Project Server in 14.1?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Frank Glencairn

  • Posts: 1572
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:07 am
  • Location: Germany

Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 3:18 pm

What does that "Project Server " do, we got with 14.1?
http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

Set your zebras to 100%, ETTR and you're golden - and NO, you can't use TB as output for an external monitor, and you can't download the footy via TB ether.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 3:43 pm

• Added support for a new Project Server application to manage a local PostgreSQL server on macOS and Windows
Resolve Studio 14.2.1 | Merging VAD 2.0.33517 | Merging HAPI
[*]MacPro 2x Quad 2.26GHz Xeon | 14GB RAM | OS X.11.6 (15G18013)
NVIDIA Quadro K620 (346.03.15f11/CUDA 8.0.83) | IntensityPro 4K (10.9.7)
[*]MBP Quad 2.3GHz | 16GB RAM | OS X.12.6 (16G1114)
Offline
User avatar

Frank Glencairn

  • Posts: 1572
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:07 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 3:49 pm

Ahhh, RTFM I guess :lol:
http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

Set your zebras to 100%, ETTR and you're golden - and NO, you can't use TB as output for an external monitor, and you can't download the footy via TB ether.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 290
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 3:50 pm

Frank Glencairn wrote:Ahhh, RTFM I guess :lol:
In this case, the manual would not help you.

This is RTFPR.
Resolve Studio 14.2.1 | Merging VAD 2.0.33517 | Merging HAPI
[*]MacPro 2x Quad 2.26GHz Xeon | 14GB RAM | OS X.11.6 (15G18013)
NVIDIA Quadro K620 (346.03.15f11/CUDA 8.0.83) | IntensityPro 4K (10.9.7)
[*]MBP Quad 2.3GHz | 16GB RAM | OS X.12.6 (16G1114)
Offline
User avatar

David Franzo

  • Posts: 167
  • Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 4:08 am
  • Location: New York

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 9:35 pm

There's 2 features in this manager that I can't figure out:

Enable Sharing
Asks for authorization, but nothing happens when I click the button. I have no clue what this is even supposed to do.

Create Access Key (.resolvedbkey)
This creates an XML formatted file with the IP and credentials of the database, but there is no way to actually import this file in the actual Resolve application.
Offline

Olivier MATHIEU

  • Posts: 63
  • Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:55 pm
  • Location: Grenoble, FRANCE

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 9:38 pm

David Franzo wrote:
Create Access Key (.resolvedbkey)
This creates an XML formatted file with the IP and credentials of the database, but there is no way to actually import this file in the actual Resolve application.

You can drag and drop it to the project manager of Davinci resolve!!
MacOS 10.12.6
i7 6 cores 3,5 Ghz
RAM 32 Go (2800Mhz)
GTX 1080Ti
Resolve Studio
Mini monitor
GUI 3440 x 1440
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 13, 2017 11:48 pm

UPDATE:

your pg_hba has to explicitly have 127.0.0.1 listed for the new Project Server to work on Windows at least..

I can't even get it to open, all that pops up is "DaVinci Resolve Project Server connection error. The PostgreSQL server is either not running or the password is incorrect". Running Postgres on Windows 10 Fall Creator's Update.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3710
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 14, 2017 1:08 am

127.0.0.1 should never be removed. That's the local connection to the server.

If our past procedures for modifying pg_hba.conf are followed, we add a new line to the bottom of the file for allowing same subnet access to the server from remote systems.

But we leave the original 127.0.0.1 line in place, so things on the local system can connect, without having to use an explicit IP address. That's what the Project Server app requires to communicate with the server.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Lucas Hilty

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:40 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 14, 2017 2:12 pm

Are there any step-by-step instructions somewhere for setting this up?
I'm only used to disk, but I'm interested in moving to this workflow.
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz
32GB RAM
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 660Ti
Win 10 x64 Pro
DaVinci Resolve 14 beta
Offline

Andrey Dovgy

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 7:03 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 14, 2017 2:22 pm

Why is it possible to set my own password when creating a database but it is not possible to specify it when the project server starts. Why the password should be "DaVinci"? Credentials user=postgres and password=DaVinci does not correspond to the logic of the best unsecure way of authentication which is user=user and password=password.

Dear developers, you either give the opportunity to set my own user and password.
Either keep honor distance from data protection and skip down to user=user and password=password. In this case, the user will clearly understand that the connection is not secure and will act accordingly.
Do not mislead people!
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 14, 2017 7:17 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:127.0.0.1 should never be removed. That's the local connection to the server.

If our past procedures for modifying pg_hba.conf are followed, we add a new line to the bottom of the file for allowing same subnet access to the server from remote systems.

But we leave the original 127.0.0.1 line in place, so things on the local system can connect, without having to use an explicit IP address. That's what the Project Server app requires to communicate with the server.


Thanks, Dwaine!
Offline

Travis Marshall

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 21, 2017 7:31 pm

So do we need to enable and configure PostgreSQL through the terminal, as explained in the manual, in order to use this for managing the server? Or are we able to configure the whole thing through this GUI interface?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3710
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 21, 2017 11:59 pm

You WILL be able to set up shared databases using the Project Server, but not until the next Resolve point release. The current Project Server app has an issue in Enable Sharing area.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3710
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostThu Nov 23, 2017 4:30 pm

The 14.1.1 release Project Server Enable Sharing button now works.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3314
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostFri Nov 24, 2017 2:16 am

To Recap.

On a new system that you plan to use as your Database Server, Mac Mini or PC, install DaVinci Resolve and in the install process select the 'Customise' option on the installer and then select PostgreSQL server. Deselect the panels installer.

Complete the install, restart.
Then go to the DaVinci Resolve Project Manager application in your applications folder. Start the app.
The DaVinci Resolve Project Manager will show you the default PostgreSQL database 'resolve' and you can make others if you wish. You can also see here the projects within the database once you make them, and make folders to manage them.

Select the 'Enable Sharing' icon and authorise sharing of the database.
You can now create an Access Key, select the icon, save the key to a shared location or to a thumb drive and move that key to each of the clients.
Drag the key on top of the Project Manager in Resolve for each of the clients who you wish to provide access to that Database.

That Resolve client is now connected to the database on the shared DB server. Do they same for others to collaborate on the same project.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Lucas Hilty

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 2:40 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostMon Nov 27, 2017 2:59 pm

Will it be possible to use both disk and PostgreSQL databases with the same install?

I'm wondering about the best way to bring the old projects from the disk database into the PostgreSQL database.
Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.60GHz
32GB RAM
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 660Ti
Win 10 x64 Pro
DaVinci Resolve 14 beta
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3314
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Nov 28, 2017 4:11 am

Yes you can use both. If you set up your PostGres DB in Resolve Project manager you can move projects to the other type of Database.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

William Eguienta

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:53 pm
  • Location: Montpellier, France

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostThu Dec 14, 2017 11:32 am

hello
is it possible to create a shared database on a non resolve used machine ? i mean, if i install posgres and resolve project server
i want to make a micro server exclusively for resolve databases (a linux one in best case)
Offline

alexoreman

  • Posts: 61
  • Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2015 11:41 pm

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostThu Dec 14, 2017 9:56 pm

@Frank Glencairn

We just install the normal Resolve package with the postgres option enabled and then create the initial DB using a license at first, I'm sure there is a way around that.

Once the initial DB is created we never re-license the DB server and admin it remotely as a headless unit.
Offline

William Eguienta

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:53 pm
  • Location: Montpellier, France

Re: Project Server in 14.1?

PostTue Jan 09, 2018 3:40 pm

does a linux version is planned ?
I want to build a micro PC to run resolve database and some for other softwares too so linux is the cheapest/best way to go

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abmedic, bjornzitting, Corey Wipper, Edina_K, Ron Simmons and 29 guests