DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

ludogomez

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:30 pm
  • Real Name: Ludovic GOMEZ

DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 4:35 pm

Hi everybody,

I try Resolve 14 on my laptop, I try 14.0 14.1 and 14.3 and I have the same behaviour.

When I launch Resolve, I access on project selector but after when I create a new project, the resolve shutdown without message.

It works with Resolve 12.

Thanks for your help.

Regards
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 6:27 pm

What OS, CPU and GPU are in your laptop?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

ludogomez

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:30 pm
  • Real Name: Ludovic GOMEZ

Re: DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 8:39 pm

Hi,

Excuse me.

I have :
intel i7 M620 @ 2.66Ghz
8Gb RAM
FX1800M
Win10 Fall Creator

Thanks
Regards
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostTue Feb 27, 2018 10:58 pm

Resolve 14 requires an NVIDIA GPU that supports CUDA compute capability 3.0 or higher.

The FX1800M supports CUDA 1.2.

So Resolve 14 is not going to work on that system.

One thing you can try, go into Resolve Preferences - System - Hardware Configuration, and manually set the GPU Processing mode to OpenCL. Save the preferences and restart Resolve. That might work better, but won't work well, and the video will probably go away if you apply a LUT.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Online
User avatar

carlomacchiavello

  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:04 pm
  • Location: italy

Re: DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostWed Feb 28, 2018 6:50 am

I have a similar notebook, 12.5 work, 14 not enough resource on gpu to work. And 12.5 work in hd not more red due gpu memory limits


Inviato dal mio iPhone utilizzando Tapatalk
Offline

ludogomez

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:30 pm
  • Real Name: Ludovic GOMEZ

Re: DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostWed Feb 28, 2018 4:15 pm

Hi,

I can't enter in resolve. The software shutdown before it start. I can't modify settings.

Thanks,
regards.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5532
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci Resolve 14 can't start

PostWed Feb 28, 2018 11:27 pm

In /Library/Preferences/Blackmagic Design/DaVinci Resolve, open the config.dat file in TextEdit and add this at the bottom of the file:

Local.GPU.Mode = OpenCL

Save the file and exit TextEdit.

Launch Resolve. It should launch in OpenCL mode. Immediately go to Resolve Preferences - Hardware Configuration and set the GPU Processing Mode to OpenCL and save the preferences and restart Resolve.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hellotania, Jeremy, Synth and 71 guests