Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Andrew Yorkovich

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:48 pm

Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 7:58 pm

Alright, so pretty big problem here. I'm using Resolve 14, though the same thing happens in 12.5 too. I'm trying to render a video for YouTube on the 1080p setting. But if I'm trying to render anything of any useful length, basically more than a few minutes, I get an error message that reads "Timeout when waiting for frame ###### for recording, frame dropped." (where ###### is whatever the frame number happens to be). Once I close the dialog box, Resolve all but freezes, and the only thing I can do is stop the rendering (not that it had continued beyond frame ###### anyway) and close the program. Anyone know how to fix this?

Rig:
MSI GTX1080 Gaming 8G
Intel Core i7 5820K
Windows 10-64 bit
MSI X99A Gaming 7 mobo
Offline

Mark Sterne

  • Posts: 260
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:15 pm

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:37 pm

Last time I had this issue it turned out to be a failing drive (the one I was trying to render to).

Can you try writing to a different drive and see if that works?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3437
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:46 pm

Are you rendering to a fixed internal drive or raid file system?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Paul Steinberg

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:26 pm
  • Location: Toronto |+|Canada

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 2:58 pm

I'm having similar behavior here.

I was just working on a job with about 17hrs of real-time footage. I typically render dallies overnight directly to one of those small bus-powered USB3.0 drives that the client picks up.

The render speeds on my system have jumped quite a bit with v14 and I'm seeing render speeds around 240fps for DNxHD QT's. I did notice that Resolve will blaze through the clip and then have to wait for the clip to write to the USB drive before starting the next clip.

The render crashed when I was rendering overnight to the USB drive so I restarted the render to an internal RAID-0 on the system but it crashed/timed out once as well. Of the 34hrs of dallies/screening copies I rendered, it timed out twice.

My system
Dual Xeon SuperMicro
Dual TitanX Black GPU's
8-drive RAID (external) around 600MB/s write 750MB/s read
4-drive RAID (internal) around 600MB/s read/write
Atto 664 RAID controller
USB3.0 passport drive 60~100MB/s write
Paul Steinberg csc
Toronto |+|Canada
Offline

Paul Steinberg

  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:26 pm
  • Location: Toronto |+|Canada

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Oct 12, 2017 3:43 pm

Just giving this thread a bump. I've upgraded to 14.0.1 but still having renders stopped with this error. Resolve then completely hangs up and I have to use Win10 taskmanager to force-quit.
Paul Steinberg csc
Toronto |+|Canada
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3437
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Oct 12, 2017 8:53 pm

Can you provide logs?

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54509
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 1803
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Oct 12, 2017 9:31 pm

I ran into a similar problem, and it turned out to be due to the drive that had my source footage on it. I wasn't able to write to that drive at all, so I was rendering to a different drive, and it worked quite nicely for several days; now I'm experiencing media going inexplicably offline while color grading. And it was just simple grading, just to export some stills from my Helium footage... while I was working on a clip, it was fine, but when I moved to the next one, it went offline and I had to re-add it to the timeline after restarting Resolve.

I don't know yet whether or not the two are related, but there was a Windows update release in between the two :-/
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Nov 30, 2017 6:34 pm

I'm still running into this issue on 14.1.1.005. There seems to be no rhyme or reason as to why it happens--it's independent of any format and it's happening an SMB3 share to a ZFS server. Plenty of other footage with identical tech specs renders just fine, but this bug just occasionally pops up. I've sent logs to the support team.
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 1094
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Nov 30, 2017 7:44 pm

look at taskmangler, see if one of the disks is running at 100%

when i get this error it's always about disk access and Resolve flooding either the source disk, or target disk...

for exports i only use SSD's for transfer disks, due to the relibalaity due to faster i/o speeds

for imports i try to transfer the media from the cleint drive (usualy a usb connection / 5400rpm disk) to a NAS before working

both of those workflows have the occurance of this error down to near zero now
Offline

Seth Goldin

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Wed Nov 04, 2015 7:43 pm

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Nov 30, 2017 7:53 pm

I believe it might be related to how I export the `.recycle` folder on the SMB share, and whether any incomplete or corrupt duplicates of the file that I'm trying to render exist in that `.recycle` folder.

On the ZFS side, I went ahead and `rm -rf`ed the corresponding destination directories inside of the `.recycle` folder. It seems to have done the trick. Maybe that was somehow clogging the 800 MB/s tube... :D :?:

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], bennettkillmer, Bing [Bot], Cary Knoop, Google [Bot], Hector Berrebi, Mads Johansen and 29 guests