14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dinindu Jagoda

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:24 pm

14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 12:49 pm

A Feature length project that I last saved in Resolve Studio 14.0.1 cannot be opened in Resolve Studio 14.1.1 or the Free version.

Even if I import the last backed up DRP file, that doesn't open either as Resolve crashes before it opens at 99%.

I tried importing the backed up DRP, both on a different windows 10 pro system as well as a Mid 2017 Imac which has Resolve 14.1.1 (Free Version) installed and none of them would open it.

But when I installed Resolve 14.0 (Free version) on my other windows 10 pro system, that would open the imported project. So I tried exporting a DRP from the opened project and tried to import it to my Resolve Studio 14.1.1 system, and yet it's unable to open the project. I have quite a few projects but seems like this is the only one having this problem.

I've upgraded all my databases from 14.0.1 to 14.1.1, so it would be impractical for me to keep uninstalling and re-installing Resolve Studio over and over again to finish this specific project.

Any thoughts or help much appreciated.

Capture logs

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgkNs_ZpjgUy5jzeUTb17hHdy2pi


Below are my system specs if required.

Windows 10 pro - Version 1703 OS build 15063.674

Super Micro 7047GR-TRF Workstation
Dual Xeon E5-2680v2
Samsung EVO 850 250GB SSD
48GB DDR3 ECC RAM
GTX 1070 8GB
LSI MegaRAID SAS 9286CV-8E RAID controller
Intel X520DA2 NIC
BMD Decklink 4K Extreme
External JBOD connected to LSI RAID CARD - 24x 3TB RAID 60 & 12 x 3TB RAID 6
Resolve Studio Dongle - Currently installed version 14.1.1
Desktop Video 10.9.7
nVidia Driver 388.31
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3629
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: 14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

PostThu Nov 30, 2017 1:57 am

Provide a link to the .drp that won't load in 14.1.1.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Dinindu Jagoda

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:24 pm

Re: 14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

Offline

Dinindu Jagoda

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:24 pm

Re: 14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

PostMon Dec 04, 2017 5:33 am

I would bend my knees and bow down to any intelligent soul that might be able to help me out to sort this issue.

The project works fine on 14.0.1 but not on 14.1 or 14.1.1. All other projects open without any problems.

I even tried importing to a disk database although originally it was on a postgres. Only way it's opening is if I roll back to 14.0.1 and import it to a new database as all other databases have been upgraded to 14.1.

It's annoying having to keep uninstalling & re-installing Resolve to work on multiple projects.
Offline

Umberto Uderzo

  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:19 am

Re: 14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

PostMon Dec 04, 2017 10:18 pm

It happens to me that after upgrading to 14.1.1 every project that deals with MP4 file format make Resolve crashing.
If i start loading such a project, before the progress bar reaches 100% it crashes, if i start a new project, when i switch (in media manager) from file list to thumbnails (looking on a MP4 folder) it crashes, if i keep the file list without thumbnails and i select a MP4 file it crashes.
Looks like there is some issue with the related decoder.
I'm running on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.

Thanks! Umberto
Offline

Dinindu Jagoda

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:24 pm

Re: 14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

PostTue Dec 05, 2017 3:13 am

In this specific project there are only Red Epic, Sony F5 and a few DPX and TIFF sequences. No MP4's.

All other projects, even the ones containing MP4's open without issue on 14.1.1. This project crashes after reaching 99% always.
Offline

Umberto Uderzo

  • Posts: 110
  • Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:19 am

Re: 14.0.1 Project not opening in 14.1.1

PostWed Dec 06, 2017 12:52 pm

Turned out in my case that the installation of 14.1.1 screwed in some way the OpenCL processor option and it reset to full auto.
By selecting again my graphics device with OpenCL capabilities it now plays again MP4 nicely.
Not straightforward but, so far so good.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, John Steele, Yahoo [Bot] and 33 guests