Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Mark Wyatt

  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:36 pm
  • Location: Vancouver

Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 5:36 am

Any ideas on how to get Resolve 14 to scale to 150% on Windows 10?

I am running Resolve 14 on Windows 10 with a 27" LG UHD monitor. I have scaling in Windows set to 150%. At this setting, Resolve appears to be scaled to 200%, or possibly larger. If I set Windows to 125% and restart the machine, Resolve also scales to what looks like 125%, but at this setting is too small on the screen size. Any ideas? Thanks!
www.wyattvisuals.com
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 8:39 am

Have you tried setting the scaling behavior? Find the Resolve .exe file, right click > Properties > Compatibility tab. Check the "Override high DPI scaling behavior" checkbox and choose "System" from the dropdown. I haven't tried with Resolve but it did the trick for Nuke perfectly. It seems that the high dpi scaling of Qt, which Nuke also uses, does some funky things so it is better to let windows handle the scaling.
I do stuff.
Offline

Mark Wyatt

  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:36 pm
  • Location: Vancouver

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 1:30 pm

Thanks so much Henrik!

That actually worked and made the scaling size of Resolve correct, and much more usable. However, it does make the program a bit blurry - as described in this article:

"One scenario for this is when you’re running desktop applications that don’t render well on a high-DPI display (this can happen if the developer hasn’t tested and fixed up their applications for the DPI scale factors seen on the latest hardware). In situations like this you might want to force the application to run as a DPI-unaware process. Although this would result in the application being blurry it would at least be sized correctly. There are situations where this can make an unusable application usable, albeit blurry."

https://blogs.windows.com/buildingapps/ ... rs-update/

Any other ideas to get it to scale properly and sharply?
www.wyattvisuals.com
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Dec 21, 2017 2:34 pm

I don't think it is possible to get rid of the blurriness as it is now. For scaling to work it must be properly done by the software itself, but in Qt which Resolve uses for GUI is as it is, scaling kind of works for some, but fails with other things.
I do stuff.
Offline

chrisbrearley

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostFri Dec 22, 2017 10:47 am

Still no solution for this yet, Blackmagic? I bug reported this over 18 months ago and since then several other forum posts have popped up with a lot of unhappy users all mentioning the same problem.

Where is the solution?
Offline

Mark Wyatt

  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:36 pm
  • Location: Vancouver

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostFri Dec 22, 2017 6:37 pm

Yeah, unfortunately, this is one major hurdle holding me back from using the software, especially for editing.
www.wyattvisuals.com
Offline

chrisbrearley

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostSat Dec 23, 2017 1:14 pm

I'm onlining/grading a film at the moment and it's a nightmare. 5 video tracks and 10 audio tracks, I seem to be spending the majority of time resizing tracks just so I can see things. There is absolutely no way in hell I could ever consider using Resolve as an offliner in it's current state.

What I find slightly worrying is that when this issue first cropped up there was recognition from staff on here that it needed looking at but of late there as has been nothing from them. What I'm hoping is that there has been a big f**k up somewhere and it's not easy to get this sorted as one would hope but they are still planning on fixing this. The alternative is that Blackmagic have now decided it's a non-issue and we are going to have to live with it. This being the case I will be looking at other alternatives for grading and onlining.

Peter? Anyone?
Offline

Robert James

  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 12:07 am

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostMon Dec 25, 2017 3:17 am

This is a long standing issue 2> years. I wouldn't hold out for a fix any time soon.

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using Tapatalk
Resolve Studio 14.1
Windows 10 Fall Creator Update
ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO MB
AMD 1800x 4Ghz 32GB RAM
M.2 System Drive, M.2 Media Drive (All other drives SSDs)
ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-O8G VC
Offline

mineralhillsworkshop

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2018 1:34 am
  • Real Name: Eric Fernandez

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Feb 08, 2018 2:08 am

This would normally be a deal breaker, as I can barely see what I am color grading. The color wheels take up a huge amount of screen real estate and I am color grading on a tiny portion of the real image.

[Ideally you would be able to simply adjust the area with your mouse and as you drag, the color wheels would scale automatically based on the size of the area. Or the color wheels could be on a separate window as in Photoshop. Hitfilm gives a huge viewing area while color grading.]

But, since it seems we are all stuck with this, what monitor should I buy to make Davinci Resolve 14 a joy to use?

In August 2017 they published a Hardware Selection and Configuration Guide. In the UI and grading monitors section it reads:
DaVinci Resolve offers support for a wide variety of UI resolutions in single and also dual
monitor configurations. The application is optimized for the Retina 5K screen (5120x2880) with
a resultant resolution of 2560x1440 and scales in a number of ways to even operate on laptops
screens with 1440x900 resolution. If you do not have a Retina 5K screen the UI layout works at
all resolutions from 3840x2160 to 1920x1200. Lower resolutions are supported with abridged
name and icons at the controls.
Offline

chrisbrearley

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Feb 15, 2018 10:20 am

Currently it seems that the optimum monitor resolution is 2560x1440. At that res Windows only needs to be scaled to 125% which means that Resolve won't scale at all.

"DaVinci Resolve offers support for a wide variety of UI resolutions in single and also dual
monitor configurations."

They seemed to have gotten it right on the mac, it actually works really well on a 5k iMac but someone dropped the ball (massively) when it came to Windows. Adobe had this nailed years ago with After Effects, Premiere and Illustrator that I am aware of. Photoshop however suffered the same fate as Resolve. Initially it only offered 100% or 200% scaling but in their last update they finally implemented 150%.
Offline

Heiko Thies

  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2015 8:39 am

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostThu Feb 15, 2018 1:25 pm

I can only second what has been written here. I use a two monitor setup (three if you count the reference display via intensity shuttle). I have the main GUI monitor @ 3840x2160 with 150% scaling and the second screen I use for the detached scopes window @1920x1080 with 100%.
The scopes window gets really cluttered and chunky due to the wrong scaling and the GUI on the main screen is still very chunky. I'd love to see some improvements in the next versions!
Offline

chrisbrearley

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostWed Mar 21, 2018 11:09 am

Peter, we've yet to here from you yet with regards to this MASSIVE issue. Can we can see some changes for v15? I've been told the devs are aware of this but no-one will let on how much of a priority it is.

*Edit*

Just found this quote from yourself on an other thread from July 2016.

"We are having a look into this but for now 200% will be your best option."

18 months later and still no 150% option. Why not?
Offline

chrisbrearley

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostTue Apr 10, 2018 7:56 pm

THANKS FOR NOTHING, BLACKMAGIC.
Offline

silvertrain78

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2018 1:21 pm
  • Real Name: Eric Selle

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostWed May 30, 2018 9:56 pm

Just checked, and with Resolve 15 Beta 4 (Studio), the Windows system-wide display scaling also applies to the Resolve UI. After changing the scaling, a full Windows restart is needed.
Offline

larsalonian

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue May 22, 2018 6:00 pm
  • Real Name: Lars Woodhouse

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostSun Jun 17, 2018 2:31 pm

That seems to only work if you drop windows scaling down to 125% or 100%, but on a laptop screen the details are far too small. I normally have windows scaling at 150 to 175%, but Resolve seems to interpret this as 200%+. Hoping there will be a good in-between solution in one of the upcoming beta releases. I'm using version 15.0b5.
Offline

chrisbrearley

  • Posts: 115
  • Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:19 pm

Re: Resolve 14/Windows 10 - UI Scaling

PostFri Jun 22, 2018 8:45 pm

silvertrain78 wrote:Just checked, and with Resolve 15 Beta 4 (Studio), the Windows system-wide display scaling also applies to the Resolve UI. After changing the scaling, a full Windows restart is needed.


OMG, can anyone confirm that 150% scaling has been added? I've seen nothing mentioned in any of the new feature lists.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mark Sterne and 18 guests