How to extend a clip so that it will loop?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

TheMrNate

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Devin Madron

How to extend a clip so that it will loop?

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 4:38 pm

I created a 20-second particle overlay in After Effects and the beginning and end make a seamless loop. In Vegas, a clip would loop if you extended it. When I try to extend the clip in Resolve, the edge of the clip just turns red and I can't extend it. I know there has to be a way to extend the clip and have it loop rather than dragging the same clip into the timeline over and over again, but I can't figure it out!
Offline
User avatar

Hector Berrebi

  • Posts: 471
  • Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: How to extend a clip so that it will loop?

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 5:48 pm

TheMrNate wrote:I created a 20-second particle overlay in After Effects and the beginning and end make a seamless loop. In Vegas, a clip would loop if you extended it. When I try to extend the clip in Resolve, the edge of the clip just turns red and I can't extend it. I know there has to be a way to extend the clip and have it loop rather than dragging the same clip into the timeline over and over again, but I can't figure it out!


Hey Devin

There isn't.

Best you can do is Ctrl C - Ctrl V as quickly as your fingers let you ;)
H e c t o r _ B e r r e b i
---------------------------
Colorist ~ Consultant ~ Trainer
Da Vinci Resolve Certified Instructor
Offline

TheMrNate

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:46 pm
  • Real Name: Devin Madron

Re: How to extend a clip so that it will loop?

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 6:08 pm

Hector Berrebi wrote:
Hey Devin

There isn't.

Best you can do is Ctrl C - Ctrl V as quickly as your fingers let you ;)


I see :( Thanks for the reply! Is there a place where I can suggest this feature to be implemented?
Offline
User avatar

Hector Berrebi

  • Posts: 471
  • Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:10 pm

Re: How to extend a clip so that it will loop?

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 6:20 pm

TheMrNate wrote:I see :( Thanks for the reply! Is there a place where I can suggest this feature to be implemented?


This thread - https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=58534

Though I seriously doubt acceptance by users.

This is a quite nontraditional feature in NLEs. In most cases I can think of you'd want a clip to end when it runs out of frames. :)
H e c t o r _ B e r r e b i
---------------------------
Colorist ~ Consultant ~ Trainer
Da Vinci Resolve Certified Instructor
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 1428
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: How to extend a clip so that it will loop?

PostWed Mar 07, 2018 7:45 pm

TheMrNate wrote:I know there has to be a way to extend the clip and have it loop


That's very unusual behavior. I've never seen an NLE do that.

I'd be one of those arguing it shouldn't. Clips end where they end.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: etang77, Gabriele Gelfo, Geert Geerits, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Johannes Martinsson, Micha Clazing, Shrinivas Ramani and 34 guests