About to build computer - am I understanding this?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Mattias Murhagen

About to build computer - am I understanding this?

PostSun Dec 17, 2017 5:57 pm

Just a couple of quick questions before I pull the trigger on some components;

- Resolve uses one card for compute and one card for GUI, or one for both. If I use two cards they have to be the same brand, and I can't use both for compute unless I get the paid version of resolve...

- CPU is for compressing / decompressing video, GPU processing is for debayering and effects...

- Since I'm new to this, it seems to me I can either "save" a bit on getting a more powerful CPU to decompress heavily compressed files and then save on the GPU because it can now work with lower res, or vice versa spend more on the GPU and compress the files less...

- If I have time I can use a 'lesser' CPU and take longer to create proxies that my system can handle...

Did I get the above right?

I'm basically torn between getting a more powerful CPU or GPU, especially since the latter are pretty expensive by now. My goal is to start learning basic editing and grading and I just want to know which tradeoffs I end up making since they will affect future upgrades.

Thanks in advance to anyone who reads through and replies. Any opinions and advice are greatly appreciated.

PS:

I'm currently eyeing either a low budget Ryzen 1700 setup, which I know will limit me as soon as I start adding devices because of fewer PCIe lanes which then need to be shared, or a Threadripper 8 or 12-core build since Microcenter currently have them on sale for a good price. The latter would give me 60 PCIe lanes plus three m.2 nvme drives that I can create a raid with. No, I won't buy Intel.

PPS: I'm new btw, and an audio engineer... so please be gentle....

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

Re: About to build computer - am I understanding this?