BUG: 3D Viewing LUT broken in ACES 1.0.3 Resolve 14.1-14.2

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jean-Maxim Desjardins

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:39 pm
  • Location: Montreal, QC

BUG: 3D Viewing LUT broken in ACES 1.0.3 Resolve 14.1-14.2

PostMon Dec 18, 2017 11:43 pm

The 3D Video Monitor LUT option/setting is broken in Resolve 14.1-14.2 under Windows 10 Pro using the ACEScc or ACEScct colour Management settings.

First, system specs:
- AMD Ryzen 7 1700x
- 32GB DDR4 RAM
- Mobo: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero Bios v. 1701
- EVGA GTX 1080ti FTW3 stock, no OC
- Windows 10 Pro Build 1709
- DaVinci Resolve Studio, tested on 14.0.1, 14.1, 14.1.1 and 14.2.012
- Desktop Video 10.9.7
- Decklink mini monitor.

The problem is only in ACES, it works as expected with YRGB (haven't tested YRGB CM). The biggest issue is a weird clipping of the image around 64 and 600 in 10Bit values only when hitting play, the image looks clipped and completely off. Also, both options "3D Colour Viewer Lookup Table" and "3D Scopes Lookup Table" are not working and are defaulting to the used lut in "3D Video Monitor Lookup Table".

I'm using a calibration LUT for an external monitor, but it's easily replicable with any LUT preinstalled.


paused.jpg
LUT applied, paused
paused.jpg (234.11 KiB) Viewed 293 times


playback.jpg
LUT applied, during playback
playback.jpg (194.77 KiB) Viewed 293 times
Offline
User avatar

Jean-Maxim Desjardins

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:39 pm
  • Location: Montreal, QC

Re: BUG: 3D Viewing LUT broken in ACES 1.0.3 Resolve 14.1-14

PostSun Jan 07, 2018 10:22 pm

I've tested on the same hardware with Centos 7.2 and Ubuntu 16.04 and can confirm this is a Windows only problem.
Offline

vago123

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:26 pm
  • Real Name: Charlie Villafuerte

Re: BUG: 3D Viewing LUT broken in ACES 1.0.3 Resolve 14.1-14

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 12:31 pm

2018 and these BUG is still on Resolve 14.3.1!!

I think the only way to avoid all these LUT performance problems is using a external 3D Lutbox or having a professional reference monitor with 3D Lut internal calibration
Offline

David Cherniack

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 10:01 pm

Re: BUG: 3D Viewing LUT broken in ACES 1.0.3 Resolve 14.1-14

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 6:05 pm

vago123 wrote:2018 and these BUG is still on Resolve 14.3.1!!

I think the only way to avoid all these LUT performance problems is using a external 3D Lutbox or having a professional reference monitor with 3D Lut internal calibration


True. Blackmagic doesn't seem to be able to solve whatever pipeline constraints exist in the software to get monitor LUTs working in the Edit page. In 14.3 they seem to work in the Color page.

Perhaps a solution could be to add uploadable 3D LUT capability to the Decklink drivers. Or into an eprom in a new generation of cards.
David
Resolve Studio 15 b4
Windows 10 Pro
Decklink Mini Monitor 4k Desktop Video 10.9.7
Intel i9 7960x @ 4.3GHz
Thermaltake Floe Riing 360 Water Cooler
Asus x299 Prime Deluxe
64GB 3333 Corsair Dominator ram
2 EVGA 1080ti Cards
Areca Thunderbolt 3 Raid

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Charles Bennett, Chris North, Ondra Mayer and 19 guests