Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ben Johnston

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:43 pm

Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostSat Feb 24, 2018 1:07 pm

Does anyone else get a piercing, life-shortening (if you're wearing headphones) oscillation by dragging up to 20K in the Frequency box of Band 6?

The knob takes the position of the filter to '20K0', with no issues. Dragging the text field for Frequency then changes it to simply '20K', which is when the hell begins. It happens in either of the first two filter types.

Quite nice for replicating a circuit-bent toy, but not much else...

14.3
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostSat Feb 24, 2018 3:31 pm

What exactly are you trying to do? Reason I ask is that there is very little useful information that high in the frequency spectrum. Most people can't hear that high anyway.
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline

Ben Johnston

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:43 pm

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostFri Mar 02, 2018 11:58 am

Byron Dickens wrote:there is very little useful information that high in the frequency spectrum


Exactly - I'm trying to adjust a low-pass filter.

If nobody else is experiencing this, it might be due to a combination of plug-ins that I'm using. Will investigate.
Offline

Ben Johnston

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:43 pm

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostSun Mar 04, 2018 5:18 pm

Here it is. No other plug-ins...

https://player.vimeo.com/video/258502920
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 263
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostMon Mar 05, 2018 12:04 am

just tried it on my win10 machine. If I hover the mouse over the dial all is fine, if I hover over the numerical box and try to adjust it silences my audio.


is there any offline media in the timeline. For some reason, I get a lot of audio issues if there is any media off line anywhere in the timeline
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k| 32GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 14.3
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 87
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostMon Mar 05, 2018 12:45 am

Does it happen only if you're sweeping the eq band around during playback?
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline

Jeff Brass

  • Posts: 263
  • Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 7:46 am

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostMon Mar 05, 2018 1:16 am

just did some more checking...and holy cr@p - trying to sweep while audio playing resulted in LARGE cracks and pops - I don't think my speaker cones have ever moved that much before. :o

something really is amiss here.

I'm still doing virtually all of my audio editing outside of resolve...and I think I'll keep going that way for now...quite like my speaker cones staying as part of my speakers!!
Win10 Pro x64 | i7 5930k| 32GB RAM |GTX 1080 8gb | Mini Monitor | DR Studio 14.3
Offline

Ben Johnston

  • Posts: 62
  • Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:43 pm

Re: Painful audio glitches in EQ (Band 6)

PostThu Mar 08, 2018 1:07 pm

Byron Dickens wrote:Does it happen only if you're sweeping the eq band around during playback?


No, it often happens with no playback. But only on the low-pass filter band.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Viper8 and 16 guests