Page 1 of 1

3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:10 am
by Janis Lionel
Hi there,

Is there a 3rd party stabilizer with the quality of premieres warp-stabilizer? One of the things I hugely miss when editing in Resolve (as well as the optical flow feature).

Cheers

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 2:57 pm
by Jim Simon
The Studio version has both of those features built-in for $300.

Though I haven't compared results at all.

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 3:44 pm
by Jed Mitchell
Resolve Studio has the built in Stabilizer on the Tracking tab of the Color page (pg. 1054 in the manual if you want to see how it works). I'd say it produces comparable but different results to Adobe's Warp Stabilizer.

I find it somewhat more reliable on long wandering shots, but also more prone to be thrown off by sudden movement of foreground subjects. Neither one will solve every shot and often I'll use one or the other depending on which is giving better results. On a project that allows more than a few minutes for camera tracking you really just need to take the shot to Fusion or Nuke to get the job done reliably.

Studio also has Optical Flow retiming (though maybe that's not what you were asking about -- hard to tell if you meant in comparison to Studio or Premiere).

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 4:52 pm
by Dermot Shane
BCC's optical stabliser gets me to the closest place if i'm trying to stay inside Resolve

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:09 pm
by Remco Hekker
Is the stabilizer not available in the free version anymore?
I'm pretty sure I taught a course on the free version last week and both the new (compatible to warp stabilizer) and the classic stabilizer were available.

I've done 2 projects this week and after some getting used to, the new stabilizer became the star of the 2nd project. Getting results very close or better then warp.

Verstuurd vanaf mijn SM-T805 met Tapatalk

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 6:17 am
by Hector Berrebi
Janis Lionel wrote:Hi there,
Is there a 3rd party stabilizer with the quality of premieres warp-stabilizer? One of the things I hugely miss when editing in Resolve (as well as the optical flow feature).
Cheers


Remco is correct, Stabilizer is a free option.

Just to point out.. you may like the "quality" of Premier's Warp Stabilizer,
but keep in mind, its an 8 bit effect, and it will dumb 10 bit material down to 8.
Furthermore, it will do it to the entire Premiere timeline in which it was applied, not just the shot you stabilized - a nasty little side effect of Premier's render engine (the 32 bit version of that effect is only available in AE).

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:19 pm
by Paul Ingvarsson
Hector Berrebi wrote:
Janis Lionel wrote:
Just to point out.. you may like the "quality" of Premier's Warp Stabilizer,
but keep in mind, its an 8 bit effect, and it will dumb 10 bit material down to 8.
Furthermore, it will do it to the entire Premiere timeline in which it was applied, not just the shot you stabilized - a nasty little side effect of Premier's render engine (the 32 bit version of that effect is only available in AE).


I didn't know that the Premiere warp stabiliser is 8-bit - but can you expand on the detail of "Furthermore, it will do it to the entire Premiere timeline in which it was applied, not just the shot you stabilized"

Are you saying that if you warp stabilize one shot on a timeline the whole timeline will then drop down to 8-bit?

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:32 pm
by Uli Plank
Yes.

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:42 pm
by Jean Claude
Is it the same for iMovie? only in 8 bits? :o

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 5:30 pm
by Hector Berrebi
Paul Ingvarsson wrote:Are you saying that if you warp stabilize one shot on a timeline the whole timeline will then drop down to 8-bit?


Indeed... not just Stabilizer, any Premiere effect that doesn't have the little 32 bit icon next to it..
(like vertical flip, or transform)
Adobe isn't very vocal about it... you'd really have to dig in the support website to find it
basically in the bottom of a locked filing cabinet stuck in a disused lavatory with a sign on the door saying ‘Beware of the Leopard.' ;)

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 19.52.18.png
Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 19.52.18.png (29.42 KiB) Viewed 865 times


Some effects in Avid Media Composer will do that to your timeline too... though less, and less important ones. Avid is bit more clear about it too. if you care to read the help.

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:39 pm
by Paul Ingvarsson
Thanks very much for this useful nugget of information. I'm always battling with PP to get the best output - and this clears up a few irregularities. Would you mind posting the place you found this info box?

Paul

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:44 pm
by Paul Ingvarsson
I'll investigate this further as it seems that processing precision (8,16 & 32) and storage bit depth (8,10,12) are being confused slightly here (not that this obscures that fact that this is a real eye opener for me)

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:59 pm
by Hector Berrebi
Paul Ingvarsson wrote:I'll investigate this further as it seems that processing precision (8,16 & 32) and storage bit depth (8,10,12) are being confused slightly here (not that this obscures that fact that this is a real eye opener for me)


Yes... and I probably simplified it a bit too in my first answer.
Bottom line is though, that stabilizer and other effects in premiere pro are't recommended for high-end workflows, and will result in 8-bit renders (to time line)

here's the link

https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/effects.html

How I wish Adobe would offer nice help PDF's like BMD does with Resolve/Fusion...

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:30 pm
by Remco Hekker
Hector Berrebi wrote:
Just to point out.. you may like the "quality" of Premier's Warp Stabilizer,
but keep in mind, its an 8 bit effect, and it will dumb 10 bit material down to 8.
Furthermore, it will do it to the entire Premiere timeline in which it was applied, not just the shot you stabilized - a nasty little side effect of Premier's render engine (the 32 bit version of that effect is only available in AE).




Wow I didn't know that.
I will have to add "remove ALL effects including warp stabilizer" to my
Pre-colorgrade checklist. At least for the pre-conformed work I receive.

Re: 3rd party stabilizer

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2017 9:43 am
by Sam Steti
Hi there,

To answer the OP, Resolve has 2 kind of stabilizers now ("classic" one, which is still better to me, is still available) by defaults, in the free version too. I admit it's sometimes weird and that it's hard to predict anything, but it has good results if the source is not too shaky.
Resolve also has optical flow available in the right parameters panel of the Edit page (isn't it ?). I also think it's in both free and studio versions (but I'm not sure).

I've sometimes regretted the good plug-in I had in FCP7 (Lock&LoadX), but I think I'd go Ofx too, as Dermot considered above. At least if Sapphire has some, I never checked