Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

sz.beni

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:06 am
  • Real Name: Benjamin Szollosy

Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 10:12 am

Is it possible to upgrade from Resolve Studio 14 to 15?
Or I will just have to buy the new program?
Offline

Karl Shone

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed May 06, 2015 1:30 pm

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 1:50 am

Yes that is something I'd like to know, also since I've just bought an ursa mini pro, with a free resolve will that one be for 15 ?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4981
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 5:25 am

Everyone can download and use the free version. Customers with DaVinci Resolve Studio dongles and activation keys, and those with Fusion Studio dongles can download and use DaVinci Resolve Studio v15 at no cost.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

sz.beni

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:06 am
  • Real Name: Benjamin Szollosy

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 7:17 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Everyone can download and use the free version. Customers with DaVinci Resolve Studio dongles and activation keys, and those with Fusion Studio dongles can download and use DaVinci Resolve Studio v15 at no cost.


Great, but where can I do that? There is no such option at the website. At least I have not seen it yet.
Offline

Aaron Green

  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 1:33 pm

Where can I find a download link to Studio? I only see the free version download.
Offline

Reynaud Venter

  • Posts: 684
  • Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 1:51 pm

Aaron Green wrote:Where can I find a download link to Studio? I only see the free version download.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support/family/davinci-resolve-and-fusion

Latest Downloads > DaVinci Resolve 15 Studio Public Beta
MacBook Pro | Hexacore 2.6GHz i7 | 16GB RAM | 512GB SSD (APFS) | Radeon Pro 560X ⟧
⟦ OS X.13.6 (17G4015) | Resolve Studio 15.2.1 | Merging HAPI ⫸ Ravenna Premium 2.0.37039 ⫸ DAD AX32 | ProMon 3 ⟧
Offline

Aaron Green

  • Posts: 204
  • Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:08 pm

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 2:09 pm

Thanks!

One more question. Decklink 4k is working fine in the EDIT window, but when i go to COLOR page it's saying no input. I've selected the Decklink as the default playback. I also made sure the timeline and preview were the same resolution/frame rate. Any ideas on why it's not showing up on the ext. monitor?
Offline

Roy Klompmaker

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 5:28 pm

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 6:11 pm

I bought the studio version in the Apple appstore. Will there be a possibility to upgrade to 15?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4981
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostSat Apr 14, 2018 6:19 pm

Yes, when it’s at final release stage, Q3.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

tormods

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:12 pm
  • Real Name: norman strachan

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 2:37 pm

hi guys
just done upgrade from 14 to 15, i have a dongle but 15 is asking me to studio version when i go into some of the cooler fx, any thoughts
Offline

Mike Boyle

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:25 am
  • Real Name: Mike Boyle

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 11:29 am

Hi,

Can you confirm that you downloaded the DaVinci Resolve 15 Studio Public Beta rather than the DaVinci Resolve 15 Public Beta?
Offline
User avatar

Ulysses Paiva

  • Posts: 680
  • Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 8:32 pm
  • Location: Pernambuco, Brasil

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 12:11 pm

And what about users with Resolve Studio dongle can use Fusion Studio at no cost too?
:lol:
I'm from Resolve people and I dont think its fair Fusion users to be able to use our beloved Resolve overnight! Why are they so special??? We have to be able to use Fusion Studio too!

Kidding! :D
(but makes sense!)
Ulysses Paiva
UPMD Filmes
http://www.upmdfilmes.com.br
Offline

Kays Alatrakchi

  • Posts: 760
  • Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 8:22 am

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 3:09 pm

tormods wrote:hi guys
just done upgrade from 14 to 15, i have a dongle but 15 is asking me to studio version when i go into some of the cooler fx, any thoughts


Yes, you accidentally downloaded and installed the free version.

Go in the Support page and grab yourself and install the proper Studio version.
>>Kays Alatrakchi
www.mbkproductions.com
Director, Colorist, Composer (not necessarily in that order).
Resolve 15.2, Mac OS X 10.13.5 (High Sierra), i7 8700k, 32Gb DDR4 RAM, Dual GTX 1080ti, Decklink Mini Monitor, USB 3.1 RAID
Offline

Jignesh Jhaveri

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:18 pm

Re: Upgrade Resolve Studio 14 to 15

PostWed Aug 22, 2018 2:43 pm

So here's the thing. I purchased Resolve 14 Studio from the Mac App store in Feb 2017, and I was able to upgrade to Studio 15 from the App Store with no further payment required. Hope it helps anyone who has the same purchase.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: etang77 and 34 guests