10 bit colors with Resolve and Eizo 318 4k

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

AndreasOberg

10 bit colors with Resolve and Eizo 318 4k

PostSun Mar 18, 2018 12:51 pm

I'm considering getting an Eizo 318 4k monitor.
I'm wondering what would be the way to get a 10bit color output to the screen for both Resolve and also Photoshop.

Currently, we are using Titan X cards for Resolve since Quadro are either very expensive or slower.
Possible solutions I see:
- Get a cheaper Quadro to display from. But how will the programs react? Many programs only use 1 GPU so then I guess they will use the cheap Quadro and be slow
- Get a decklink card. I have no experience with these cards. Can you use them for other programs than Resolve?

Best wishes,
Andreas
VFX Director - Visual Forest Ltd

Andrew Kolakowski

Re: 10 bit colors with Resolve and Eizo 318 4k

PostSun Mar 18, 2018 1:32 pm

Resolve GUI preview on PC is 8bit and also may not be color accurate, so forget about GUI monitoring in Resolve.
BM card with HDMI and this is the best what you can do up to UHD 30p.
If you want UHD 50/60p then things get bit more complicated as Eizo 318 4k HDMI is only version 1.4 and you need to use DisplayPort.
In this case you need BM card with 4x 3G SDI output+ Apantec converter which is expensive and not widely available (https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/ ... splay.html).

BM cards use to work with Photoshop- not sure what is the current status.

Use search- this has been discussed few times already. There are people on this forum using Apantec converter, so this is verified solution.

Hector Berrebi

PostMon Mar 19, 2018 6:23 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Resolve GUI preview on PC is 8bit and also may not be color accurate, so forget about GUI monitoring in Resolve.
If you want UHD 50/60p then things get bit more complicated as Eizo 318 4k HDMI is only version 1.4 and you need to use DisplayPort.