Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Andrew Yorkovich

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 7:48 pm

Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 7:58 pm

Alright, so pretty big problem here. I'm using Resolve 14, though the same thing happens in 12.5 too. I'm trying to render a video for YouTube on the 1080p setting. But if I'm trying to render anything of any useful length, basically more than a few minutes, I get an error message that reads "Timeout when waiting for frame ###### for recording, frame dropped." (where ###### is whatever the frame number happens to be). Once I close the dialog box, Resolve all but freezes, and the only thing I can do is stop the rendering (not that it had continued beyond frame ###### anyway) and close the program. Anyone know how to fix this?

Rig:
MSI GTX1080 Gaming 8G
Intel Core i7 5820K
Windows 10-64 bit
MSI X99A Gaming 7 mobo
Offline

Mark Sterne

  • Posts: 250
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 6:15 pm

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:37 pm

Last time I had this issue it turned out to be a failing drive (the one I was trying to render to).

Can you try writing to a different drive and see if that works?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3150
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 4:46 pm

Are you rendering to a fixed internal drive or raid file system?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Paul Steinberg

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:26 pm
  • Location: Toronto |+|Canada

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostSat Sep 16, 2017 2:58 pm

I'm having similar behavior here.

I was just working on a job with about 17hrs of real-time footage. I typically render dallies overnight directly to one of those small bus-powered USB3.0 drives that the client picks up.

The render speeds on my system have jumped quite a bit with v14 and I'm seeing render speeds around 240fps for DNxHD QT's. I did notice that Resolve will blaze through the clip and then have to wait for the clip to write to the USB drive before starting the next clip.

The render crashed when I was rendering overnight to the USB drive so I restarted the render to an internal RAID-0 on the system but it crashed/timed out once as well. Of the 34hrs of dallies/screening copies I rendered, it timed out twice.

My system
Dual Xeon SuperMicro
Dual TitanX Black GPU's
8-drive RAID (external) around 600MB/s write 750MB/s read
4-drive RAID (internal) around 600MB/s read/write
Atto 664 RAID controller
USB3.0 passport drive 60~100MB/s write
Paul Steinberg csc
Toronto |+|Canada
Offline

Paul Steinberg

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 2:26 pm
  • Location: Toronto |+|Canada

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Oct 12, 2017 3:43 pm

Just giving this thread a bump. I've upgraded to 14.0.1 but still having renders stopped with this error. Resolve then completely hangs up and I have to use Win10 taskmanager to force-quit.
Paul Steinberg csc
Toronto |+|Canada
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3150
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Oct 12, 2017 8:53 pm

Can you provide logs?

viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54509
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 1703
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: Timed out, waiting for frame ######. Frame dropped.

PostThu Oct 12, 2017 9:31 pm

I ran into a similar problem, and it turned out to be due to the drive that had my source footage on it. I wasn't able to write to that drive at all, so I was rendering to a different drive, and it worked quite nicely for several days; now I'm experiencing media going inexplicably offline while color grading. And it was just simple grading, just to export some stills from my Helium footage... while I was working on a clip, it was fine, but when I moved to the next one, it went offline and I had to re-add it to the timeline after restarting Resolve.

I don't know yet whether or not the two are related, but there was a Windows update release in between the two :-/
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://www.WhiteCranePhotography.com

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Craig Marshall, Darko Gavrilovic, elkins.alex, franciscovaldez, kolekole and 18 guests