Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

EvanAnthony

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:19 pm

Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 9:09 pm

Hi need some help...
working on v12.5.6 Win10 PC. Timeline is 4k, most of the footage is RED RAW 5k. Trying to export to finish in Premiere.
Tried Op1a, QT DnX444, Dnx HR HQX, uncompressed. All are crushing blacks a lot, video level down and Sat down a good amount. I'm set to AUTO but also tried Video and Full. Also have Forced Debayer set to hight in deliver.
All the same.

Any ideas??

Thanks gang!
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 9:26 pm

What do you see when you import the exported footage back in resolve? Do you get the same crushed blacks?
Offline

EvanAnthony

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 9:28 pm

Yes and I looked at it in the edit page also and looks still bad.
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 9:36 pm

EvanAnthony wrote:Yes and I looked at it in the edit page also and looks still bad.

Could you share some scopes before and after export?
Offline

EvanAnthony

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 6:19 pm

Re: Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 9:38 pm

Cary Knoop wrote:What do you see when you import the exported footage back in resolve? Do you get the same crushed blacks?


Just did a full shutdown and back up and it seemed to fix

WTF???
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostTue Oct 17, 2017 3:51 pm

EvanAnthony wrote:
Cary Knoop wrote:What do you see when you import the exported footage back in resolve? Do you get the same crushed blacks?


Just did a full shutdown and back up and it seemed to fix

Haha, a reboot is often the ultimate solution to some problems :)
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6916
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Bad levels exporting RED RAW footage

PostTue Oct 17, 2017 4:21 pm

Car stop in the middle of the road: if it is full of engineers, or will take 8 hours to analyze/ check/ fix/ test/ make a patch for the next car.

If it is a software engineer, step out of the car, go back in and turn the key again....
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 16.0.0B.040
nvidia: 430.86 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: OhioDan, Shikha2 and 32 guests