After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Christian Mersch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:31 am

After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 10:05 am

Hello,

after I updated from Version 14.0 to 14.1.0.018 I cannot see any image in the viewer. If I press play, the video plays perfectly. As soon as I press pause, I can't see anything. I didn't change any settings.
I hope someone can help me.

I am neither professional nor native english speaker.

Thank you in advance!

Christian
Attachments
Davinci Issue.jpg
Davinci Issue.jpg (586.29 KiB) Viewed 794 times
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3430
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 10:13 am

Please detail your OS, GPU type and drivers for GPU.
Also clip codec, resolution and timeline resolution.
thanks
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Christian Mersch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:31 am

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 10:42 am

Windows 7 (64) Intel Core i5, 16 GB RAM
Geforce GTX 950m, GPU driver 388.31 it is the newest.

Clip codec RGB 10 bits
Timeline Resolution 1920x1080
Resolution: I don't know what you mean, sorry.
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 2:52 pm

I experience the same, after upgrade to DR14.1 from DR14.0 all my GoPro 5 media looks just like the garbled ones in screen shot in original post.
I only have problems with GoPro 5 media, straight out of camera h.264, 2704x1520, 60Mb/s 59.94fps on
Core i5 6200U 2.3GHz, Windows 10 64bit, Nvidia GeForce 940M.
Playback from wthin DR14.1 fails in all tabs, Media to Deliver whith garbled playback and thumbnails, though sound is ok. Problem with both old and new projects at 1920x1080p. No problem playing same files on other window apps on same computer.

I have a separate email conversation with Alistair of BMD EMEA support but so far no clues.

/Jay
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3773
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 5:34 pm

Do you have Enable video field processing checked? If so, turn that off and see if that has any effect.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 7:07 pm

Yes, upon Alistairs request i did enable Video Field Processing. That only gave the GPU Memory Full error though and DR needed to be restarted to work properly again.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3773
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 7:48 pm

Looks like having a sample of your problem footage would be helpful.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 8:05 pm

Dwain; see PM for files and detials. /J
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 8:27 pm

Dwain, that PM seemed to get stuck in outbox, here goes:
Again upon Alistair's request i did upload sample (for me failing) clip to cloud. He came back saying it played fine at his office. Anyway here is my problem in details. If able please keep Alistair in loop, I don't want to bypass him.

Files:
GOPR3005.MP4, short clip that does not work for me in DR14.1. It first comes up with proper thumbnail but when played fails and gets garbled.
https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/ZLiGMNFhBcBqpnDWAmvqtLCkApEkAQVuokO2X3jKE9Y

System:
Core i5 6200U / 2.3 GHz, Windows 10 Home 64-bit, 8 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 940M.
GPU Drivers: Latest installed; Date 2017-09-16, Version 22.21.13.8569

Software used is latest Davinci Resolve 14.1 Studio with dongle

I transcoded some failing footage using ffmpeg, reencoding the video stream into mp4 and the files are still unusable in DR14.1. Transcoding to Cineform using GoPro studio gives files that are usable though. Resolution and framerates are all preserved in both transcodings.

Fault occurs with multiple old projects created with earlier releases of DR14.0 and also with new projects created from scratch with DR14.1.

"Enable Video Field Processing" only gives the error message "Your GPU memory is full" when viewing folder or files with GoPro 5 footage.

GoPro 5 Hero footage is straight out of camera imported into Media Pool, gives garbled/scrambled video playback. Both in thumbnails when scratching via mouse-over and when played in viewers, either in source viewer or from timeline playback. Audio is fine, no distortion.

Also rendered video out of DR14.1 Delivery comes out scrambled for GoPro 5 clips. In my project that includes mixed camera footage, only the GoPro 5 footage has the problem, both in viewers and rendered material. (GoPro 4 is fine)

GoPro 5 video stream data:
h264 (High) (avc1), yuvj420p(pc, bt709), 2704x1520 [SAR 1:1 DAR 169:95], 59939 kb/s, 59.94 fps, 59.94 tbr

Hope this helps.
Offline
User avatar

AndreyLebrov

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:48 pm
  • Location: Southampton

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostWed Nov 22, 2017 9:07 pm

Hi guys,

Don't have that exact problem, but after 14.1 update playback is unbearably slow and glitchy. Optimised media doesn't help at all and it wasn't needed before the update as I use 3xGTX1080Ti and 1xGTX1070. At first, I thought something is wrong with my system, but I arrived home and tried same footage on Razer Blade Pro with one GTX1080 - same result. Slow and choppy playback.

I don't think footage specs are necessary as I tried different footages from FS7 and A7Rii both in 4K and FullHD - same result.
Offline
User avatar

Erik Wittbusch

  • Posts: 383
  • Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:06 pm
  • Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostThu Nov 23, 2017 8:10 am

Try the 14.1.1 update first.
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostThu Nov 23, 2017 12:24 pm

Downloaded and upgraded but problem remains. Both with old projects and completely new in DR14.1.1.005. Only improvement I can see is that when I do "Enable video field processing" I do not get the "GPU Memory Full" error. But GoPro 5 clips still do not play properly.

Tried different files out of GoPro 5:
2704x1520 60fps Fails and 2704x1520 30fps Fails
19020x1080 60fps and 30fps works good
1920x1440 60fps and 30fps works good
3840x2160 30fps works good (60fps not available on GP5H)

So a fast conclusion would be that there is a resolution dependency here, only 2704x1520 fails, regardless of 30 or 60 fps.

Logs sent to Dwain in PM.

/J
Offline

Christian Mersch

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:31 am

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostThu Nov 23, 2017 8:58 pm

I tried the new Update from 11/23/2017 and it works perfectly!
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostFri Nov 24, 2017 3:20 pm

Then we have had two different faults covered in this thread, I still have problems with GoPro 5 Hero 2.7k clips (but other resolutions are ok) after upgrade to DR4.1.1.005.
Probably I will open a new thread on that topic for clarity.
/J
Offline

Stefan Maca

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:18 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostFri Nov 24, 2017 4:41 pm

The following resolutions also show this issue (with 14.1 or 14.1.1 Studio version) for me, regardless of fps

2704x1520
980x552
1440x1080
720x576

EDIT: I tried both version, STUDIO and free (both 14.1.1), as i upgraded recently. The problem does not appear with the free version! :roll:


System:
Windows 10 Home 64-bit, 32GB-RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080ti, i7-6820HK
GPU Drivers: Latest installed
Last edited by Stefan Maca on Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Simone Cabasino

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:32 am
  • Location: Rome

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostFri Nov 24, 2017 10:56 pm

I have a similar problem posted in a separated tread, but same patology.
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard01.jpg (878.71 KiB) Viewed 538 times

I7 with GEFORCE GTX 1060 6G.
DR 14.1 with dongle
After updating (DR14.0 was perfect) my DJI video 2720 x 1530 have an identical problem, while 4K video have no issues.
On a different PC the problem disappears.
Offline

Simone Cabasino

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:32 am
  • Location: Rome

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostFri Nov 24, 2017 11:18 pm

Jan Liberg wrote:Then we have had two different faults covered in this thread, I still have problems with GoPro 5 Hero 2.7k clips (but other resolutions are ok) after upgrade to DR4.1.1.005.
Probably I will open a new thread on that topic for clarity.
/J

I too updated to DR14.1.1-005 with the 2.7K problem . Perhaps you can post on my thread "Corruption in video viewer (windows 10)"
Offline

Mihail Constantinescu-Fomino

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:38 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostSat Nov 25, 2017 12:12 pm

I have similar playback issues for 4k 50fps clips recorded with Pana GH5. I'm using Resolve 14.1.1 Studio, i.e. I've payed for a product I cannot use...
It happens randomly, mostly at starting the playback. No optimized media or caching enabled. No changes when enabling them. Editing is almost impossible due to bad playback flow. I never had such issues wit Resolve 12.5 free.
Hope there is a fix soon for the problem.
Mihail
Mihail
SW: Resolve 14.1.1 Studio
HW: i7-4790, 12 GM RAM, GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Stefan Maca

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:18 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostFri Dec 15, 2017 6:34 pm

The Issue still exists still with 14.2 :(

And still the free version is working fine... how is that possible. This are not uncommon resolutions...
Offline

Vynce Leff

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:43 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostFri Jan 12, 2018 7:14 am

Hello,

I'm new to this forum. I have this sort of problem too, but not limited to GoPro footage. Also with 4K footage from Olympus OMD10 mkiii.

14.0.1.008 free and studio work fine
14.1 free and studio give scrambled videos
14.2 (downloaded yesterday) free seems to be working fine
14.2 studio (which I payed for) gives scrambled videos

Has there been any progress about this since 15th dec 17 ? It's very annoying since I'm stuck with 14.0.1

My PC details (I purchased it just for DaVinci Resolve use - it's fresh out of the box) :
Dell Alienware Aurora
i7 8700
nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
32 Gb RAM
Windows 10 Home 64 bits (up to date)
Offline

Vynce Leff

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:43 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostSat Jan 20, 2018 8:13 am

Hello !

I finally found a workaround for the problem. This can be interesting for other users and also to the coding team at BMD (Dwayne ?). Maybe it could be worth letting them know about this, since the behaviour of 14.2 free and 14.2 studio is different - and no other video editors in the competition (especially Premiere Pro) have this problem.

OK, so the problem was in how the file header is read by the program, AND how it interacts with the graphics card (nVidia 1080 in my case) AND the Microsoft HD630 (part of the intel processor). 14.2 free reads the dimension of the image correctly, but it seems that there is an error (in certain situations) about how many lines 14.2 studio reads : hence the "scrambled lines" problem. So, in the Windows control panels, device manager, graphic cards, you can see both cards : I disabled the Intel HD 630. Problem solved.

Please note that it not only solves the problem of scrambled lines, but also a problem where the red screen 'Media offline' would appear randomly and eventually crash Resolve.

I guess there's a drawback for laptops ... since normally (not tested myself) it means that the computer will always use the nVidia card - reducing the autonomy of the machine.

I think it could be a valuable improvement to have Resolve handle this nicely in the future release - it would be too bad if this problem turns away users from Resolve to Premiere (which was almost the case for me - I was on the brink of giving up and switch to Premiere, since I have important projects to start in the next few days)

Cheers !
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3773
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostTue Jan 23, 2018 5:20 am

Please give Resolve 14.2.1 a try and see if that solves the issue.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Vynce Leff

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:43 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostTue Jan 23, 2018 8:31 pm

Hey, Dwayne, I just gave a try to that new version. I reactivated the HD630. And indeed, Studio 14.2.1 seems to be working fine now ! Great job, thank you ! 8-)
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: After update to Version 14.1.0.018 Playback Issues

PostMon Feb 12, 2018 10:13 am

Hi,
I can confirm that after upgrade to 14.3 the problem no longer exists for me either (possiblky already 14.2.1).
/Jan

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Dan Sherman, Ed Rudolph, Jim Simon, Mike C Bonner, Seppia and 32 guests