Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Height

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Height

PostMon Sep 25, 2017 5:43 pm

We need to be able adjust the display size of audio waveforms. Avid Media Composer has an option to increase/decrease the display height of audio waveforms (this does not adjust the gain). This is a needed feature in Resolve.

In the example below I'm trying to cut in the close up in the source monitor, but I only want video because I want to continue to use the audio in track "A1 Both". This means I need to match the audio in the source viewer exactly to the audio in the timeline. It is neigh impossible to do so with such small waveforms on the timeline.

Thank you for your help.
Attachments
DVRWaveformHeight.jpg
Audio Waveform Display Height Need to be Adjustable
DVRWaveformHeight.jpg (351.72 KiB) Viewed 1263 times
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 7938
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostMon Sep 25, 2017 6:41 pm

May not help, but the Fairlight page allows you to easily increase and decrease the height of all audio tracks with the slider.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostMon Sep 25, 2017 6:54 pm

An equivalent to the Fairlight page's “Show Full Waveforms” option is perhaps necessary on the Edit page.
Resolve Studio 15b1 | Merging HAPI + VAD Premium 2.0.33517
[*] MacPro 2x Quad 2.26GHz Xeon | 14GB RAM | OS X.11.6 (15G20015)
NVIDIA Quadro K620 (346.03.15f13/CUDA 8.0.83) | IntensityPro 4K (10.9.11)
[*] MBP Quad 2.3GHz | 16GB RAM | OS X.12.6 (16G1314)
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 260
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostMon Sep 25, 2017 7:40 pm

Agreed. The meters show the levels of the track well enough without the waveform changing height as well. it is like the timeline thumbnails disappearing if your drop the opacity of the clip.
Last edited by Jack Swart on Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.12.6, DR 14.1.0.018 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 48 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 4 x 6TB HD in raid 5 giving 18TB
Tangent Elements TK panel, Sony BVM-L230 reference monitor
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostMon Sep 25, 2017 10:15 pm

What we need is the ability to resize the waveforms independently of resizing the track height.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Michael Tiemann

  • Posts: 270
  • Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:22 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostMon Sep 25, 2017 10:20 pm

PeterMoretti wrote:What we need is the ability to resize the waveforms independently of resizing the track height.


+1
MacOS Sierra Version 10.13.2
iMac Pro (2017)
3 GHz Intel Xeon W
64GB 2666 MHz DDR4
Radeon Pro Vega 64 16 GB
Red Rocket-X in Sonnet III-D via Thunderbolt 3
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 5:45 am

PeterMoretti wrote:What we need is the ability to resize the waveforms independently of resizing the track height.
Which is what the Fairlight page's “Show Full Waveforms” option provides.
Resolve Studio 15b1 | Merging HAPI + VAD Premium 2.0.33517
[*] MacPro 2x Quad 2.26GHz Xeon | 14GB RAM | OS X.11.6 (15G20015)
NVIDIA Quadro K620 (346.03.15f13/CUDA 8.0.83) | IntensityPro 4K (10.9.11)
[*] MBP Quad 2.3GHz | 16GB RAM | OS X.12.6 (16G1314)
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 7:14 am

Reynaud,

I do appreciate your help. But even if Show Full Waveforms provided the functionality I feel is sorely needed, it's most sorely needed on the Edit Page, where I'm trying to cut picture to audio.

That said, I don't see how Show Full Waveforms allows one to independently resize the waveforms on the Fairlight Page. What it does seem to do is expand the area available for waveform display to include the bottom area where the clip names are.

If there is a way for me to choose how big or small I want the waveforms to be on the Fairlight Page by enabling Show Full Waveforms, I'm all ears, so to speak.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3633
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 7:18 am

I'm familiar with the requirement and its in our consideration list..long list I'm afraid.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 260
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 7:23 am

Thank you Peter. DR14 studio rocks.

Colleague is off-lining a feature on his DR14 with 2K ProRes proxies(generated by my DR14 with logs) and we will assemble and grade on my machine in the original 4K XAVC 480. Tests show we will be fine on my hardware.

Thanks again for great code.
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.12.6, DR 14.1.0.018 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 48 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 4 x 6TB HD in raid 5 giving 18TB
Tangent Elements TK panel, Sony BVM-L230 reference monitor
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 7:25 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:I'm familiar with the requirement and its in our consideration list..long list I'm afraid.

I'm sure it is, lol, *followed by tears for the BMD team*
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 8:01 am

PeterMoretti wrote:If there is a way for me to choose how big or small I want the waveforms to be on the Fairlight Page by enabling Show Full Waveforms
The “Show Full Waveforms” option is a global single waveform height preference, so not dynamic in the way I think you require (such as the ProTools waveform density adjustment, for example).

But, for audio clips with low signal levels, the “Show Full Waveforms” does improve the resolution of the waveform display for editing, short of having to constantly increase and decrease track height.

I do, however, prefer the soundBlade workstation implementation of dynamic waveforms over the ProTools implementation, where soundBlade provides an “Auto Scale” Preferences where the maximum peak is represented at Full Scale (i.e. amplitude scaling) globally for all audio clips on the timeline, or with the “Scale To View” preference, the waveform representation in the zoomed area of an audio clip is represented at Full Scale (i.e. “local” magnification).

Both preferences are extremely useful for editing and restoration work which allows waveform density to be adjusted dynamically according to action.
Resolve Studio 15b1 | Merging HAPI + VAD Premium 2.0.33517
[*] MacPro 2x Quad 2.26GHz Xeon | 14GB RAM | OS X.11.6 (15G20015)
NVIDIA Quadro K620 (346.03.15f13/CUDA 8.0.83) | IntensityPro 4K (10.9.11)
[*] MBP Quad 2.3GHz | 16GB RAM | OS X.12.6 (16G1314)
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 6:50 pm

PeterMoretti wrote:
Peter Chamberlain wrote:I'm familiar with the requirement and its in our consideration list..long list I'm afraid.

I'm sure it is, lol, *followed by tears for the BMD team*


I have to say that I really hope this becomes a priority. I know you guys have tons of priorities. But this is turning into a nightmare. What would have taken me about twenty minutes in Media Composer is taking me all morning. There are many times when we need to be able to see the waveforms to edit effectively.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostTue Sep 26, 2017 8:35 pm

Reynaud Venter wrote:...
I do, however, prefer the soundBlade workstation implementation of dynamic waveforms over the ProTools implementation, where soundBlade provides an “Auto Scale” Preferences where the maximum peak is represented at Full Scale (i.e. amplitude scaling) globally for all audio clips on the timeline, or with the “Scale To View” preference, the waveform representation in the zoomed area of an audio clip is represented at Full Scale (i.e. “local” magnification).

Both preferences are extremely useful for editing and restoration work which allows waveform density to be adjusted dynamically according to action.

Thanks, those sound like a great way to handle waveforms.

I also have to say that waveform display in the source viewer is going to need the same ability to scale the waveforms.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4222
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostWed Sep 27, 2017 2:26 am

This is an artist's rendition of Peter with the "Resolve Feature List":

Image
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3633
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostWed Sep 27, 2017 2:31 am

Looks a bit short Marc.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostWed Sep 27, 2017 2:47 am

LOL!! Good fun at my expense is always welcome. :D

And of course you both are very much appreciated by me :P
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 260
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostWed Sep 27, 2017 3:59 am

And Marc's list is double sided......
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.12.6, DR 14.1.0.018 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 48 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 4 x 6TB HD in raid 5 giving 18TB
Tangent Elements TK panel, Sony BVM-L230 reference monitor
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostSat Sep 30, 2017 7:17 am

Jack Swart wrote:Agreed. The meters show the levels of the track well enough without the waveform changing height as well. it is like the timeline thumbnails disappearing if your drop the opacity of the clip.


Thanks for the input Jack. I do want to be clear however. I DO LIKE the automatic resizing of the waveforms when clip gain is added. And even think it would be nice the *option* to resize them for if timeline gain is added. (Currently changing timeline gain does not change waveform height.)

I find the automatic resizing makes it MUCH easier to set clip gain by eye, just by looking at the waveforms.

But what I want/pretty much need is the ability to increase/decrease the height of the waveforms w/o changing the track height. But there should be an option to reset this resizing back to "normal size". Sort of like how the zoom control on apps also have a 100% setting that brings you back to what's "normal size."

Here's link to how what I'm talking about is implemented in Pro Tools:



But it also exists in Media Composer, b/c seeing waveforms is so important for some types of editing. So this needs to be available on the Edit Page (not just Fairlight). Here's a link to how it works in Media Composer:



I hope that's clear/clearer.
Last edited by PeterMoretti on Sat Sep 30, 2017 9:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4222
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostSat Sep 30, 2017 8:41 am

Jack Swart wrote:And Marc's list is double sided......

This is only Part 1 of Peter's list...
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

PeterMoretti

  • Posts: 912
  • Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2013 12:12 am

Re: Need to be Able Increase/Decrease the Audio Waveform Hei

PostSat Sep 30, 2017 9:26 pm

Hahahaha! True, if you wipe lemon juice across the paper you can see it! :D
Resolve 14.3 Studio. GTX 970 with GeForce 390.77 driver. Desktop Video 10.9.10. Intensity Shuttle USB 3.0. Windows 10 Pro.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests