you think this is exaggerated?

It depends what projects you do. If you're trying to use 2160p60 H.264 footage from consumer gear, you'll end up having performance issues on lower end systems.
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

Adam Brown

  • Posts: 39
  • Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:29 pm

Re: Why are Resolve system specs so high?

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 9:28 am

Yes but my point is it actually works on a very low spec system, and works quite well. I never thought in a million years it would be usable on a 10 year old system.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4608
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Why are Resolve system specs so high?

PostMon Sep 04, 2017 9:34 am

Well, that was a pretty beefy system for the time!

Actually, I'd expect version 14 to run on that, very well for HD and then some 4K. But as soon as you try more complex grading in 4K, you might hit the wall. Version 14 is not 10 times faster all over, but it seems to be much more forgiving on lesser hardware. And then there are questions like decoding needs (GOP vs Intra-frame) and data throughput for high-bandwidth formats.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], JayFluxs, wildbill and 39 guests