Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Vaughn Nichols

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:56 am

Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostSun Jan 07, 2018 5:13 am

Good Night,

I am getting the following error message when I try to launch the free version of DaVinci Resolve 14.2

DaVinci Resolve could not find any OpenCL capable GPUs.

I am using a Intel(R) HD Graphics card.

Please advise if this card is suitable to run the DaVinci Resolve 14.2 program.

Regards,

Vaughn Nichols
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4804
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostSun Jan 07, 2018 10:11 am

Can you detail your systems full specs and OS version?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Vaughn Nichols

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:56 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostSun Jan 07, 2018 12:10 pm

Good Morning Peter Chamberlain,

Please find attached the system Information and OS version of my computer,

Best Regards

Vaughn Nichols
Attachments
Systemfull specs & OS version2.JPG
System info & OS specs
Systemfull specs & OS version2.JPG (41.13 KiB) Viewed 5344 times
Systemfull specs & OS version1.JPG
System info & OS specs
Systemfull specs & OS version1.JPG (70.94 KiB) Viewed 5344 times
Systemfull specs & OS version.JPG
System info & OS specs
Systemfull specs & OS version.JPG (52.08 KiB) Viewed 5344 times
Offline

Vaughn Nichols

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:56 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostSun Jan 07, 2018 11:44 pm

Good Night Peter Chamberlain,

The following is the details of my systems full specs and OS version:

OS Name Microsoft Windows 10 Education
Version 10.0.15063 Build 15063
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name VAUGHN-PC
System Manufacturer TOSHIBA
System Model Satellite L755
System Type x64-based PC
System SKU PSK1WU-05E004
Processor Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU B940 @ 2.00GHz, 2000 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date INSYDE 3.60, 26/06/2012
SMBIOS Version 2.7
Embedded Controller Version 2.90
BIOS Mode LegacyBaseBoard Manufacturer Intel Corp.
BaseBoard Model Not Available
BaseBoard Name Base Board
Platform Role Mobile
Secure Boot State Unsupported
PCR7 Configuration Binding Not Possible
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale Trinidad and Tobago
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "10.0.15063.850"
User Name Vaughn-PC\Vaughn
Time Zone Paraguay Standard Time
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 3.95 GB
Available Physical Memory 544 MB
Total Virtual Memory 7.95 GB
Available Virtual Memory 3.20 GB
Page File Space 4.00 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
Device Guard Virtualization based security Not enabled
Device Encryption Support Reasons for failed automatic device encryption: TPM is not usable, PCR7 binding is not supported, Hardware Security Test Interface failed and device is not InstantGo, Un-allowed DMA capable bus/device(s) detected, TPM is not usable
Hyper-V - VM Monitor Mode Extensions No
Hyper-V - Second Level Address Translation Extensions No
Hyper-V - Virtualization Enabled in Firmware No
Hyper-V - Data Execution Protection Yes
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Best Regards,


Vaughn Nichols
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4804
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostTue Jan 09, 2018 1:58 am

Hi Vaughn, your system is not powerful enough for Resolve. Too little RAM, CPU too small and the screen res is not high enough.

Please review viewtopic.php?f=21&t=62582 if you would like to configure a system for Resolve.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Vaughn Nichols

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 4:56 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostTue Jan 09, 2018 2:01 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Hi Vaughn, your system is not powerful enough for Resolve. Too little RAM, CPU too small and the screen res is not high enough.

Please review https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/view ... 21&t=62582 if you would like to configure a system for Resolve.
Thanks for responding and for the advice given Peter. I will try to configure my system

Vaughn Nichols



Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk
Offline

viasatan

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:17 pm
  • Real Name: Olivia Pang

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostMon Feb 26, 2018 4:20 pm

Hi, unfortunately i am facing the same problems,
may i know how did you resolve the problem?
My RAM is also the same as yours.

Olivia
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 1:35 am

You are going to need a newer, more powerful computer to run Resolve. An i7 4 core processor, At least 16gb RAM, and a graphics card with a minimum of 2gb VRAM, though 4gb would be better, and a CUDA rating of 3.0 or above.
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve 15.1.1 (free), Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

viasatan

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:17 pm
  • Real Name: Olivia Pang

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 9:04 am

thank you!
Offline

sevanbal18

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:38 pm
  • Real Name: Sevan Balian

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 15

PostFri Aug 10, 2018 1:49 pm

Hi,

I keep getting the following message after I installed Davinci Resolve 15.

"DaVinci Resolve could find any OpenCL capable GPUs. Would you like to review and update your DaVinci Resolve Hardware Configuration?... Please ensure that appropriate GPU drivers are installed and your DaVinci Resolve hardware is configured appropriately."

What can I do to solve this problem?

Thank you in advance,
Sevan
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostFri Aug 10, 2018 4:55 pm

Which GPU do you have?
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

sevanbal18

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 1:38 pm
  • Real Name: Sevan Balian

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostFri Aug 10, 2018 6:42 pm

Dear Uli Plank,

The information about the graphics card is the following:

Name: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family
Manufacture: Intel Corporation
Chip Type: Intel)r) HD Graphics Family
DAC type: Internal
Device Type: Full Display Device
Approx. Total Memory: 2012 MB
Display Memory (VRAM): 112 MB
Shared Memory: 1899 MB
Current Display Mode: 1600 * 900 (32bit) (50Hz)
Monitor: LCD 1600 * 900
HDR: Not supported

Thank you,
Sevan
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3489
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostSat Aug 11, 2018 3:40 am

That Intel graphics is massively underpowered for Resolve, it will never run on 112 MB VRAM.
Please check the configuration guide, and this might be helpful too: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=77596
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

blue45323

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:20 pm
  • Real Name: Brian Synman

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostMon Sep 10, 2018 5:25 pm

Hello I am experiencing the same error after just updating my Nvidia Drivers with Resolve 15. I twas working just fine until I restarted my PC to update my graphics drivers.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4492
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Error message when I try to launch DaVinci Resolve 14.2

PostTue Sep 11, 2018 3:40 am

What driver did you install? What type of GPU do you have? Does reverting to the previous driver fix the issue, and if so, what version is that?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bryan Worsley, Chris Holmes and 20 guests