How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dilson Abraham

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:38 am

How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 9:43 am

I have a clip where in the exposure is different in the beginning and the end of the clip. This was caused by accidentally having moved the VND Filter.

I want to fix this, what would be the best way to do it.

Is it possible to get a split screen of different portions the same clip without splitting the clip?
If so, how do I do it to match the exposures within the clip, so that, the change it not not as evident as it is now.

Splitting is not a practical option as it is one continuous moving shot.

Thanks in advance.
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G65)
Intel Core i7 7700K 4.2 Ghz | 32GB
Asrock Taichi Z270 | nVidia GeForce GTX TITAN X |
Samsung U28D590 28"
Dell UP2716D
BMD Resolve Studio 15.2.0.033 | Decklink 4K Extreme | Desktop Video 10.11.4
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 1434
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 4:11 pm

You could keyframe the Offset.
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 516
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 5:20 pm

Or try the Color Stabilizer available in Davinci Resolve 14 Studio.
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 263
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

PostSun Dec 10, 2017 6:02 pm

It depends on how abrupt the exposure changes are. Are they a "pop" or a gradual increase/decrease.

For a gradual change, I would razor the clip up to create several shots. 2 or 3 different shots on the timeline. Then I would grab a still from shot 1, use it as a wipe on shot 2, and adjust shot 2 to match. Use your scopes, and adjust your 3 main controls. (this is what color correction is:)
Then do the same with shot 3. Then I would add a dissolve from shot 1 to 2 and from 2 to 3. This will hopefully minimize the change from shot to shot. The point of each shot that you use for color, as well as dissolve length, will depend on how much the exposure change is. In a perfect world, you would adjust the very end of shot 2 to match the very end of shot 1...and then have a dissolve that spans all of shot 2, culminating with the matched look on the last frame.

If it is a POP, then I would razor it at the pop, and jump back and forth between the frames, adjusting, looking at my scopes, until I get them matched. Again, this is the nature of the job sometimes.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4943
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

PostMon Dec 11, 2017 12:45 am

Jim Simon wrote:You could keyframe the Offset.

I'd keyframe whenever there was an exposure change and fix it with whatever tools were the fastest. I generally reach for lift/gamma/gain, but there's a lot of "it depends" here.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Dilson Abraham

  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:38 am

Re: How can I ? - Fixing Exposure

PostMon Dec 11, 2017 4:30 am

Thank you folks. All of you have provided great inputs.

I will try on each of those suggestions and use the one that suits me.
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6 (17G65)
Intel Core i7 7700K 4.2 Ghz | 32GB
Asrock Taichi Z270 | nVidia GeForce GTX TITAN X |
Samsung U28D590 28"
Dell UP2716D
BMD Resolve Studio 15.2.0.033 | Decklink 4K Extreme | Desktop Video 10.11.4

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dirk-pel, Salem Kapic, Virion and 29 guests