Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" install

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

RobertD

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:18 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Castle

Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" install

PostThu Jan 25, 2018 9:58 pm

I get the following error when I try to run Resolve after a successful install:

Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

The procedure entry point clEnqueueMarkerWithWaitList could not be located in the dynamic link library C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Resolve.exe.

What is happening here? Help please if anyone on here has any solution to this error. This has happened to me twice now that I have uninstalled/reinstalled this software.

Thanks in advance.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 394
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostThu Jan 25, 2018 11:23 pm

Without any system info including OS, Resolve version, etc, no one can help you.
Look here: http://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=54509
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve 15.2.1 (free), Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

RobertD

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:18 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Castle

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri Jan 26, 2018 12:38 am

Normally I would agree that some system specs would be beneficial. In this case the error I am getting is not performance related but an installation problem. For the sake of argument I am running on an Hp All-in-one 600 with Win 10 and a Nvidia GeForce 200 with 64 Mb memory. I dont recall exact processor specs but as I say a missing dll has nothing to do with that IMHO.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4985
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri Jan 26, 2018 1:21 am

A GeForce 200 is not suitable for Resolve v14.

You can review the configuration guide at the top of this section for details.

Peter
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

RobertD

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:18 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Castle

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri Jan 26, 2018 1:41 am

Thank you for that Peter. I was afraid of that. I guess I will move on to the next product. Better luck next time.
Offline

noreaction

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:47 pm
  • Real Name: James Clinard

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostMon Jan 29, 2018 4:08 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:A GeForce 200 is not suitable for Resolve v14.

You can review the configuration guide at the top of this section for details.

Peter


My specs are Windows 7 64 bit intel i7-2600 at 3.5 Ghz 16 gb ram, and a geforce gtx 970 graphics card. I was running resolve 12 free with no problems at all, and saw that there was an update, so today I uninstalled v12 and installed the most current version as of today, v 14.2.1 free and when I did the same error came up

"The procedure entry point clEnqueueMarkerWithWaitList could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-core-synch-l1-2-0.dll"

so I uninstalled v14, deleted everything from blackmagic and davinci resolve in the program files and the documents, and reinstalled. Then the same error came up but naming a different file now:

"The procedure entry point DeleteCriticalSelectrion could not be located in the dynamic link library api-ms-win-core-synch-l1-2-0.dll"

I am at a loss. What did I do wrong? How can I fix it? A clean reinstall doesn't seem to work.
Offline

keithsnyder

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:27 am
  • Real Name: Keith R Snyder

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostThu Feb 01, 2018 3:31 am

I have a GTX670 video card. It that compatible with Resolve 14? I'm also getting the "The procedure entry point clEnqueueMarkerWithWaitList could not be located in the dynamic link library OpenCL.dll" error. I'm running Win 7 Ultimate on a quadcore 3.1 with 16G of RAM, if that matters. I also tried to put Davinci on my Toshiba notebook just to see what would happen and got the same error message. Thanks
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4985
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri Feb 02, 2018 2:28 am

Guys, you will need better computer configurations. Please review viewtopic.php?f=21&t=62582
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

mmullings

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:00 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Mullings

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostTue Mar 06, 2018 6:02 pm

Having same issue. Worked fine for a long time... hardware is above and beyond min. requirements.

**** Possible Fix ****

Uninstalled and manually deleted everything from Program Data folder as well as Program Files folder.

Reinstalled - and back up and running.

Hope it helps someone else...
Offline

DavidYung

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:38 am
  • Real Name: David Yung

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostSun Mar 18, 2018 12:49 am

I just came across the same issue on my machine which is an exotic config (Xeon 2699v4 dual CPU, outdated GT630 GPU). It's my first time ever with video editing.

The steps below solved the issue for my specific case.

I had to install the latest Intel CPU OpenCL drivers & libraries for my machine in order to solve this problem. It's not straightforward. I had to install the runtimes in the link below.

Intel CPU : software.intel.com/en-us/articles/opencl-drivers#latest_CPU_runtime
Nvidia GPU : ships with latest drivers
AMD/ATI : support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/OpenCL2-Driver.aspx

OpenCL is a heterogeneous computing language that makes use of both CPU and GPU. The drivers and libraries need to be up to date because Resolve 14 seems to make use of new functions that were released in OpenCL 1.2/2.0

Hope this helps !
Offline

guanche

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 1:42 pm
  • Real Name: David Brady

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri Mar 30, 2018 1:55 pm

Installing the Intel CPU driver as per Mr Yung's comment fixed it for me
Offline

LostInTheMagic

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 7:48 pm
  • Real Name: Bob Smith

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 10:12 am

HI, I am getting this same error. Thank You.
Offline

Haavard Pettersen

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu May 12, 2016 5:46 pm

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri May 11, 2018 9:56 am

I get this error after the latest Windows 10 update. Resolve worked well before this.

Latest Resolve 14 version
GT 740 graphics card.

Before y'all start complaining about my graphics card, let me repeat that things worked well before the latest Windows 10 update.

UPDATE:
Reinstalling graphics card drivers cured it (even though Windows believed they were the latest available)
Last edited by Haavard Pettersen on Sun May 13, 2018 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 394
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostFri May 11, 2018 11:31 am

I have had a Windows update affect my graphics card to the point where it would not function. The solution was to re-install the nVidia drivers. Now all is well.
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve 15.2.1 (free), Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

Steve Waller

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 2:48 pm

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 1:29 am

mmullings wrote:Having same issue. Worked fine for a long time... hardware is above and beyond min. requirements.

**** Possible Fix ****

Uninstalled and manually deleted everything from Program Data folder as well as Program Files folder.

Reinstalled - and back up and running.

Hope it helps someone else...

This was a winner for me with Resolve 15 studio. Soooo glad I didn’t have to reimage my Win10 PC. Thanks
Offline
User avatar

Grant McNair

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2016 3:11 am

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostWed Sep 12, 2018 3:11 am

mmullings wrote

Having same issue. Worked fine for a long time... hardware is above and beyond min. requirements.

**** Possible Fix ****

Uninstalled and manually deleted everything from Program Data folder as well as Program Files folder.

Reinstalled - and back up and running.

Hope it helps someone else...


This worked for me on Windows 8.1
Offline

michhes

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2018 5:41 am
  • Real Name: Michael Hanes

Re: Unable to launch Davinci Resolve after "successful" inst

PostTue Sep 18, 2018 5:47 am

Same issue here, running Windows 8.1 on an older HP Elitebook 8440p.

A bit of digging suggests my Intel Core i7 does not support OpenCL (although my Nvidia GPU does...). I used cpu-z to confirm the CPU does include support for SSE4.2 but not AVX. No idea what exactly that means but I suspect OpenCL is somehow reliant on the AVX instructions.

I additionally tried downloading OpenCL runtime (or, specifically, the Intel SDK) but the installer confirmed OpenCL was not available on my system and errored out.

Was always going to be a struggle on this laptop anyway (with a "mere" 8GB of RAM).

Hope this helps someone.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: enottingham, Google Feedfetcher, Jack Swart, Jim Simon, Jon Hustead and 30 guests