Rendering individual clips with correct audio

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

effectsdroid

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:02 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Farris

Rendering individual clips with correct audio

PostSun Mar 11, 2018 2:37 am

So, I put some clips on a timeline, do a quick grade, add final audio, delete scratch track audio, export as individual clips, then get clips with scratch audio. No final audio anywhere. Huh?

Thinking maybe it’s a bug, so I’ll update the version I have. Well, that didn’t fix it. Multiple versions later…

Search for answer to problem online. Find something on Youtube about exporting clips as one clip with “Main 1 (Stereo)” selected instead of “Timeline Track”. Great! Works if I select only one clip at a time and render it out. One at a time. 1 clip down, 20 to go. One at a time. “Clear my schedule, I’m going to be here a while…”

So, why have the “Render Individual Clips” button if you only get part of your individual clip? Or, scratch audio that no longer exists on the timeline but now, somehow, it reappears on the rendered clip?

Wow, what a waste of time. You know would be neat? Being able to batch render “individual clips” like one of the options says on the export menu, AND get the correct audio. I know, right? What concept.

I really want Resolve to be my “go to” application for editing, grading, audio and finishing. I REALLY do. But, in the end, I just end up grading in Resolve and finishing in Adobe Premiere. You don’t know how much that pains me.

So, is it me? Something I’m missing? Is it a bug that’s eluded the engineers at BMD? What gives?

Again, why have that feature if you can’t export the correct audio? It’s all there on the timeline, just like when I had to select and render as one clip.

So I send this out to you, the Resolve Community, and plead for direction, enlightenment, words of wisdom in my time of need.

Thanks for letting me vent…
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 113
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Rendering individual clips with correct audio

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 5:20 pm

Ya know...

If you make a post that says "I'm trying to do [blank] and having trouble," you might get better responses than when you come on here and rant about how this crappy software can't do something simple.

With that said, I did not have any trouble at all doing just that. After putting my video and audio together and chopping it up into individual songs, I added each one into the render queue and away I went.

Are you doing something different?
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4429
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Rendering individual clips with correct audio

PostWed Mar 14, 2018 12:31 am

When you render using Individual Clip mode, you get source file audio and/or audio that has been synced to the source video files in the Media Pool. You don't get timeline audio.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

effectsdroid

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:02 am
  • Real Name: Dennis Farris

Re: Rendering individual clips with correct audio

PostSat Mar 17, 2018 5:10 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:When you render using Individual Clip mode, you get source file audio and/or audio that has been synced to the source video files in the Media Pool. You don't get timeline audio.

Thanks, Dwaine. It would be nice to be able to render out individual clips with additional audio from timeline, though. I'll look into syncing in Media Pool. Your reply was helpful.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dustin Bowser, Google [Bot], Peter Chamberlain and 20 guests