R3Ds too contrasty in 14.3

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Frazer Bradshaw

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:12 pm

R3Ds too contrasty in 14.3

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 4:49 am

Forgive me if this has been discussed previously -- I looked, but didn't find anything evident.

I have a project that was originally graded in 12.5, and I just opened it in 14.3 (Resolve was just updated to latest version of 14 today), and the R3D media is showing up much more contrasty than is should be. I say this based on the fact that the VFX work (made from the R3D originals in 12.something) is ProRes4444, and those look correct; the R3D original media is still on the timeline below, so turning off the ProRes reveals the same shot as an R3D but much more contrasty. VFX are all log (REDlog film) renders from the R3Ds, BTW.

I consulted with the post house who did the initial work, and was able to confirm that all settings are consistent between their machine (still running 12.5) and what I'm looking at.

This is on an iMac 27" Retina from late 2014. And the R3Ds were shot on an Weapon/Dragon (I'm still embarrassed to type that).

Anyone seen this or have any insights?

Thanks!!!
Frazer
Frazer Bradshaw
Director of Photography
Oakland, CA
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4973
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: R3Ds too contrasty in 14.3

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 11:28 am

Did you check your RAW settings? They might be at a different setting the RLF.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Frazer Bradshaw

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: R3Ds too contrasty in 14.3

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 5:00 pm

Yep, checked the RAW settings. Thanks though.
Frazer Bradshaw
Director of Photography
Oakland, CA
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 962
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: R3Ds too contrasty in 14.3

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 5:17 pm

I would also check your Gamma value for the Viewport in your project settings to make sure they didn't switch from 2.2 to 2.4.

Lastly, do a test render and play it in something like VLC against the previous renders to see if the results differ.

It is unfortunate that Resolve doesn't allow for multiple versions to be installed on the same machine, I think it would save a great deal of headaches while getting people to adopt the new versions sooner.
>>Kays Alatrakchi
Filmmaker based in Los Angeles, CA
http://moviesbykays.com
Resolve 16, Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra), i7 8700k, 32Gb DDR4 RAM, Dual GTX 1080ti, Decklink Mini Monitor, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline

Frazer Bradshaw

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:12 pm

Re: R3Ds too contrasty in 14.3

PostThu Mar 01, 2018 11:01 pm

I figured it out. In the original 12 session, "Apply Metadata Curves" was checked. It was also checked in 14. But as I methodically tried every variable, that was the one. For whatever reason it was either not functioning or functioning differently in 12 than it is in 14. Why, I'll never know, because now I'm a day behind on delivering the film to the sales agent, and I have no more bandwidth to wonder...

Thanks Kays and Uli, and everyone who scratched their head about my problem.

Cheers,
Frazer
Frazer Bradshaw
Director of Photography
Oakland, CA

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dieter Scheel, Philippe GALLE, Thomas Milde and 78 guests