Constant crashing on timeline operations

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostWed Mar 14, 2018 3:38 pm

I am suddenly having a problem with Resolve crashing constantly. It is triggered by most timeline related tasks. The cache is empty and this happens across all projects, even if I create a new one.

These commands are all causing an instant crash:
  • Create new timeline
  • Duplicate timeline
  • Open in timeline
  • Create new project
  • New timeline using selected clip
  • Create multicam

You can see how limiting this is, I can't get anything done outside the currently open timeline! I'm at my wit's end here trying different preferences. All the caches and optimized media are clear, all drives have plenty of space. I recently had to move the cache location because it was filling my drive, then after clearing it out to free up space again I moved it back. I think something may have gone wrong in that process because there is a constant error in the log "failed to mark cache status, frame is out of bound".

Crash Report
  • https://drive.google.com/open?id=1y3RzQR_Pp7faDB0j0IyoFAJQ6l1NFDYt

Please let me know if you can see in the log what is causing this or anything I might try to get back to work.

Thank you!
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4435
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostWed Mar 14, 2018 11:35 pm

Looks like it MIGHT have something to do with GUI settings on the Fairlight page.

In the Resolve Workspace menu, select Reset UI Layout and see if that fixes it.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4589
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 4:00 am

vincentlepes wrote:I recently had to move the cache location because it was filling my drive, then after clearing it out to free up space again I moved it back.

What cache settings are you using? There are some "dangerous" ones available, particularly in the uncompressed options, and those will be slow on your system and require massive amounts of space. I have run Resolve on a Trashcan Mac with dual D500's, and it's slow and tedious, particularly with large files. You can limp by with Optimized Media, but my opinion is that you'll be better off with either less stressful source files or upgrading your hardware (or both).
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 4:08 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Looks like it MIGHT have something to do with GUI settings on the Fairlight page.

In the Resolve Workspace menu, select Reset UI Layout and see if that fixes it.


No dice, unfortunately. It still crashes. See any other ideas in there, perhaps?
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 4:28 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:
vincentlepes wrote:I recently had to move the cache location because it was filling my drive, then after clearing it out to free up space again I moved it back.

What cache settings are you using? There are some "dangerous" ones available, particularly in the uncompressed options, and those will be slow on your system and require massive amounts of space. I have run Resolve on a Trashcan Mac with dual D500's, and it's slow and tedious, particularly with large files. You can limp by with Optimized Media, but my opinion is that you'll be better off with either less stressful source files or upgrading your hardware (or both).


Well, my source files aren't too heavy (1080/24, mostly) and I got through a few projects with an expected amount of slowness considering my hardware. Most of my previous problems were indeed tied to the cache filling up, and clearing it from time to time helped immensely. This feels more like an error to me, I mean that my cache is clean and I can edit fine, but if I touch anything in that menu the whole app just dies immediately.

Let me know what settings are in question, I would love to be running optimally, regardless. Here are the settings I'm aware of, please advise if you see anything I should change. Unfortunately a hardware upgrade isn't going to be in the cards anytime soon, unless it's something I can upgrade on my current trashcan (which as you know is infamously not very upgradeable).

Here are the settings, let me know what else I could provide to help.

  • Media Storage Location is a scratch drive separate from my system drive and my media/storage drive. It's an SSD, 250GB, formatted APFS if any of that helps.
  • User > Playback Settings > Performance Mode > Automatic
  • Playback:
    • Use Optimized Media if Available: checked
    • Proxy Mode: off
    • Performance Mode: checked
    • Render Cache: Smart
  • Project Settings:
    • Timeline > 1920 x 1080 HD, 24p, 10bit
    • Optimized Media and Render Cache:
      • Optimized Media Resolution > Choose Automatically
      • Optimized Media Format > ProRes 422 HQ
      • Render Cache Format > ProRes 422 HQ
      • Enable Background Caching after 5 seconds
    • Working Folders:
      • Cache Files Location: (Same scratch drive as above)
      • Gallery Stills Location: (Same scratch drive as above)

Let me know if there are any other settings I can provide or anything you see here that waves a red flag.
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 4:32 pm

And thank you both for taking the time to help me out!

I'm at a standstill at the moment and I really like the workflow and quality of Resolve over Premiere, but this problem is really holding me back and I'm running out of ideas to try. I know I got through a couple projects no more complicated than this one so it can be done, just something I can't pin down is crashing the program even when it isn't in the middle of any intensive tasks.

I should also mentioned I tried this with a new project and that also crashed the program, so I don't think it's background rendering or anything like that but I don't know what I don't know about that ;).
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2116
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 4:50 pm

I had a situation like this a couple of times. The nVidia drivers were the culprit most of the time, but I also discovered some other drivers that really hosed up stability, but just about everything that used my GPU was unstable then.

I have sometimes found that switching to OpenCL even with an nVidia card helped stability, oddly enough.
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
HP Spectre x360 Kaby Lake-R w/ 1080Ti eGPU in RazerCore
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostThu Mar 15, 2018 9:26 pm

Rakesh Malik wrote:I had a situation like this a couple of times. The nVidia drivers were the culprit most of the time, but I also discovered some other drivers that really hosed up stability, but just about everything that used my GPU was unstable then.

I have sometimes found that switching to OpenCL even with an nVidia card helped stability, oddly enough.


Unfortunately, that didn't really have an impact on the crashing but I recall OpenCL performing best on my last installation (the App Store version) so I will see if it seems to help performance once I'm back up and running again. Thanks for the insight!
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4795
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 2:36 am

You have the D500 GPUs so they are from AMD, no CUDA involved.

Do you have the GPU preferences set to Auto or OpenCL?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 4:46 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:You have the D500 GPUs so they are from AMD, no CUDA involved.

Do you have the GPU preferences set to Auto or OpenCL?


Correct, no CUDA. I have tried them both ways but left them on auto. I tried OpenCL at the previous advice but haven’t noticed any differences. However I haven’t been able to do anything taxing to know for sure if it made a difference. It still crashes on timeline tasks either way but if one setting is superior for my setup I’m glad to know :).
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3475
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 10:40 am

I'd suggest going back to Sierra.
We did this for two stations which we tried under High Sierra (ouch) and they are rock steady now.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4795
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 10:46 am

What type of clips are you trying to use?

Can you generate a diagnostic log.. from the help menu after restart?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 1:15 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:What type of clips are you trying to use?

Can you generate a diagnostic log.. from the help menu after restart?


It doesn’t seem to matter what type of clip, it’s operations in the media pool area that cause this crash. There is a link to the diagnostic in my original post, I just called it crash report for some reason. Let me know if anything in there jumps out at you. Thanks!
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1679
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 1:36 pm

Hi Vincent,

I am under windows. The only time I could not launch Davinci Resolve was after installing a .VST for a test. It was really not compatible => crash.

I uninstalled and everything has worked well since.

Have you installed VSTs recently?
Maybe test by uninstalling all VSTs if there is not enough for a test?
Windows 10 PRO X64 1709 and 1803 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.0.025 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.10.11
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 3:29 pm

Uli Plank wrote:I'd suggest going back to Sierra.
We did this for two stations which we tried under High Sierra (ouch) and they are rock steady now.


Unfortunately that isn't an option for me right now but this gives me hope things will get better as High Sierra gets better
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 3:31 pm

Jean Claude wrote:Hi Vincent,

I am under windows. The only time I could not launch Davinci Resolve was after installing a .VST for a test. It was really not compatible => crash.

I uninstalled and everything has worked well since.

Have you installed VSTs recently?
Maybe test by uninstalling all VSTs if there is not enough for a test?


I had some VST issues in the past that were stopping the app from even starting before it would crash. Switching from the App Store version to the BM website version fixed that right up for me. I don't see anything in my diagnostic logs about plugins this time, when it did that before there was a flood of error messages about it.
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 4:39 pm

THE PLOT THICKENS... :shock:

I was recording a quick screencast to demonstrate this problem so you all would have a better idea. Anyway, you can see the video at the link below and you can see it crash duplicating a timeline. I know I chose a large timeline but it doesn't matter, I could have created a new one or any number of actions there would have crashed it.

However, when I went to show that creating a new project also crashes Resolve, this time it did not crash and timeline operations were available within the new project.

This leads me to believe it is something within that project causing trouble. I will try porting it over into a new project piece by piece and seeing if it remains stable then.

I created a diagnostic log immediately after this crash and creation cycle. Everything you see in the video below are the last things that happened in the diagnostic log.

Video of Crash Behavior:

Diagnostic Log:
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostFri Mar 16, 2018 4:42 pm

vincentlepes wrote:...I will try porting it over into a new project piece by piece and seeing if it remains stable then.

FYI I tried this while the video was uploading and if I have anything in the clipboard from the old project or try to save it and open the new one from the project manager it crashes. I think there is a disconnect between the clips and the cache, from looking at the diagnostics, but I can't be sure.

Is there a way to force all the cache files to be created fresh? I deleted optimized media and deleted all render cache files but that didn't work.
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4795
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostSat Mar 17, 2018 2:46 am

Hi, are you trying to duplicate a master timeline?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostSat Mar 17, 2018 8:00 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Hi, are you trying to duplicate a master timeline?


I have tried a master timeline, multi cam timeline, another timeline I had created and this crash also happens if I attempt to create a new timeline, new timeline from clip or just opening anything in the timeline viewer. It seems like anything related to that area of the media pool triggers it
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostMon Mar 19, 2018 7:50 pm

Is there a premium level of support I can pay for to get help with this?

Unfortunately nothing here has worked and I can't hold up my work anymore so I think it's back to Adobe Premiere for me until I can get support that doesn't require days on end to work out an issue. I appreciate everyone pitching in ideas here but I need to move forward and waiting is no longer an option for me.

It may well be High Sierra as someone mentioned above, I have prowled the forums and seen how unstable this is. But you can't roll back from High Sierra, it reformats your drive in their new APFS structure. You can do a complete re-install from the ground up, but that is completely unreasonable just to see if a bug stops appearing. I don't have anymore days to spend on tech support.

Can't anyone glean anything from the diagnostic logs?

Are there any updates coming soon for High Sierra compatibility?

Any hope at all?
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4435
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostMon Mar 19, 2018 10:10 pm

Paid support for free Resolve?

The issue is related to audio somehow. Since Reset UI Layout didn't help, I'm pretty sure it's related to one of your VST plugins.

Go into Resolve Preferences - System - Audio Plugins. Uncheck ALL the VST related plugins, save the preferences and restart Resolve.

Did that take care of the issue?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4589
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 8:31 am

Uli Plank wrote:I'd suggest going back to Sierra. We did this for two stations which we tried under High Sierra (ouch) and they are rock steady now.

I have to say, I'm sticking with Sierra for the moment (10.12.6) purely from an "If It Ain't Broke, Don't Fix It" philosophy. Pro Tools, Premiere, Avid, and Resolve all work fine. This is on a 12-core Trashcan Mac with 64GB of RAM and dual D700s.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 2:41 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Paid support for free Resolve?

The issue is related to audio somehow. Since Reset UI Layout didn't help, I'm pretty sure it's related to one of your VST plugins.

Go into Resolve Preferences - System - Audio Plugins. Uncheck ALL the VST related plugins, save the preferences and restart Resolve.

Did that take care of the issue?


Thank you Dwaine, I will try that and get back to you. And yeah, paid support for a free app sounds silly hahaha but I'm more than willing to pay for the upgrade to Studio or premium support if I can get my workflow issues...ahem...resolved ;). I'm rather tired of paying $50/month for your competition, your product fits my workflow better and is a lot faster when it does work!

Let me try the VST thing as soon as I'm at my workstation and I'll let you know how it goes!
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 2:44 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:
Uli Plank wrote:I'd suggest going back to Sierra. We did this for two stations which we tried under High Sierra (ouch) and they are rock steady now.

I have to say, I'm sticking with Sierra for the moment (10.12.6) purely from an "If It Ain't Broke, Don't Fix It" philosophy. Pro Tools, Premiere, Avid, and Resolve all work fine. This is on a 12-core Trashcan Mac with 64GB of RAM and dual D700s.


I think that's a smart move from what I've been reading as I lurk around here. I was, unfortunately, already on High Sierra. It's a bad move if your software isn't ready, but it was playing well with other apps for me. Although I wonder if it has anything to do with why Premiere became so unstable for me, which is what tipped me over to try Resolve. That and the recurring billing model.

I submit you stick to that plan, haha. Don't upgrade until you must or it's ready, because it changes your file system and rolling back is no small task unless you want a totally fresh install.
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 2:53 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Paid support for free Resolve?

Total side note:

I wonder if you guys have considered third party support? It's quite common for audio software but I can't find it for video editors. Probably not your area of influence, but there are services like https://obedia.com/ that could be a partnership opportunity if I'm not the only one asking.

I hope it didn't come off like I was being snarky before :).
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 6:31 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:The issue is related to audio somehow. Since Reset UI Layout didn't help, I'm pretty sure it's related to one of your VST plugins.

Go into Resolve Preferences - System - Audio Plugins. Uncheck ALL the VST related plugins, save the preferences and restart Resolve.

Did that take care of the issue?

Dwaine, I could kiss you! :shock:

But don't worry, I won't. :lol:

That didn't initially solve the problem, but it might circumvent it or lead me to a solution. In the project I'm working on, it still crashes if I try to do anything with timelines. But I think it's because some VST plugins are still nested in there.

The project opens to the master timeline, and I can't open the timeline that has audio effects to see if I can remove them or if that's a factor at all because I can't open timelines. I had VST effects applied in an audio-only timeline and I can't get in there to try removing them.

I created a new project to see how far I can get without any audio plugins instantiated or enabled, and the problems are gone so far. I really think you are onto something. I will see how long it runs smoothly with plugins disabled and if the crash doesn't reappear, I'll try enabling and then instantiating each plugin one by one until I find the culprit.

If the problem reappears without VSTs enabled, I will report back. Until then, thank you all once again for helping me out! Point me to your "buy these guys a beer" button and I will gladly click, hahaha.
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1679
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 6:56 pm

vincentlepes wrote:hahaha.


You should continue to go to Obedia and pay your membership fee. :lol: :lol:
Windows 10 PRO X64 1709 and 1803 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.0.025 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.10.11
Offline

Paul Draper

  • Posts: 99
  • Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:33 pm

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 9:23 pm

FWIW - like some other comments here:

I too can have sudden weirdness with Resolve (Studio) 14, changed behaviour. What works EVERY TIME to fix: eg, just last week Resolve suddenly stopped remembering its User prefs nor would re-set these; and, no longer automatically linked audio with the revenant parent video clips. Menu linking or unlinking had no effect. The re-install below worked perfectly (as usual).

Do a complete, 'deep' uninstall (system prefs, user prefs, Library etc). On Mac OS, apps like CleanMyMac 3 do a quick & friendly job; for Win I use IObit Uninstaller Pro. Or if you know your way around the OS, simply remove the obvious from the usual locations.

Then do a re-install of Resolve. I can only assume Resolve has then tendency to corrupt its preferences every once and a while. The overall un-install /re-install process doesn't take all that long. Simple enough maintenance. In sum: a CLEAN install.

Hope that helps.
PC1: Dell T7910, dual Xeons, Win10Pro, 64GB, SSDs. 1080Ti, LG 34UM95 & BenQ SW2700PT, MiniMon 4k. TB2, RME UFX+, UAD-2 PCIe, FaderPort 16. PC2: Dell 9575, i7-8705G, Win10Pro, 16GB/1TB, RX Vega M GL. Apps: Nuendo, Pro Tools, Resolve Studio.
Offline
User avatar

vincentlepes

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:05 pm
  • Real Name: Vincent Le Pés III

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostTue Mar 20, 2018 9:39 pm

Paul Draper wrote:FWIW - like some other comments here:

I too can have sudden weirdness with Resolve (Studio) 14, changed behaviour. What works EVERY TIME to fix: eg, just last week Resolve suddenly stopped remembering its User prefs nor would re-set these; and, no longer automatically linked audio with the revenant parent video clips. Menu linking or unlinking had no effect. The re-install below worked perfectly (as usual).

Do a complete, 'deep' uninstall (system prefs, user prefs, Library etc). On Mac OS, apps like CleanMyMac 3 do a quick & friendly job; for Win I use IObit Uninstaller Pro. Or if you know your way around the OS, simply remove the obvious from the usual locations.

Then do a re-install of Resolve. I can only assume Resolve has then tendency to corrupt its preferences every once and a while. The overall un-install /re-install process doesn't take all that long. Simple enough maintenance. In sum: a CLEAN install.

Hope that helps.

Thank you, Paul! Removing all VSTs seems to be working for now, but if this problem rears its head again I will try out your instructions. I don't think my reinstall of Resolve was 100%, even though I removed the Application Support folder it reinstalled with no database, as if it had recollection that one already existed. I could be wrong about that, but that's what it seemed like. My first install created a database, but my reinstall asked me to do it manually. It felt like I missed a preference file somewhere. I appreciate this and I'm copying it down in case I need it.
Technical Specs
  • Resolve 14.3.0.014
  • Mac Pro 6,1 (Late 2013)
    3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
    16GB 1866MHz DDR3
  • 2x AMD FirePro D500 GPU
    3GB VRAM
  • macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4435
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Constant crashing on timeline operations

PostWed Mar 21, 2018 1:26 am

I would just caution people that follow Paul's suggestion: Doing that process will very likely also remove your Resolve Disk database, and all the projects that are in it. So make sure you have a backup of that, and/or project export DRP's with Stills/LUTS of any critical projects before you do something like that.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Markus Mayer, stanko-ffm, vivoices, Vynce Leff and 35 guests