Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Zdenek Riha

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 11:17 am

Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostFri Dec 08, 2017 12:02 pm

Hi everyone.

My high end Mac is on complain for 3 months and with the way how apple handle me it looks it will be there for some more time.

So atm I have the basic iMac 21" 4k late 2017

i5 3ghz
8gb ram
Radeon PRO 555 2gb
1tb hard drive 5400rpm

And I have the basic Macbook Air 13" with 256gb of ssd. I'm quite able to edit stuff on it but the limitation of spaceis problem and that it don't work with my T3 setup I have.

I use the Last studio version on iMac not sure about Air.

And on iMac I open project and the rám usage of Davinci jump to 11gb and kernel root process to 5gb. And the Mac freeze completly. Nothing like this happens on the Macbook.

Anybody runned to the same issue? The ram settings are on 4000mb.

It's temporary and I wouldnt ever used anything like this for edits willingly but I really have to do some projects and as I cant just go and buy a new power house of Mac Im stucked with this one borrowed.
MacBook Pro 15" 2016 with TouchBar
macOS 10.12.4
2,9 GHz Core i7
16 GB LPDDR3
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro 460 4GB
Intel HD Graphics 530
Offline
User avatar

Erik Wittbusch

  • Posts: 414
  • Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:06 pm
  • Location: Duisburg, Germany

Re: Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostSat Dec 09, 2017 1:26 pm

I'd try to close all other applications incl. Mail, Safari etc.

8GB is not much these days, but Resolve should not freeze completely though.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 2568
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostSat Dec 09, 2017 11:51 pm

Did you check that machine with Disk Warrior for file system consistency?
Offline

Zdenek Riha

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 11:17 am

Re: Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 6:24 pm

It just freeze the whole pc. Like I'm not able to do anything anymore. Completly stucked.

The iMac is completly new and I checked the file system consistency. Everything else works ok. Just davinci start project jump over 10GB usage.

I just checked on the Macbook Air that it goes over the 10gb ram usage too but obviously thanks to the ssd it propably let the pc work.
MacBook Pro 15" 2016 with TouchBar
macOS 10.12.4
2,9 GHz Core i7
16 GB LPDDR3
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro 460 4GB
Intel HD Graphics 530
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 2568
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostMon Dec 11, 2017 4:19 am

Sometime a program with high RAM usage will also trigger a hidden RAM defect not seen with less demanding software. Can you try some other RAM or do an extensive test with memtest?
Offline

Zdenek Riha

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 11:17 am

Re: Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostMon Dec 11, 2017 8:26 am

I can't switch it.. The new 21.5" iMac has it non-switchable like the 27". :( and the memtest is this: http://www.memtest.org ??
MacBook Pro 15" 2016 with TouchBar
macOS 10.12.4
2,9 GHz Core i7
16 GB LPDDR3
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro 460 4GB
Intel HD Graphics 530
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 2568
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Temporary iMac: Hardcore RAM usage

PostMon Dec 11, 2017 8:50 am

Should be the one, I still use version 4.23, though.

It's slow, but in one case found a faulty RAM that was not detected otherwise.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests