Watermark when using noise reduction

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

msundman

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:48 am
  • Real Name: Marcus Sundman

Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 1:19 am

A huge watermark appears when I try to use noise reduction in the non-studio version.

I'm using this version for hobby projects to see if this software is worth using for real projects. Noise reduction is needed precisely in these kinds of hobby projects with less than optimal cameras and lighting. (In our real projects we have not so much need for denoising, although it certainly would be nice there, too.)

There's no info on the webpages what the differences between the studio and non-studio versions are. If there really is no denoising at all available in the non-studio version then I won't even bother evaluating this software, but I certainly hope that I'm mistaken. Am I?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4985
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 6:47 am

The Noise reduction is a Studio only feature.
It's noted here in the NR text.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/produc ... olve/color
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

msundman

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:48 am
  • Real Name: Marcus Sundman

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 4:19 pm

How about making a version comparison page, so people won't waste countless hours just to find out that it's completely useless to them?
And it would be sensible to have at least some kind of denoising in the version which people will most likely use with noisy sources. I'm sure there are plenty of liberally licensed algorithms, or even easier to make a slower version of your existing one, since the speed increase would be plenty of incentive for real projects anyway.
Offline
User avatar

Frank Wylie

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 3:13 am
  • Location: Culpeper, Virginia

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 6:53 pm

Sounds like this product is not for you.

You can ask for your money back... oh wait...
Frank Wylie
Chief Timer, NAVCC
Library of Congress

"Opinions expressed are my own."

HP Z840 16 core w/64GB RAM
nVidia Quadro M4000 +M5000
4K Decklink 4K Extreme
Dell UP2715K +Ezio Cg 318-4K
Tangent Wave Panel
Resolve 12.5
Windows 7 Pro
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 7:02 pm

Countless hours?

It takes me about 12.34 seconds to click on something and see the window asking me to upgrade....

Just sayin....


Oh, and Resolve Studio costs less than most denoising plugins I've seen.
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 762
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 7:37 pm

msundman wrote:How about making a version comparison page, so people won't waste countless hours just to find out that it's completely useless to them?
And it would be sensible to have at least some kind of denoising in the version which people will most likely use with noisy sources. I'm sure there are plenty of liberally licensed algorithms, or even easier to make a slower version of your existing one, since the speed increase would be plenty of incentive for real projects anyway.



Are you for real or do you work for Adobe?
>>Kays Alatrakchi
www.mbkproductions.com
Director, Colorist, Composer (not necessarily in that order).
Resolve 15.2, Mac OS X 10.13.5 (High Sierra), i7 8700k, 32Gb DDR4 RAM, Dual GTX 1080ti, Decklink Mini Monitor, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4349
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 8:05 pm

msundman wrote:And it would be sensible to have at least some kind of denoising in the version which people will most likely use with noisy sources.


Are you going to sponsor it for all of us?
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 1441
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 8:09 pm

Frank Wylie wrote:You can ask for your money back... oh wait...


Oh, damn! :lol:
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 8:12 pm

msundman wrote:How about making a version comparison page, so people won't waste countless hours just to find out that it's completely useless to them?
And it would be sensible to have at least some kind of denoising in the version which people will most likely use with noisy sources. I'm sure there are plenty of liberally licensed algorithms, or even easier to make a slower version of your existing one, since the speed increase would be plenty of incentive for real projects anyway.


Dude, are you really complaining about a free piece of software lacking a feature?

Pony up the $300 and call it a day.
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 478
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 8:20 pm

Kays Alatrakchi wrote:Are you for real or do you work for Adobe?


Most likely just your typical Adobe user......... I'd like to expand on my first sentence, but I'm pretty sure the moderation staff wouldn't appreciate it! :lol:
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE, DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 17134.471, Resolve Studio 15.2.2.007
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 8:49 pm

In fairness, I will say it would be very handy to have a link to a side-by-side feature comparison chart right up front.

But jeez... wasting "countless hours?" I'd say the OP needs more than just a feature comparison chart.
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline

bjornzitting

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:09 pm
  • Real Name: Bjorn Zitting

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 9:22 pm

[quote="Peter Chamberlain"]The Noise reduction is a Studio only feature.
It's noted here in the NR text.

I think the discussions around this topic is very relevant for all of us

Please publish the table you of course have showing the difference between free and Studio license
Also difference feature wise between Mac/Windows/Linux free and Studio license
These facts will simplify things for all of us, and reduce a lot of complaints on the forum!

We are really grateful for the free version and for the low price on the Studio license!

I have one Resolve Studio dongle and am very grateful for the quality of it on a iMac 5k - but the HW is slow...
My attempts to make a AMD Threadripper with Linux CentosOS from BMD to give same functionality with much better performance is still a struggle - when your Linux Resolve delivers this I will order another Studio license :)

The things I got working on Linux is impressing, bur not enough to make it the primary environment
As several others on the forum showed, you could with a few changes get the Linux Resolve be a 'reference dist', and then upgrade it to most/all the features MacOS/Windows dist already have

As several on the forum already written, this would be a 'killer' performance wise
Really hope for 'something' from NAB on the Linux Resolve
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4946
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 9:47 pm

msundman wrote:A huge watermark appears when I try to use noise reduction in the non-studio version.

The Blackmagic promo material says:

The free version of DaVinci Resolve has all of the professional editing, legendary color correction and Fairlight audio tools you need for SD, HD and Ultra HD work at up to 60 frames per second. DaVinci Resolve Studio adds support for 4K and higher, along with frame rates up to 120 fps. It also includes dozens of additional image processing features and filters that are not in the free version. This includes film grain, temporal and spatial noise reduction, amazing new face enhancement tools, lens flares, lens distortion correction, optical quality blur and mist effects, match move, warping and much more!

Given that they cut the price of Resolve by 2/3 some time ago, be glad you didn't spend $999 for it and instead can now buy it for $299. The glass is half full.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

bjornzitting

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:09 pm
  • Real Name: Bjorn Zitting

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 10:03 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:
msundman wrote:A huge watermark appears when I try to use noise reduction in the non-studio version.

The Blackmagic promo material says:

The free version of DaVinci Resolve has all of the professional editing, legendary color correction and Fairlight audio tools you need for SD, HD and Ultra HD work at up to 60 frames per second. DaVinci Resolve Studio adds support for 4K and higher, along with frame rates up to 120 fps. It also includes dozens of additional image processing features and filters that are not in the free version. This includes film grain, temporal and spatial noise reduction, amazing new face enhancement tools, lens flares, lens distortion correction, optical quality blur and mist effects, match move, warping and much more!

Given that they cut the price of Resolve by 2/3 some time ago, be glad you didn't spend $999 for it and instead can now buy it for $299. The glass is half full.


Hi Marc
Fully agree, although the description doesn't describe difference between Mac/Win/Linux and their differences on free/Studio licence


I want my Linux Threadripper
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4946
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 11:04 pm

bjornzitting wrote:Fully agree, although the description doesn't describe difference between Mac/Win/Linux and their differences on free/Studio licence...

It's complicated by the fact that there are at least two Linux versions: the regular $299 version, and then the $29,995 version with the Advanced Panels that can do ProRes. I agree that a "product chart" would help to clarify the versions.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostTue Mar 13, 2018 11:35 pm

Chip.Murphy wrote:
Dude, are you really complaining about a free piece of software lacking a feature?

Pony up the $300 and call it a day.


I wonder if he's related to the woman I overheard complaining about the prices at the Goodwill.
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline

msundman

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:48 am
  • Real Name: Marcus Sundman

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostWed Mar 14, 2018 2:40 am

How nice some of you people here are. Truly pleasant personalities. Like you want a high-five. In the face. With a chair.

Is it really too much to ask for a comparison chart like pretty much every other manufacturer on the planet provides and apparent BMD also *did* provide earlier but removed for reasons unknown?

Frank Wylie wrote:You can ask for your money back... oh wait...

By that "oh wait.." I assume you realized that the "money" in question was in the form of time wasted, which you surely understood from me writing that lots of time was wasted. Right?

Byron Dickens wrote:Countless hours?

It takes me about 12.34 seconds to click on something and see the window asking me to upgrade...

Yes, countless. First I struggled for quite a while trying to get the linux version working. After that I struggled quite some time to get the Mac version working (like getting CUDA drivers etc, because DVR's error message wasn't indicating that it'd work without CUDA). Then learning the basics of the software. Then transformations (which are awful, because apparently there's no way to align edges or keep the viewport within the media, so you either risk getting black borders in your frame or missing a sliver of the image). Then a bunch of GFX memory errors for no apparent reason. Restarts, switching graphics cards etc. Then 12.34 seconds noticing that there's no denoising. But hey, don't worry, I guess you tried your best at this thinking thing before you wrote. Better luck next time.

Byron Dickens wrote:Oh, and Resolve Studio costs less than most denoising plugins I've seen.

And practically all denoising I've used have been free. Often ports of mplayer's HQ 3D denoising filter with chroma/luma and spatial/temporal separations. That one is about 300 lines of code, clean, and shouldn't take more than a lunch break for a DVR developer to integrate into a plugin.

Dan Sherman wrote:
Kays Alatrakchi wrote:Are you for real or do you work for Adobe?

Most likely just your typical Adobe user

FWIW I can't stand Adobe's products. They are horrible to use and produce bad quality out-of-the-box. But hey, don't let facts get in the way of your ad hominem attack, Dan & Kays...
Offline

msundman

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 12:48 am
  • Real Name: Marcus Sundman

Re: Watermark when using noise reduction

PostWed Mar 14, 2018 2:53 am

Chip.Murphy wrote:
msundman wrote:How about making a version comparison page, so people won't waste countless hours just to find out that it's completely useless to them?
And it would be sensible to have at least some kind of denoising in the version which people will most likely use with noisy sources. I'm sure there are plenty of liberally licensed algorithms, or even easier to make a slower version of your existing one, since the speed increase would be plenty of incentive for real projects anyway.


Dude, are you really complaining about a free piece of software lacking a feature?

Pony up the $300 and call it a day.

I've wasted way more than $300 in time evaluating this software already.
And of course I can offer my point of view or criticism about gratis software, even if I hadn't wasted any other time on it.
How can you even function properly as a human if you don't see value in criticism? But OK, in that case I won't waste any more time giving you any..

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jason Conrad and 17 guests