Page 1 of 1

Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 4:19 pm
by PeterMoretti
V selects the nearest edit. Shift V selects the nearest clip. Is there a way to use the keyboard to select a transition? Thanks so much!

Re: Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 11:16 pm
by Jim Simon
There are keyboard shortcuts to apply a transition, but none to select which transition is applied. The shortcut applies only the user set default transition. Choosing to apply any other would require the mouse.

Re: Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:37 am
by PeterMoretti
Thanks for the info.

I'm sure I am being a broken record on this... but when working on a large project under a deadline, using the keyboard as much as you possibly can is real benefit/necessity.

Re: Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:44 am
by Jack Swart
As stated, V takes you to the nearest cut point and OPT T will apply a video transition.
Is this what you need?

Re: Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 12:56 am
by PeterMoretti
No, I "need" to be able to select a transition, e.g. a cross dissolve, already on the timeline using the keyboard to modify or remove the transition. I know I can use the mouse to select it, but it would helpful to be able to use the keyboard.

Re: Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:23 am
by John Paines
It's hard enough, even with the mouse, to select a transition. If if you're not zoomed in, hovering will produce a graphic to change the sizing, but selecting the transition is impossible if there's not a stretch of empty space.

Hoping this is made easier, at some point. A keyboard shortcut -- select nearest transition -- would be grand.

Re: Is there a Way to Select a Transition Using the Keyboard

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:52 pm
by Jim Simon
PeterMoretti wrote:No, I "need" to be able to select a transition, e.g. a cross dissolve, already on the timeline


I misunderstood.

I hear ya, though. While BMD is working hard to improve the little things, this one gotcha still remains. Selecting a transition in the timeline is unnaturally difficult. There are just too many tool modifiers in that region. Finding a space to actually click on requires zooming in beyond normal view.